We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay in Siena!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antica Residenza Cicogna
Ranked #13 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I'm so glad we chose to stay at the Antica Residenza Cicogna! It's in a great location in Siena, near all the sites. The property itself is beautiful decorated and well maintained. You feel like you're in a large family home with many corridors and beautiful décor. The hostess Elisa was just wonderful to work with, as was her father. Elisa went out of her way to welcome us and helped us decipher the bus schedule back to Florence. She was kind, happy and helpful and truly made us relax and enjoy every minute we spent. The breakfast was delicious and our room was clean and beautiful. Thank you for a wonderful stay Elisa!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 379 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Antica Residenza Cicogna is an Excellent B&B.It is a restored Palazzo about 3mins walk from the Piazza del Campo....in other words,right in the centre of Siena.The hostess,Elisa,is lovely and very obliging.The room was a good size and clean with a fresco on the ceiling....as per the photos on the website.Breakfast was a very generous buffet style with lots of choice and with Elisa on hand to help.She was also ready on arrival with useful tips of where to eat and visit.
The entrance is slightly confusing as there is via delle Terme and Via dei termini.....make sure you get the right one.If not, its just a few yards round the corner.The only downside is a very popular bar nearby that stays open till the early hours....if you have the stamina you can join in but if you want to have a good night's sleep after walking up and down Siena's winding streets then choose your bedroom wisely.

Room Tip: I think the local bar may only be relevant to one of the bedrooms but if you want a quiet night then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quint5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A very pleasant stay here, the place and rooms are elegantly decorated and well maintained (we stayed in the Liberty room). Elisa made us feel very welcome, she is passionate about Siena, and gave us very good advice on restaurants and cafes in the area, for the real Sienese experience. No question was a problem, and any arrangements that were needed (eg organising a wine tour, or booking a taxi) were very happily made for us.

Great location too, handy to the bus station, shops, sights, restaurants.

Breakfasts were nice, and showcased some of the local cuisine and cakes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerfromChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The five nights that we spent in Antica Residenza Cicogna was just so much more than we expected for such a small B&B. This establishment is really giving more than necessary. The location could not be better especially if one wants to use it as a base for seeing other parts of Tuscany. We enjoyed the hospitality from the owners Eliza and her father. They always had time for a chat and went out of their way to try to give advice and search for information on the internet. The room was just so comfortable. The lounge area with free tea and coffee and biscotti with sweet wine was very special. It is difficult not to leave out any of the special touches in this establishment. We didn't expect to be provided with everything one could expect in a good hotel. The breakfast was just amazing. We would love to go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boskojb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Antica Residenza is in a GREAT location! Right in the heart of the old city. It was clean and presentable. Eliza is extremely nice and accommodating. A little difficult to get to driving...you MUST follow their directions to the "T". What was nice was waking up to the quiet streets of the city...and having coffee outside...made you feel like you were the only person in Siena.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this nice B&B. The staff is so friendly and helpful - can not say enough about them. There recommendations for restaurants were great! We stayed in the Corte room - I liked the character in the pictures on their website. I think this room may be one of the smallest rooms and does not have a view. It was very comfortable and clean. But I think we would ask to stay in one of the larger rooms the next time we visit. The breakfast is great - really enjoyed the cappuccino. This hotel is very well located. We arrived by bus, and it was a very short walk to reach the B&B. Also you can be in Il Campo in a matter of minutes. There is a full service laundry just steps from the door that did a very nice job with our clothes (dropped off in afternoon, ready the next morning).

Room Tip: If you tend to feel claustrophobic, ask for a larger room with a window to outside of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTCondit_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, lovely small hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. They gave us nice recommendation for lunch and dinner, where to do laundry. Nice breakfast, great location. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLRRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental - Starhotels Collezione
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#14 of 40 in Siena
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#6 of 40 in Siena
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#21 of 40 in Siena
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Residenza Cicogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Residenza Cicogna

Address: Via delle Terme 76, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $98 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antica Residenza Cicogna, the old house of Cicogna family, is located in the historical city center of Siena. You will be welcomed from Elisa, Ilaria or Fabio, which will be always happy to help you with tips or informations. Our five double rooms and our two suites are all frescoed with original 19° and 20° centuries frescoes and are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom and free internet WiFi. Our rich breakfast buffet is served every morning in a nice breakfast room and any time during the day you can have your tea or traditional biscuits helping yourself in our dining room, reading a book or checking your emails on our free internet point.We look forward to meet you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Antica Residenza Cicogna Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing