We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo!”
Review of Palazzo Masi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Masi
Ranked #62 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel was the last stop on our Italian honeymoon. Siena was a great city filled with wonderful people. Daniela and her husband were the best hosts! They greeted us with some "saint's wine" and biscotti when we arrived. They also had breakfast available for an additional fee, but we chose to go on our own. Daniela was more than happy to address any questions we had about Siena. She told us about a local restaurant (Il gallo parlante vinaio)(amazing) that served local dishes and even helped me with some Italian tipping advice. Stay at this B&B!

Room Tip: We got the superior room that had its own bathroom. Only downside was that the restroom was down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kashot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 126 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just spent two nights at Palazzo Masi. There are so many positives about this facility! Very good location, nice comfortable bed...but there are a few things which would have made our stay so much nicer. You must know, this is not a B&B. There is no coffee or pot for hot water. There is only one small water glass located in the shared bathroom. My husband was nice enough to let me use the glass and he (believe it or not) drank wine straight from the bottle. A few (even plastic) glasses would have been so welcome. The shower was nice, but the towels were worse than sandpaper. Also, know that you are sharing a bath with 2 other rooms. Not fun to have the knock at the bathroom door, we won't do the shared bath again. Siena is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Piazza mazzi was a perfect place for our 5 days in Siena. The city is a place for walking and the campo is the heart. So the location 1 block from the campo is perfect. In the US we would describe it as a 3 & 4th floor apartments renovated as hotel rooms. There is no elevator but they did help us with our bags in and out. The exercise helps work off all the gelato. The rooms are a good balance of clean, new and simple with medieval beams and antique furniture.  The bed was comfortable. We found a little fruit store and convenience store just around the corner (left, left, left). We also used the laundromat on the block. We ate breakfast on the campo - silly to eat in the room. The Internet worked perfectly and we used it a lot. Plenty of hot water. Blow drier in the room. A little bit of street noise despite the double glazed new windows. & a little noise between the rooms - probably more from the hall. But it was not a problem for us. We slept well. I would be VERY happy to return!  They were very friendly and helpful but we did not need much advice as our daughter was halfway through a semester in Siena and we were visiting her.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garden_m0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Palazzo Masi for 5 nights. It was easy to find, just off Il Campo and was convenient for walking to all attractions in the center of Siena. Daniela gave us excellent advice for area attractions, restaurants, wine tours, and prepared a nice breakfast for the one morning that we ate at the hotel.
Caution! Read the confirmation information she will send because it includes clear instructions about calling her 10 to 15 minutes before you arrive at the hotel. I forgot to call, so we waited for a few minutes for Daniela to arrive to admit us to our room. My fault, not hers! Should we return to Siena I would call Palazzo Masi for my accommodations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We returned to Palazzo Masi in September after spending several days there last fall. This year we had 10 great days in Siena. Daniella and her husband are fantasic hosts and have a clean, spacious, historic and charming B&B. The location cannot be beat as it is close to sights in Siena (Duomo, Il Campo) and convenient parking. Siena is a great central location to see the hill towns of Tuscany. Daniella recommended many small towns for us to visit and get the true flavor of Italy. Siena and Palazzo Masi then provided us a fine retreat at night. Our stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last week as part of our 2 week Italy tour. Being in Siena was one of the highlights of our trip! The hotel is in a 800 year old building that was the owners family home. There are quite a few stairs to climb to get to the hotel floors . Not a bad climb though- 61 steps I believe to our floor.The hotel is located about 200 meters fro il campo- the main piazza in Siena- and it is also close to duomo. The room we had faced the street which was great except at night since the noise from il campo can get loud.there is no air conditioner so it can get stuffy with window closed. We had a shared bathroom which was no problem as we rarely saw the other tenant.
Daneilla is a wonderful host! Full of great information regarding Siena. She arranged a Brunello wine tour for us on request that we had such a blast on!
You must call Daniella when you arrive as she does live on property but she gets there within 10 minutes.
Breakfast is offerered if you pay extra for it which we did not.
Overall a great experience. This is not a 4 star hotel but a wonderful mix of antique and modern.

Room Tip: Outside room can get noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lkeith001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Amazing location- just a few yards from the central square. The owners were very welcoming, and very helpful- they offered advice about the area, organised taxis etc. Room was great and had an enormous amount of character. We would certainly return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa del Sole Siena
Villa del Sole Siena
#12 of 126 in Siena
212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Fiorita
Villa Fiorita
#112 of 126 in Siena
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Masi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Masi

Address: Localita Casato di Sotto 29, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $108 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palazzo Masi 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A medieval building completely restored in Siena's heart, adjacent to the Piazza del Campo and very close to the Duomo. Two different kinds of rooms, superior and standard, all equipped with antique furniture and modern amenities, in an historical building surrounded by the most important attractions in Siena, guested by a real sienese couple happy in sharing tips and things to do with guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Masi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Masi Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing