We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel of Siena”
Review of Campo Regio Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campo Regio Relais
Ranked #10 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2007

The Campo Regio Relais is a small, six room hotel located in the heart of the old city of Siena and is an absolute gem! Owned by a pair of doctors, the hotel was transformed by them into an intimate retreat within the last two years. Not a single detail escaped their discerning vision. We found our room to be charming and its polished wood floors, immaculate furnishings and proximity to the tastefully decorated "lounge", more than compensated for the relatively small rooms that are to be expected in these medieval buildings. The terrace of the lounge overlooks the Sanctuary of Saint Catherine with the Duomo rising regally as a backdrop. The staff is wonderful and accomodating: kudos especially to the two young ladies (the receptionist and the housekeeper who are originally from the Phillipines) who speak impeccable English and are very knowledgeable about Siena. Next trip to Tuscany, we plan to stay there for a longer period of time. Be sure and eat breakfast on the terrace and absorb and enjoy the marvelous light and colors of Siena.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovesalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2007

After showing up in Siena on a whim (our cruise ship, Celebrity Millenium, ran aground in Villefranche, France), we simply walked by Campo Regio. It is one of the most spectacular places I will ever stay in my life. We arrived the night before my birthday, planning to stay only one night and wound up staying for two because of how over-the-top everything was. Maria brought me champagne and strawberries after we checked in because she wouldn't be working during my birthday. The next day as we walked around Siena the next day, the staff at Campo Regio arranged for our laundry to be cleaned, set up a horseback ride through the Tuscan countryside and made arrangements for a five-course dinner. On top of all of this, the view from their patio overlooks the old town, including Siena's Duomo and even though we woke up an hour late, they served us an INCREDIBLE breakfast and cappucinos, allowing us to enjoy this little slice of Heaven undisturbed.

Even with the cruise ship running aground, our two-day stay at Campo Regio saved the entire vacation. I cannot say enough great things about the staff, accomodations and every detail at Campo Regio. It was so unbelievable that when we return to Italy, it is the only place I will stay and plan on bringing our families to rent the entire place for our entire stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bdaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2006

This is a wonderful, small hotel with a well trained, friendly and helpful staff. It is in an excellent location near the main shopping and walking street. The breakfast room has a beautiful view looking across the valley to the duomo, which is particularly beautiful at night. One highlight was the arrangement the staff made for a car and driver (Luigi) for our wine tour of Montalcino, Pienza and Montepulciano.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hirst7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

The Good - Small place with only 6 or 8 rooms. Owners live above. 3 rooms facing the cathedral have great, great views. The 3 rooms facing the street were a bit noisy. The breakfast was wonderful and the view from either the dining area or the terrace was amazing. Rooms were not spacious but ample size. Staff was helpful.

The Not so Good - No way to avoid lifting luggage as there are steps up to very small elevator and from elevator to room. No parking near the hotel and very hard to find as owners were not allowed to put up signs on building. No help with luggage except for the girl at the desk (the were willing to help). Staff is small as there are so few rooms and they lock the front door after 9??Code will let you in. Not a bad location but probably not the best. Beds were good but the shower very, very small. No tub.

The view may supercede all the negitives.
Not knowing the area at all was very satisfied with our choice and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sww52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
boston, mass.
13
Reviewed May 14, 2006

Campo Regio Relais was the quintessential Tuscany hotel - romantic, elegant, comfortable, and friendly. The rooms are lovely - pristine decor and luxurious touches; the breakfast overlooking historic Siena was heavenly; the balncony (particularly with a cappucino in the morning, or a bottle of wine in the afternoon) has Siena's best view; the staff is extremely helpful with finding not-so-touristy restaurants; the location is within the historic Siena car-free center only a couple minutes' walk away from the Piazza del Campo. Pricey, but worth every penny

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
15
Reviewed April 29, 2006

We had such an amazing time here: The bed was so great, the chocolates, the pistachios, the balcony, the friendly personal service of Michelle (can we take her home with us ",) the quiet atmosphere, the great view, the "ETRO" toiletries, etc.....etc...
Surely we will recomend this place to all our friends and to all the agencies in England. We are surely coming back...

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: la 5!!!!! - con romantico terrazzino
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gabriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental - Starhotels Collezione
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#6 of 40 in Siena
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#14 of 40 in Siena
1,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campo Regio Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campo Regio Relais

Address: Via della Sapienza 25, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $221 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campo Regio Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campo Regio Relais is a historic hotel in a building called Bastone del Pappagallo (16th Century), located in one of the ancient buildings within the historical centre of Siena. It can be found on Via della Sapienza, one of the main streets of medieval Siena, hosting both the University of Siena and the Academy of the Intronati. Its distinction is that it opens up to one of the most breathtaking views of the city in which the windows and the terraces reflect the ambient surroundings. The central position of the Relais allows guests to easily reach the most important monuments of the city; the main square, Piazza del Campo, the Duomo, and the museums that house the masterpieces of Siennese art. Campo Regio Relais is also perfect as a base from which you can discover the medieval towns and villages that surround Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Campo Regio Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo Regio Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing