We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveler rating
195
217
111
45
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
217
111
45
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator former monastery tuscan countryside first floor lovely courtyard stayed here for nights your luggage per day breakfast room italy trip old building bottle of wine within the walls the main square croissants train station cloisters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 588 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2016

This hotel was wonderful and our view of the bell tower and countryside was magical. The hotel staff was so helpful and friendly. The breakfast was delicious. I loved that our first floor room had a door to a balcony, however I was not comfortable cracking the door open at night and we did not have any windows to crack open. My father was on the second floor and had a window that he opened at night. We really enjoyed Chiostro del Carmine and Siena!

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FitzFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016

Il Chiostro del Carmine is a wonderful stay, with very comfortable rooms, and in our case a spectacular view of the Sienese countryside. Our friends did not have the view we had but did get a huge beautiful terrace to make up for it. This was an active monastery until just 10 years ago, and the in-hotel chapel is still used by the monks! There is no elevator, as the building is kept just as it has been when a monastery. This place just oozes authentic charm, I absolutely loved it, and the breakfast was also quite tasty, especially the granola. It's within the city walls but not right next to the main square, so it's a perfect location in my opinion, just a 5-minute walk to the main sights.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing west will have the spectacular countryside views
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kurtt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016

Living in an old cloisters in this historic city is a good combination of the visit. The hotel can be reached by car, but make sure ur plate gets registered as this city has controlled traffic. Otherwise u will get a nice fine. All is in walking distance with the ups and downs of a city built on hills. The rooms are comfortable, just the big bathroom was flooded at each shower time due to the installation maybe not totally perfect. We would for sure come back to this place.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

My experience here was really good
We spend here 5 or 6 nights. It is an old convent, and rooms are absolutely charming, very quiet, very clean, economic and the service was very great, the recepcionist was very careful and always tried to help us.
The breakfast buffet was nice, and I would repeat if I return back to Siena

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Esmeralda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2015

If you are looking for a place with a character of its own, this might be what you are looking for.
This hotel, as its Italian name suggests, was once a convent. As such, the interior is quaint albeit in just the right measure. The walls, as well as some of the ceilings, have frescoes and the furniture complements the experience of being in a former old monastery. Contrary to what one might think, this does not make it gloomy, but it adds to its charm and sense of cosyness. Having being a convent, do not expect huge windows and high ceilings. If you do, you either have reinvented the idea of old monastic life or are simply looking at the wrong place. This having been said, the rooms, as well as the rest, are far from being claustrophobic. Our room, for example, was as spacious as an old convent cell could once have been. And it was! The large (and very comfy!) king size bed was accompanied by two bedside tables, a large tv on yet another table, some chairs, a spacious wardrobe, a minibar and a few other bits and pieces that one would expect a hotel room to have. The bathroom, albeit not huge, had a comfortable shower and room enough given the circumstances. It was modern and clean, albeit with some minor bits in need of some LTC. The view was decent. The window looked out onto some old courtyard and red tiled roofs which the morning fog of a cold December day had made even more in tone with the place. It also has a very, very Italian courtyard as you enter that brings ones mind to imagine old nuns running around in their humble robes...and that is not the only plus of this place. As most monasteries, quite goes with it. If you like it that way, this hotel delivers.

The dining room too is spacious and clean. It has the bonus of a few added frescoes and impressive brick arches. The service is courteous, friendly, but not overbearing. In our case the staff went off their way to fix a glitch with our reservation. It was dealt with in a relaxed yet professional manner.

The gentleman serving us breakfast was also extremely helpful in an nicely reserved way. He made sure we had a gluten free breakfast when we arrived in the morning as both my partner and I follow a gluten free diet (in my case not a choice. I am celiac) and gave us some wonderful advice on what to see around town and further afield.

For those who reviewed this hotel and found it average, they do find me rather perplexed. The price range is in line with what this place is. It is not a luxury hotel, but yet it is decent, easy on the eye, clean, well organised and reasonably priced. It is easy to reach (despite the comments by some stating the contrary) and yes!!! surprise surprise Siena being perched on hills it requires some walking up and down as indeed does the rest of this medieval town! if you have mobility problems the issue i not this particular hotel, but Siena itself which might be a bit challenging. However, there is virtually no traffic (in the old city) and the whole experience of being there is all about getting lost by foot in some ancient little road.

In conclusion, my opinion? If you are looking for a place which is not your usual, bland, ordinary chain-like room/hotel, but has a bit of sparkle and a price that won't turn your hair white, do consider Il Chiostro di Carmine, and make sure to look at life with a bit of optimism!

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Keon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews