We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable views make up for cost”
Review of Campo Regio Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campo Regio Relais
Ranked #15 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“unbelievable views make up for cost”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed one night in November. Location is good and the perfect place to base yourself, room was comfortable with a very classic design, although when we intially felt it was expensive for what it was. However breakfast on the terrace was fantastic, not for the food (which was fine), but for the views from the terrace which have got to be the best in Siena. Would recommend for this alone, as it was the highlight of our visit.

Room Tip: One of the suites has a private terrace with panoramic views of Siena and beyond into the countrysid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhistlePunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    18
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
160
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here for four nights in October. Surprised by how small the hotel is (six rooms), located on a busy street that was very quiet at night. Parking is not easy in Siena but with the help of staff and some very stressful maneuvering through the small streets gained a comfort zone. Room was small but nice, bed was comfortable and breakfast was very good. Breakfast room with stunning views provided a nice placed to use wifi and relax. The hotel is not cheap but is in a good location and the staff was very helpful. We spent three weeks in Italy so we wanted a place to really unpack for four nights. That did not happen here with a small room but our experience was good and overall a nice place to see Siena and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kcwn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long Island ny
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

we stayed there with friends in the middle of Oct,,and were so happy we chose this hotel,,very warm, friendly and the staff went out of there way to help us when we needed it,,Thomas guided us thu our parking and check in issues, when we were completely lost and very stressed, which was appreciated!! the breakfasts were just perfect, and the view!!! WOW!!! we loved the location, and felt very lucky to stay there!!!, we can't wait to return, and Siena was our favorite city on our vacation,,, thanks to everyone,, Eileen NYC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leostargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Very warm welcome. Room was lovely, comfortable with a beautifully presented bathroom. Breakfast was a feast, huge choice and lovely food. Our room didn't have a balcony but we absolutely didn't need it as there is the most gorgeous terrace with unbelieveable view of the old city. We brought our own wine and used cups from the bathroom on the first night, sitting out on the terrace. A wonderful touch was that leavng the half bottle in the room, we came home the next day to wine glasses that had been left out for us. The drawing room leading to the terrace is also stunning. The hotel is surrounded by great restaurants and staff very happy to give advice and recommendations, also perfectly located for looking around the city. We couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w3dnesday_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This small hotel in Sienna possesses all the European charm and friendly attention that one could ask. The view from its intimate portico is as romantic as they come- and it t is just steps away from dining, shopping within the walls of this ancient town.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back afford a beautiful view of Sienna and the Domo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

What a great hotel! Very small... but it is quiet, perfectly located within the walls of Siena and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast was amazing - especially the pink grapefruit juice. Bed was great and the shower was the largest one that we had on our trip to Italy. Based on what our friends were paying at the Intercontinental we were more than pleased. If we ever go back to Siena we will stay here again!!

Room Tip: I understand that the rooms are similar. We stayed in room 4. There is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I never felt so disappointed with hotel accommodation as I did when I stayed at Campo Regio Relais in Siena for 2 days in late September 2011. My expectations about the hotel were so high, to find out that it was nothing like the pitures you see in the internet.

The room I stayed in was one supposedly one of the best in the hotel. At Eur400 a night you expect nothing but the best but it was not to be. The room was right on top of a restaurant which made it far too noisy to try and sleep at night. The only good thing about the hotel is the view from the breakfast room. My room had a view of the duomo, but if you cannot open the window or shutter because of the noise, what's the point of paying for a view.

Siena, is beautiful and I hope to revisit it again but certainly not staying at Campo Regio Relais. A big thank you to Marie Louise, Dennis and the lady from Sri Lanka (sorry I forgot the name) they were all most helpful.

Room Tip: I was in Room 6, try and prevent staying in that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiara64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campo Regio Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campo Regio Relais

Property: Campo Regio Relais
Address: Via della Sapienza 25, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Campo Regio Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campo Regio Relais is a historic hotel in a building called Bastone del Pappagallo (16th Century), located in one of the ancient buildings within the historical centre of Siena. It can be found on Via della Sapienza, one of the main streets of medieval Siena, hosting both the University of Siena and the Academy of the Intronati. Its distinction is that it opens up to one of the most breathtaking views of the city in which the windows and the terraces reflect the ambient surroundings. The central position of the Relais allows guests to easily reach the most important monuments of the city; the main square, Piazza del Campo, the Duomo, and the museums that house the masterpieces of Siennese art. Campo Regio Relais is also perfect as a base from which you can discover the medieval towns and villages that surround Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Campo Regio Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo Regio Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing