We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best room I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Campo Regio Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campo Regio Relais
Ranked #15 of 119 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best room I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed last week in room #5 - our own private balcony overlooking the city of Siena. Both nights we sat with a glass of wine looking at the moon over the cathedral. It's no lie that this hotel room must have the best view in Siena. The room was spacious, decorated with antiques and a four-poster bed with real linens - the best sleep I had in Italy. The room had its own laptop. The breakfast was extensive with all sorts of delicious options - to be eaten out on the terrace if you so desire. The hotel itself has only 6 rooms and is over 500 years old. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was only a few minutes walk from the main piazza where they have the horse races twice per year - il palio. I would definitely stay there again. What an amazing experience. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcv1234mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    18
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
158
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Only 6 bedrooms precludes this hotel from being 5 star - otherwise it equals and in some cases is better than some of the world's leading 5 star hotels in which we have stayed. The service was outstanding from the moment we arrived. We were offered valet parking (a must in the narrow streets of Siena) and were escorted to our rooms by an extremely helpful young lady and from then on nothing was too much trouble for any other staff we encountered. The rooms, although slightly on the small side, were beautifully furnished. The linens were of the best quality and there were all the little 'extras' e.g.fresh fruit, bath robes, slippers, toiletries etc. The continental buffet breakfast included freshly baked croissants, fresh juices, various fruits etc all of which we enjoyed sitting on the terrace with breathtaking views of Siena and particularly of the Duomo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Travelling with my mother for her 70th birthday we treated ourselves to 5 days in Siena and splashed out at a 5 star hotel in the heart of the city. We were not disappointed. The staff could not have been more enthusiastic about the city or more helpful. Every need or whim was catered for without any fuss. The staff were genuinely kind and thoughtful. The hotel was immaculate. The breakfast was a delight with a huge choice and considerate serving times to allow for a lie-in! The hotel's location looks problematical as it is in the resident-only car zone and there is no hotel car park, but in fact a few easy directions from the staff and the car is parked safely and forgotten about. The hotel is 5 minutes from the Campo and the view of the Duomo from the terrace is splendid. The location was good for restaurants and just far enough away from the Campo and the late night tourist noise. The staff would happily research anything on the internet and provide maps and printouts. My mother is extremely exacting and she couldn't find anything wrong with the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxthecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

I can't understand why this is not no. 1 on the list. It is beautifully decorated and furnished, in exquisite taste (just compare the photos with those for its competitors!), the service is fautless, the breakfast incredibly lavish, the location unbeatable. We stayed 6 nights in Camporegio5, which has its own terrace with breathtaking view of the hill rising up to the Duomo. The same view can be had from the very comfortable salon and breakfast room/terrace. Tripavisor reviewers suggest the rooms fronting the Via della Sapienza might be noisier but in our experience there was very little traffic in the street, day or night.
Dennis, Maria Luisa and Tommaso were all extremely helpful--the laptop that supposedly comes with the room had broken down so Dennis borrowed one from the owners for my husband to use. It was like staying in the very luxurious house of a friend. When the time came we found it very hard to tear ourselves away. If and when we return to Siena we would not dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Don't be dissuaded by the B&B designation - this is a small boutique hotel, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. If you can, book one of the larger rooms with views over the Duomo on the hilltop opposite, the outlook is just stunning and we spent afternoons here watching the sun move across the buildings. Breakfast (cold buffet) is served on a small terrace with the same view.
Dennis was very helpful and anxious to make the stay as good as possible. His restaurant recommendations were excellent (also try di nonno Mede just below the Relais for decent pizza). The walled town is quite small so even though the hotel is not bang in the centre, it is no more than a 6-7 minute stroll from the Campo. There is even an escalator built into the hillside close by that will bring you almost up to the Duomo itself.
I will definitely try to stay here again when we return to Siena.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights and walked to every gate of the old city, and what an experience it was. We were the only people for some nights in the Campo Regio (winter), and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us and our needs. The room was perfect, the bed soft and the linen more than adequate. We will recommend Campo Regio Relais to everybody who ever might consider staying there, and want to thank Dennis and his team for their hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afrikaner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

Great location in within the city walls. Staff very friendly and helpful. Try and get a room facing the duomo and city for unbelievable views. Parking was a bit tricky as there's very limited space in the city but the hotel directed us to a free lot very close by, or they could have someone take your car to a safe lot for a fee. Great shower, and bonus--we had a massage chair in our room--perfect after a long day of sightseeing.

It's a b&b, so you don't have the amenities of a hotel (gym, business center, 24- hour reception.) I think they have wifi, but it happened to be down the week we stayed.

Siena is not to be missed...can also recommend Antica Osteria Da Divo for a tremendous romantic meal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeBeeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#9 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campo Regio Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campo Regio Relais

Property: Campo Regio Relais
Address: Via della Sapienza 25, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Campo Regio Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campo Regio Relais is a historic hotel in a building called Bastone del Pappagallo (16th Century), located in one of the ancient buildings within the historical centre of Siena. It can be found on Via della Sapienza, one of the main streets of medieval Siena, hosting both the University of Siena and the Academy of the Intronati. Its distinction is that it opens up to one of the most breathtaking views of the city in which the windows and the terraces reflect the ambient surroundings. The central position of the Relais allows guests to easily reach the most important monuments of the city; the main square, Piazza del Campo, the Duomo, and the museums that house the masterpieces of Siennese art. Campo Regio Relais is also perfect as a base from which you can discover the medieval towns and villages that surround Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Campo Regio Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo Regio Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing