We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello delle Quattro Torra
Ranked #2 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Dream Holiday”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

After seeing reviews and photographs of Castello Delle Quattro Torra on Trip Advisor We had our hearts set on sharing this amazing place with our family. I emailed Nicola on the off chance that they had an opening on a weekend in August, to our surprise and delight Nicola responded immediately with a yes! Our visit was everything we hoped for and more. We arranged to arrive a little earlier than usual check in times and Nicola called to make sure he would not miss us. We did not have any problems finding the Castle and stayed in the Apartamento for 2 nights. The entire stay was wonderful with Nicola and his family making the trip into something extra special; they helped us with travel suggestions and arranged a Tuscan Cooking Class with Nonna Ciana. Breakfast was plentiful and a great selection. The Castle is a true gem in Beauitful Tuscany and we would highly recommend them. THANK YOU SO much for everything, we would love to come back some time :0)

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyler621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    76
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
194
462
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My 17 yr old was impressed that we were staying in a castle that was in a painting she had studied in Art History at school ("The allegory of good and bad government" by A. Lorenzetti) and then went to see the painting in the Town Hall in Siena.
Our family of 5 stayed in the apartment inside the castle for a night in July. Staying at the castle was a unique experience. The apartment itself was rustic and simply furnished but I liked the authentic style with historic family portraits on the walls. We didn't use kitchen, but the shower worked really well. My teenagers had a sofa bed and a fold out bed that was basic but fine. Unfortunately one of them was bitten by bugs although we did leave the window open at night.
The hosts were very welcoming and helpful with giving us excellent directions into Siena. Sadly we only had one night.
Directions: Don't make the mistake I did. If you are travelling from the North and taking an exit from the A1 around Florence, the motorway signs changed about a year ago and the map we used still showed the exit to be "Firenze Certosa" when it has now changed to "Firenze Impruneta".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for three nights during our honeymoon at Castello delle quattro torra. It was wonderful. We were the only guests (we stayed in the blue room) so it truly felt like living in our own castle! Our room was spacious, comfortable, and provided great views of the countryside and Siena. There was no a/c, but we just left the windows open every night and were very comfortable. Breakfast was traditional and provided a nice selection of breads, meats, cheese and homemade jam. We did not have a car, but this was not a problem, as we were allowed to use the phone to call a cab (~12 euros to get to town). Nicola and his family were welcoming and very helpful with any questions we had. Don't forget to try the wine they make as well, it was great. We would love to visit Siena again and stay at the Castello!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TACK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived at the Castello late at night and didn't see it in the darkness until we were right next to the front door. My daughter looked up and gasped and said "This looks like Hogwarts." I must say that while we obviously knew we were reserving a room in a castle that it was pretty amazing to pull up to this place. It is really beautiful and the mystique at night was only exceeded by the beauty of the surrounding grounds during the day. I took so many pictures!! The views from each window were spectacular and the castle itself was quite comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely amazing. Lots of delicious choices and Nicole and his family and helpers were quite gracious and accomodating. I must say it was like a boyhood dream to stay in a castle like this. It was so exciting to be there that i didn't want to leave. The only thing that would have made it better is if they also served dinner but we went to Nicole's brothers' restaurant and it was really terrific and a good value too. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It is like dream. I can not believe that it is a real castle. We are staying at the very top room. The owner Nicole Guerrini is a real gentleman. We will go to his brother farm tonight to have a dinner. Me my wife and our douhter Alya liked to stay in this castle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Necdet298006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in the Castello delle quattro torra for one night this August, and we absolutely loved it! We were a family of 5, and we stayed in the Apartment where there was a double bed in the bedroom, and a sofa bed for 2 and one single bed. The castle was old but beautifully decorated, and the view from the windows were simply stunning. We had read reviews about bug problems and how hot it was but it was actually perfectly fine. We left the windows open all night but there were no bugs, and it was so cooling we didn't mind the fact that there was no air-conditioning. Nicola was extremely helpful, and we loved the hospitality there. We left a camera charger behind and Nicola was so kind to send it to our next destination for us by mail at no charge. The breakfast was also delicious, and the best part was the croissants and homemade jams. Nicola grows tomatoes and olives himself as well, and the wine from his vineyard was perfecto.

If you climb up to the tower room and breakfast rooms to take a look it really is beautiful over there, and there are antique books belonging to the family in the small study with a very comfy sofa perfect for bookworms (but unfortunately all in Italian). Old family photos and portraits also add a homely feeling to the place. Look out for the castle cats in the morning! They're very cute- Minnie eats lizards while her daughter eats butterflies and they love company. We would definitely come back again if we can.

Room Tip: There was a blue room that we caught a view of and it was the prettiest room in the castle in our op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chehui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in the Castello delle Quattro Torra’s Tower Room for just one night (because only one night was available) and then moved to its sister property: the Agriturismo Fattoria Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti for two nights. What a perfect three days in Siena!

Obviously, we knew were booking a room in a castle - - but seeing the Castello in person was simply mind-blowing. Although it is now, as it has been for many many years, a family residence – with modern and comfortable conveniences - - it’s ambiance and character is that of a rumbling castle – with a giant wooden “castle-worthy” door, massive entry-way; and stone-walled passages. The Tower Room is accessible via a set of small winding stairs off the main living area of the Castle. We left our suitcases in the car – and threw what we needed for a one-night stay in a backpack to make the climb up easier. At the top – you find a beautiful room – encased in windows and the most amazing views of the countryside you can imagine. It’s almost impossible to pull yourself away! The room is a “double decker” with bathroom, small fridge, sitting area and desk on the first level; comfy bed and spectacular view on the upper level (we saw a family of wild boars running through the olive groves). Owner and host, Nicolla, his mother Laura and office manager Caterina – are a delight to meet – and they welcome you to explore the castle and the grounds as “your home too.” Breakfast is served in an elegant private dining room – with delicious pastries, bread, cakes and coffee. Although dinner is not available on site – it was just a short drive away to the Castello’s sister property Fattoria Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti where we enjoyed an amazing fine dining experience on our first night. Purchase a bottle of the Castello’s own wine - pour a glass – open the windows and take in the view! Unforgettable experience!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flyaway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
657 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#11 of 40 in Siena
409 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello delle Quattro Torra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle Quattro Torra

Property: Castello delle Quattro Torra
Address: Strada di Pieve Al Bozzone 36, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castello delle Quattro Torra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Quattro Torra Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing