We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the south of tuscany”
Review of Casale Virgili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casale Virgili
Ranked #36 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location in the south of tuscany”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This B&B is a great place to stay if you want to visit the South of Tuscany. You are about 10 minutes by car to Siena, 20 minutes to Monteriggioni (small village with 3 restaurants. One of them is the Ristorante da Remo and it is really good ), 1 hour to Montepulciano, 1 hour 1/2 to Cortona and Volterra.

The house is so nice. It is very old but in great shape at the same time wich make is charm. It's nice for the kids to see that those kind of historicals habitations still exist. The family who take care of the place are very friendly and explain to you, as soon as you arrive, what is ther to see in the area and how to get there.

We were there at the beginning of august and the temperature was reaching 43 degrees in the afternoon !! It was so hot and it was really nice to know that there was a pool waiting for us to relax in.The only problem we had with the B&B in this heat wave was that they don't have air conditioning. Even though it's in the country and it's a bit fresher, It's was still a little difficult to sleep. The room was nice. The little breakfast place was so cute. You could eat Inside or outside and since 08h00 in the morning was the coolest time of the day, everybody was eating outside. They had nice homemade pastries, croissants, fruits and yogurt.

We were there for 4 nights and were really sad to leave this little place in the country. We would recommand this place for the B&B in itself, but also because it' easy to drive anywhere and you really feel like you are on vacation with all these nice sceneries..

Room Tip: I would recommand a room on the other side of the driveway (the same side of the reception) because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    93
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
45
134
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Set in a beautiful location with stunning views. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the room was lovely - clean, cool and spacious.
The swimming pool is a great addition and it was nice to be able to relax by the pool in the afternoon after coming back from sight seeing in Siena. Siena is only 5-10 minutes way by car - a car is pretty much essential though unless you don't mind relying on taxis.
Breakfast was very good - a good selection of crossiants, meats and cake. Again, the staff at breakfast were very friendly and always on hand when we had questions about where to go for dinner and the sights we should see.
I would definitely recommend Casale Virgili for a rue Tuscan experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahTrevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Short distance to Siena. Quit surroundings with great view from the terrace. Good breakfast and the family who runs the place is very nice. We liked the swimming pool! Over all a very nice accomodation. Value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 401rene1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a really nice B&B just outside Siena, remeber it's best to have a car, to Siena city I would say it is at least 40 minutes of walk.

Our apartment had a kitchenette so that we could do our own dinner. There is a nice pool. The breakfast is what you can expect.

We only had one problem and it was that the Wifi was bad connection, it turned out to be the router and after it was changed we had no problem! I had no problem with the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RickySlicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A very welcoming site in lovely surroundings. Easy to find. Close to sienna and other needs close by. The owners/managers were very obliging and provided local knowledge to assist our stay. Super pool with excellent views across the countryside. A good breakfast and the whole site was clean and well maintained. Only problem we had was trying to drive back from Siena as road signs seem to drop off at critical junctions. Youngsters appreciated the WiFi connections .

Room Tip: Easy to find and close to centre whilst having a lovely rural location. Superb setting for pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Suegad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

the staff is absolutely great and helpful, it's a good place where to spend a night sorrounded by hills of chianti while swimming in the pool. But highway very close from the pool, breakfast small and rooms not really on a hotel level. Not worth the money considering other options around. Check out 10 am, no delay!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great room, very helpful staff, lovely pool, lovely breakfast!

Only down side is that you can hear the main road along the whole valley when outside (the house is on a hill looking over the valley and not near the road). But it didn't bother us enough to disturb sleep etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalevi, Responsabile reception at Casale Virgili, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your honest review.
I hope to see you as soon as possible

Best regards

Roberto S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.2 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.8 mi away
B&B Gli Archi
B&B Gli Archi
#25 of 120 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#3 of 120 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
#43 of 120 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.3 mi away
B&B La Verbena
B&B La Verbena
#15 of 120 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.1 mi away
Podere La Strega
Podere La Strega
#18 of 120 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Virgili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Virgili

Property: Casale Virgili
Address: Strada Cassia Nord 55 | San Dalmazio, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Casale Virgili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing