We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing early 1900's house in Siena”
Review of Hotel Villa Elda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Elda
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We had two wonderful days at this lovely hotel. Five minutes walking to the center, this house have a quiet neighborhood, and a rooftop with a nice view. The two lovely front desks, Erica and Veronica help us in everything we needed, including the local to park the car in the street. We are from Brazil and spent 17 days in Italy and they have for sure the best croissant we taste. Ride a bike in the morning was a very nice idea.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvanasylvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 492 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

We love this hotel property; the villa was nicely manicured and well located just outside the town walls. Rooms were large and well equipped with modern amenities. What made the stay special was the service and advice from the two receptionists: Veronica and Erica. Both went out of their way to accommodate our needs and answer our questions.
The only cons are you must be lucky with street parking, and there is no lift.
When in Siena, don't miss dining at Da Mugulone, the best restaurant (we ordered a huge Florentine Steak) in all of Italy, and great value too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjoobn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Villa Elda is a great place to stay! With a charming outdoor area, beautiful terrace views, and extremely helpful and friendly staff, my husband and I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Siena. It's just outside the city walls and a short stroll to any place within. Thanks for your contribution to a wonderful experience and memory of Siena!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teametwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My parents and I stayed at this hotel for one night on our way from Florence to Rome with a day trip in Siena. It was a lovely hotel with a welcoming staff who did all they could to make sure we had a pleasant stay, even carrying our three suitcases up the 3 flights of stairs for us! The breakfast was really good and the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Villa Elda for six nights as we explored Central Italy ( Assisi, Florence etc..) We made a conscious choice to stay in Siena to avoid the craziness in Florence, opting instead to drive .Villa Elda was the highlight of our two week stay.

The hotel is just across from the entrance to the old town of Siena. Siena itself is a medieval town and is not accommodating if you are traveling by car. Although you may have to move your car to accommodate the street cleaning schedule once a week, Villa Elda has accommodations for cars and is perfect is you are going to be going to other places. The hotel is also convenient to the bus station and the railway.

Let me say that if you are looking for luxury accommodations and huge breakfasts then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for charm, an old style Italian setting with a beautiful garden and a roof top view of the old city which is unparalleled, then you will be delighted. My wife and I made a practice of having a cocktail on the roof in the afternoon in time to hear the cathedral bells ringing. Spectacular!

The staff were extremely helpful and assisted with reservations both for restaurants ,as well as last minute tickets to Uffizi and Academia in Florence which I'd overlooked. It could have been a huge disappointment. Because the staff was diligent they were able to get us last minute tickets. The staff also accommodated by allowing us a last minute additional night.

The rooms were clean and the linens were changed regularly. Breakfast is served at 8 and is filling and healthy.

The hotel does not have an elevator. It is three stories up. If stairs are a problem then this is not place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeMead60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Hotel Villa Elda is a very nice hotel with warm and friendly staff that are willing to take the time to help and answer any questions. We stayed in Room #22 which is their best room with a fantastic view of the city. However, the room and bath while very clean, were quite bare and not what I had expected. Paying close to $300 USD per night I was hoping for a bit more. Would I recommend this hotel? YES. Just skip the rooms with the view and get more value from your stay spending the money you saved on a nice dinner in town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ztl2152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

The hotel is very charming with a beautiful rooftop terrace overlooking the city and the hills of Siena. Spend a little more to get the panoramic room. The room was very cozy, with free internet access and the bathroom was sizable by European standards. The hotel staff was warm and welcoming and the manager even offered to drive us to the train station the morning of our departure. The location is wonderful - less than a five minute walk to the heart of Siena. Most tourists seem to just come for the day, but it is well worth it to stay for the night. The city clears out and you feel like you have the place to yourself with just the locals. There is no reason to stay anywhere else in Siena.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemphisLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Elda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Elda

Address: Viale XXIV Maggio 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $118 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Elda 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful XIX century building has always belonged to the same family who manage it. Recently restored, Villa Elda has maintained its liberty style in every single detail whose colours, create a serene and comfortable atmosphere.. The hotel position permits a wide panoramic view on the old town centre. Either from the windows of many rooms, or from the magnificent attic terrace it is possible to enjoy a 360 degree scenery of the town and the surrounding country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Elda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Boutique Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing