We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Staff”
Review of Hotel Villa Elda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Elda
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The rooms are lovely, the breakfast great, the location good, but the thing that makes this hotel top rated is its staff. The three young people who cover the desk also serve as concierges, breakfast hosts, porters, and whatever else you might need. We met the owners too, but what they've done best is hire great people who really enjoy what they do. We were on the third floor (walk up) and had great view of San Domenica and the Duomo. The Wednesday morning market is right around the corner (great fun) and the main part of the town is a 15 minute walk. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want the view, ask for a "panoramic" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXnonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaElda1, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Elda, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Thank you for the review.
Thank you also because you have thought about us at the end of your holiday.
We are proud about what you've said about our staff,our rooms, our position and our breakfast .
We think that your words could be helpful to do always better in our job, improving every time more all the services that we offer to the guests.
We are looking forward to have you as guests in the future in our beautiful Siena.
Elda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 492 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

Overlooking the Duomo but in a quiet residentaiul neightbourhood, this hotel was really lovely. The staff were so fantastic, gracious, helpful and interested in what we were doing. The rooms were very comfortable though the showers are a little tight- bending to get the soap could be a problem- but our room was lovely overlooking the quiet garden where we could have our coffe or take a drink i the evening. A short 10 minute stroll to the centre ot town and close to the Wednesday market which is huge beside the alls of the castle. All in all we highly recommend this private hotel- would go back tomorrow if we could!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McLeodM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Having read all the review on tripadvisor, I might have had my expectation a bit too high. The property is well maintained, very clean with a nice - always smiling - cleaning lady who sure is doing a great job. The location was also very close to the old city center and the residential neighbourhood gives the property a nice warm and cosy atmosphere.
As for the let-downs:
- the breakfast was trully only basic even for a three-star hotel;
- the sound proofing should be improved - we could here all the noice from the villa's corridor and main hall in our room;
- our room (on the 1st floor) with "panoramatic view" on the city did actually not have a panoramatic view of the city as a part of the view was blocked by the house in front of the hotel.

It is not a bad hotel but the next time I will travel to Siena, I will sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed in Villa Elda for 2 nights in Apr 2012; we selected a deluxe panoramic room and the room is big and comfortable, of course, panoramic view for old town is the highlighted for this room.

Staffs are helpful and friendly, they recommended us to visit one of the best restaurants in the town and the restaurant is perfect.

Location is out of old town but only 10 minutes walk to there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in April, and would rate this hotel as "Average". Our room was an upgrade, with a view, and it did have nice views, and quite a few windows. The A/C not being on was somewhat of a challenge, considering it was in the 80 degree range. However, to be fair, we were only negatively affected by this in the daytime and as we prepared to go out for dinner. At night, with the windows open, we slept well. The breakfast was basic...nothing more than average. Our stays in Rome, Perugia, Sorrento, and Florence were all better. Though, this one did tie our breakfast in Venice---for food quality. Service here was "average". Very professional, but not very friendly, except for Riccardo. He stands out as a very strong asset, since he was the only one that was consistenly smiling, chatty, and helpful. Location is good...in a residential neighborhood though our earplugs were definitely helpful due to (a) construction and (b) some weird electronic noise coming from a neighbor's building. It is an easy walk to everything, though not in the city center

Room Tip: Just ask if AC is actually going to be on. But, this is the case in most 3star places in Italy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellersfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaElda1, Owner at Hotel Villa Elda, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for the review and to have thought about us at the end of your holiday.
We are sorry that your stay with us wasn't be among the best.
Unfortunately , during your period in Siena, the weather was exceptionally hot.
This hotel is furnished with a modern heating/cooling system with humidity control. The temperature (warm in the winter and cold in the summer) is regulated by circulating water (hot or cold) underneath the floor of the room.
The change in temperature does not happen instantly like it does in traditional systems; rather, it takes some time to reach the desired change in temperature.
About the "weird electronic noise coming from a neighbor's building" we are astonished, in fact the residential area "San Prospero" where we are located is the most quiet in Siena.
Thank you so much for the regards to Riccardo, sure that also the other members of the team are doing a great job in welcoming our guests.
We are looking forward to give hospitality to you again in our beautiful city Siena.
Elda Tiberi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I have traveled extensively. We stayed at the Villa Elda in May of 2011 for over a week and can give it our highest recommendation. It was our home base while we explored Tuscany. The staff were courteous and professional, including the owners who could not have been nicer. The location is ideal. It's on a quiet street just a few minutes walk from the old city. The breakfast hit the spot, the beds were really comfortable and the views were great.

After we returned to the states, I contacted the staff to ask if they would track down the name of a ceramic artist for us. They made a special trip into town and got the info we were looking for. That alone says all you need to know about the Villa Elda.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have an excellent view of the old city. Go for the rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anderdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Villa Elda in Siena, then went on a self-guided hike through Tuscany for 7 days, then came back to Villa Elda for another 3 nights. The staff was extremely helpful, the 2 different rooms we had were lovely, comfortable, airy, and fully equipped. This small hotel serves a complete and delicious European-style breakfast with great pastries, yogourt, different types of coffee and tea, fruit, and juice. Its location is just wonderful, being just outside the main old city in a quiet residential area easily within walking distance (5 min) of the main sites. When we returned from our week hiking, we found that the jacket, 2 shirts, and pair of pants that my husband had accidently left in the closet, were already hanging in our new room. Now that's service. This hotel also a lovely, shady garden with outdoor furniture to relax in and have that pre-dinner glass of wine. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
773 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Elda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Elda

Address: Via Ventiquattro Maggio 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $117 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Elda 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful XIX century building has always belonged to the same family who manage it. Recently restored, Villa Elda has maintained its liberty style in every single detail whose colours, create a serene and comfortable atmosphere.. The hotel position permits a wide panoramic view on the old town centre. Either from the windows of many rooms, or from the magnificent attic terrace it is possible to enjoy a 360 degree scenery of the town and the surrounding country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Elda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Boutique Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing