We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel with large pool”
Review of Hotel Il Giardino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Il Giardino
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family hotel with large pool”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Il Giardino is a professionally run family hotel just outside the walls of Siena. It will take you 20 to 30 minutes to walk there from the bus station. The hotel pool is a delight: large and clean. It is also frequented by the locals, so it can be quite busy. The rooms are OK. The AC didn't seem to be working though. The breafast is good: fresh fruit, good coffee, sweet pastry and toasted bread. The staff is very friendly, the view of Siena and the Tuscan countryside is stunning.

Room Tip: Stay at the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanPietro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    125
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
66
143
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are two parts to this hotel, one new and one incredibly old. We were in the old section which was terrible. Our room was dark and dank, and had a terrible smell to it. The walls were paper thin and the AC was awful, even by Italian standards. It seems like the newer rooms were nicer, those are the ones pictured here.

The breakfast was great, I would skip the lunch service. The owners were wonderful, just make sure to ask them to be in the new side.

We specifically chose this hotel because of the pool which was fine, our kids loved being able to take a break from the heat and sight seeing during the day. But the pool was open to the public for a fee. Each day there were a ton of obnoxious young men who were speaking and behaving very disrespectfully about the women at the pool even though there were several children around.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiliGuida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our second visit to the Hotel Il Giardino. We were touring in in Tuscany and only staying one night but remembered the excellent location and booked at the hotel.
The hotel is outside the walls just off a main road and has good parking but is only about 100yd to a gate and then you are inside the city.
The breakfast was excellent and had improved since our last visit, the owners were as friendly and obliging as ever and the view over the city takes some beating.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very pleased to have chosen this hotel, excellently situated just outside the city walls away from all the hustle and bustle of the centre. It is 20 minutes walk from the Campo. Our room was comfortable and the free wifi was a definite bonus! Breakfast was very good with beautiful views back over the city. For us, the only downside was the pool which was large but tended to be overrun by locals. Perhaps a designated hour for hotel guests in the evening would be a solution. However, having a pool at all is unusual in Siena.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Giardino for a couple of nights on our Tuscany road trip earlier this month. The hotel's in the perfect spot if your driving, just outside the city walls, there's free parking and Il Campo is a leisurely 10-15min walk away.
The hotel itself is great! The owners are really friendly & attentive and even speak excellent English which is a bonus when you only know the odd Italian phrase. The rooms aren't huge but are immaculately clean and have everything you'd need for a short stay.
Having a pool and bar area (with a great view of the city) is also a plus point especially in the hot summer months.
Breakfast is typically continental with more than enough choice to suit everyone.
Overall, we really enjoyed out stay, I'm actually surprised the hotel's only a 2*. Siena is a beautiful city and I'd thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danyelle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed there for 8 days and it was absolutely great. We had a very nice room with an incredible view on the city. The breakfast was really good, not only for italian standards. There was a selection of fresh fruit every day and the cappuccino was one of the best we ever had.
If you're traveling by car the location of the hotel is just perfect. It's right outside the city wall and has a parking lot right behind the hotel. You can easily walk to the city center from there. It takes about 10 minutes.
The staff was also very friendly, helpful and speaks very good english.
We would always stay at this hotel again.

One tip if you're traveling by car and with GPS: If you type in the address of the hotel it might lead you to a wrong location (happened to us). So if you're coming from Rome and pass Porta Pispini look out for the big sign of the hotel (it's right inside the next curve up the hill)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimbergen
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

free parking at the hotel and the city center is at walking distance from the city center.
the hotel staff is very friendly
the breakfast was very good
the room was very spacious and we had a lovely view at siena

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dusci24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,082 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#14 of 40 in Siena
565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#12 of 40 in Siena
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#11 of 40 in Siena
409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Giardino

Property: Hotel Il Giardino
Address: Via Baldassarre Peruzzi 33, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Giardino 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel il Giardino in Siena is situated close to one of the ancient gates to the town's historical centre, while Siena's most famous square, the "Piazza del Campo", is only half a mile away. The hotel offers splendid views of the town's skyline with its mediaeval buildings and monuments but also of the surrounding hills and countryside.Hotel il Giardino in Siena has recently been extended with eco-technology in mind. It also has an outdoor swimming pool and solarium, a well-equipped fitness room, a large Jacuzzi and a Turkish bath. Private parking is included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Il Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Hotel
Il Giardino Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing