We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Fonte dei Tufi
Ranked #20 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and at first drove past it heading towards Siena - once we turned into the street it was situated on the righthand side at the beginning of the street. It is a family run business and Rosella spoke very good English, providing us with all the information we needed to get into Siena e.g bus timetables etc, bus stop across the road. There was ample free parking for the car and the room we had was a detached building to the side of the B&B with doors opening out into a lovely garden area which would have been lovely in Summer. The room was very clean, comfortable bed, decent sized bathroom. We did walk into Siena from the B&B, it is a bit dangerous as there are no footpaths most of the way, but in saying that we did enjoy it. The breakfast was lovely being able to interact with the owners at breakfast was a bonus. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAIN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Bed & Breakfast Fonte dei Tufi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 260 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rustic, yet modern, 14 room B & B with large garden and ample parking along busy Strada dei Tufi outside the walls of Siena. We spent 3 nights, Oct 3-6, 2013 and found it a great place to explore Tuscany. We selected a room on the second floor (305), which was quite spacious, clean, quiet and well equipped with fridge, room safe, 4 piece ensuite, TV and Wi-Fi. Breakfast was plenty with good selection of rolls, breads, cheeses, yoghurts, cakes, sweets, fresh fruits and cereals. Service provided by sisters and sisters in-law (Gabriella, Rosella and Daniela) who run the B&B was delightful and delivered with a smile.

Since the B&B is outside the City walls, there are no restaurants within easy walking distance. City center is about 1.5km walk up a fairly steep hill along busy road with no side walk is challenging. Siena is rather hilly and you can take the bus for about €1.20 each way to Porta Tufi, the entrance to the City, and walk 10min to the center. We opted to park right at the City centre (Il Campo) parking garage for €1.50/HR and saved our feet for walking the City all day to enjoy the many sights and restaurants.

Highly recommend this B&B as a great base to explore the Chianti region.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had some trouble finding this B&B, but when we eventually arrived, there was ample parking, and we were greeted by Rosella, who spoke good English and was efficiency personified. In 5 minutes flat, she showed us to our room, explained how the AirCon and everything else worked, the breakfast arrangements, where to catch the bus and obtain tickets, where to eat in Siena, and probably a few other things! Our room was spotless, and the breakfasts were generous and taken in the garden.
We parked our car during our stay and either walked or took the bus to and from Siena. It's about a kilometre and a half's walk, fairly steep in places, and there are a couple of places where you need to careful. We'd recommend taking the bus from the stop further down the hill. Tip! Buy a supply of tickets for your stay from the machine at 1.20Euro a time; you only validate them on the bus. We couldn't find a similar machine at the stop in Siena and the driver wanted us and another family to pay 2Euros each. When we tried to explain that we'd only paid 1.20Euro on the inward journey, a shouting match ensued. Btw, Siena itself is lovely but can get very crowded.
We thought B&B Fonte dei Tufi was very good value, with friendly and helpful staff. It's close enough to Siena, but not expensive. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myfanwy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This apt was comfortable and clean. Rosella was helpful with suggestions and bus schedules. There were lots of great choices for breakfast and it was very enjoyable eating it in the garden. The wooden shutters on the window added charm and the darkness added to a great nights sleep. Siena is easily accessible by bus.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ssandrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This b&b was nothing more than OK. The a/c worked minimally, the bed was uncomfortable, and the location is VERY noisy. Perhaps the worst part was the breakfast , which consisted of stale
croissants and cold coffee. I was disappointed, for the price we paid I got little value. The only highlight was the girl Roberta who worked front desk; she was so helpful and welcoming...to bad the owners don't give their employees the tools they need to succeed in doing a better job for their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsnspales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you're OCD, you'll appreciate the attention to detail here at Fonte Dei Tufi! The rooms are immaculate, the decor is modern quality, the grounds are simple but beautiful, and there is thought put into making you feel welcome. As a woman traveling alone, I felt very safe here. And you just can't beat cheerful, helpful service. :)
Thank you FDT!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank LifeIsShort55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We couldn't have chosen a better location to stay so that we could explore Sienna and the surrounding villages. We love the breakfast in the garden and the custom coffees were to die for. We met many members of the family and felt right at home. It is a short walk to the walls of Sienna and easy to hop on the autostrada for sightseeing. Our room was quiet and spacious. One night we brought wine, cheese and bread and ate in the quiet garden. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.0 mi away
Ai Tufi Hotel
Ai Tufi Hotel
#30 of 40 in Siena
198 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B Gli Archi
B&B Gli Archi
#21 of 125 in Siena
216 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#7 of 125 in Siena
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
B&B La Verbena
B&B La Verbena
#15 of 125 in Siena
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
#44 of 125 in Siena
88 reviews
3.5 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Chianti
Piccolo Hotel Chianti
#22 of 125 in Siena
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Fonte dei Tufi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Fonte dei Tufi

Address: Strada dei Tufi 59/61/63, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $61 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Fonte dei Tufi 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Fonte dei Tufi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing