We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”
Review of Palazzo Masi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Masi
Ranked #63 of 123 Siena B&B and Inns
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Excellent location just off Piazza Campo. Spacious comfortable room. Owners do not live on premises, so make sure you call just prior to arrival. Daniela and her husband are very accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Room on street side has large windows that open on to the street for a nice view. Noise was not a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    37
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

What a delight to have a modern room in a medieval building with antiques and period decor a block off Il Campo! The view of the tower really added a sense of place. Restaurant and sightseeing recommendations delivered as promised. Everything was near enough to walk, even the bus station. The bed was comfortable and the bath was the most modern (though a little tight) at this price point in the 5 city centers we visited in Italy. Noise was not a problem, with things quieting down by 9:30. The discount for cash with Rick Steve!s book was most appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Second time my wife and I have stayed at Palazzo Masi. The hosts are great people who are very willing to assist in any way possible. The location in the heart of Siena is what makes Palazzo Masi a really good alternative. Every important attraction in Siena is within walking distance as well as bars and restaurants. In comparison to other similar accommodation in Italy and more specifically in historic centers in major cities, Palazzo Masi falls short when it comes to some of the comforts and some attention to detail. For example, there is no air conditioning, which, in my opinion is essential nowadays. The instructions are to keep the windows open during the night. During warm days things can get way too hot. We also found small details such as replacements of shower soaps and toliet paper a little, shall we say, scarce. There is also a bar nearby and the noise past midnight is very loud, so if you need to keep the windows open because of the heat, you still cannot sleep because of the noise. If location is what you look for, then you cannot go past Palazzo Masi. If you are after the extra comforts as well which you can find for similar rates in other Italian cities, then perhaps you should reconsider. Would I stay at Palazzo Masi again........probably because the location is sensational.

Room Tip: Choose the room with private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxcat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

First of all Daniela and her husband were the most gracious and warm hosts one could hope for. All of there recommendations were spot on for tours, restaurants, site seeing, etc.

The rooms are absolutely wonderful and gorgeous and very comfortable. We will be back in the future.

Thank you Daniela!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgcantrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I actually stayed with Daniela May 2010, It was so fun. Daniela really helped. I just told her in an e mail when I think of Siena, I think of her smile. Everything was very very clean. The price is also reasonable.The location is fantastic. My sister and sister in law are going back there next June. I am thrilled they are not booked. If you are going to Siena, and want a great location,clean room, and very helpful and friendly people that own Palazzo Masi, to there!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Palazzo Masi is perfect if you want to stay in the heart of Siena, a few steps from the Campo. The excitement leading up to the Palio race is palpable. This is a medieval building, over 800 years old, so you get ambiance in spades. The true Siena is right at your doorstep, and Daniella, the proprietor, and her husband could not be more welcoming and charming. They picked us up from the parking outside the city, and even when I accidentally broke the showerhead attachment (twice!), to my great embarrassment, she repaired everything with such grace and aplomb! That alone makes her my favorite accommodations host of my trip to Italy! The restaurant right across the street is amazing.

However, please note: If you want a quiet location, this is not the place for you, especially around Palio time. We were warned well in advance by Daniella about the "enthusiastic" carousing of the contrades who would be partying late into the evening. It's all part of the Palio experience. Bring your earplugs. Also, make sure you are in good shape to walk the steep inclines of the city. There is no elevator and no AC, just a beautiful medieval building. The bathrooms are completely modern, and wifi is free!

There is no parking in the city of Siena. If you drive, you will park on the outskirts of town, and take a bus in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank byoun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My 15 year-old daughter and I stayed one night at lovely hostess Daniella's B&B. She and her husband could not have been more helpful during our stay. The room was absolutely beautiful, clean with nice bathroom. Simply charming. She gave us wonderful tips on sights and restaurants. One of the best meals we had while in Italy for two weeks was right across the street. Located within steps of the breathtaking Piazza. We certainly enjoyed our stay and wished it could have been longer. Next time it will be as would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#28 of 40 in Siena
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
All'ombra della Torre
All'ombra della Torre
#64 of 123 in Siena
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Campane B&B
Le Campane B&B
#109 of 123 in Siena
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
I Terzi di Siena
I Terzi di Siena
#56 of 123 in Siena
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#11 of 123 in Siena
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Masi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Masi

Property: Palazzo Masi
Address: Localita Casato di Sotto 29, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Palazzo Masi 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A medieval building completely restored in Siena's heart, adjacent to the Piazza del Campo and very close to the Duomo. Two different kinds of rooms, superior and standard, all equipped with antique furniture and modern amenities, in an historical building surrounded by the most important attractions in Siena, guested by a real sienese couple happy in sharing tips and things to do with guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Palazzo Masi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Masi Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing