We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Giardino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Il Giardino
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The staff is WONDEFUL! The room is cute, and clean. Breakfast was good. The location is perfect. Just outside the city walls. Also parking is free.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AR-BRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    114
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
59
130
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at Hotel il Giardino for two and half days in late June 2011 with my wife and our two teenaged boys. After staying three days in the heart of Rome to start our trip, this little family operated hotel provided us with a good spot from which to visit Siena, Florence, Greve, Ovieto and Castellina in Chianti. The hotel isn't much to look at, but the rooms are comfortable, it is affordable (we had to book two rooms) and the pool is a welcome respite after a long day of touring. Rooms are adequate in size and the breakfast that is served each morning in the central dining are is very good (don't expect cooked food, though). English is spoken here and there is a very limited area in the hotel off of the pool within which you can get a workout with some free weights.The hotel is located outside of the walled city of Siena and it is a healthy walk into Siena's main square. There is no food on site after breakfast, so it would be good to remember to bring some food back to the room from Siena if you are prone to snack a bit late night. Wi-fi is available in the lounge and it is more than adequate. Would be nice if it was in the rooms, too. Pool is well kept, has a nice view of the countryside and there were always spots available even though the hotel seemed to be fully booked. We had some problems with broken lights in the shower in our room, but the staff fixed them immediately. TV offerings are very limited. I don't recall there being a refigerator in the room. The owners directed us to two fantastic restuarants, off the beaten path, in Siena and they know the area through and through. There was air in our room, but I wouldn't call it the type of AC that we are used to here in the US. Views from the hotel rooms were stunning, although our kids had the room with the balcony. The hotel has a nice outdoor sitting area and they do serve drinks (they had a marvelous assortment of European and Northen Italian beers) and fantastic coffee/espresso throughout the day. Would recommend this hotel highly for travellers who use their hotel as a place to recharge after a day of touring destination spots and not as a destination itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyTagliata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed at the Giardino from 18th-22nd August 2011 with a friend. We chose it partly for its location, its price and its swimming pool and we were not disappointed. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful giving us a very warm welcome and always going the extra mile for us. Their restaurant recommendations were all spot on and they offered lots of advice on buses to Montepulciano and the surrounding Chianti area. We had a twin room which was absolutely fine - clean, plenty of space, good shower, although the safe didn't work (minor issue) - but the fabulous surprise was our balcony which gave us stunning views over the Tuscan hills. Breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit and pastries and of course amazing coffee. The pool was also very welcome. The hotel is situated about a 2miute walk from a gate through the wall of the old city, and about a 15 minute stroll from the Campo. After a morning of sightseeing and atmosphere absorbing we were able to swim and sunbathe and prepare ourselves for an evening on the Campo drinking Campari. We really had a wonderful time. The hotel is not perfect. If you are looking for absolute homogeneity across rooms and a distant professionalism from staff then this is probably not for you. But comfortable, friendly, warm and homely it certainly was. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaBarraca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel is a little too far away from the attractions. It is definitely within walking distance if you don't mind long walks. The main bus stop was a little too far to walk with luggage.
We were sad to see no fridge and no AC in our room. There was a tv. The room was very nice looking, clean and was larger than other rooms we stayed at in Italy.
The door was so thin that we could hear any noise from outside.
The breakfast was very good and complimentary. The lady at the front desk was very sweet and I liked their resident cat. They have drinks that you can purchase.
The cost of the hotel was a very good deal but I wouldn’t stay there again. I would stay closer to Del Campo but most importantly I would need AC. I got heat exhaustion during this portion or our trip.
The hotel was very good with answering my questions via email before the actual stay. I wish I could recommend the hotel, but between no AC, the distance and the noise, I just can’t.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Siena
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmalyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The owners of the hotel were very friendly and genuine people. We had a slight problem with the final bill - a number had been mistyped on the Visa bill. I e mailed the owner who was most apologetic and immediatly refunded the mistake.
The hotel is new a hasn't got much character but it is clean, has free parking ( not easy in Siena ) and is very close to one of the city gates. We had no problem staying in the Piazza Del Campo till after midnight and then wandering home.
The breakfasts were fine and the view from the breakfast table was excellent. Didn't use the pool.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed for three nights including the night of the July 2 Palio and had a good time. We stayed in the old rooms which were smallish, had the most firm beds that I've ever felt, and the rooms were very warm until we discovered that the hotel had set the A/C temp higher than comfortable. Once requested a change, the room temp was great.

Except for the owner (I assume that the super grumpy older man was the owner, but honestly I didn't have the nerve to ask him!), the staff was excellent. The breakfast was adequate if not good. The pool was huge and nice and cool in the summer, but like others have said was VERY crowded with local teenagers.

The restaurant has closed and there's not one too close to the hotel.

One thing that you really need to know about this hotel is that it is approximately a 20 minute walk to Il Campo, a walk which we made about 20 times and it's exhausting.

Nice enough hotel, older and a bit tired, with convenient parking. Next time in Siena we will want to stay much closer to Il Campo and pay a bit more. This hotel is very affordable and worth the money, I'd just be willing to pay for the convenience.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doogle3419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
507 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

A family run hotel. The service is personal and professional. 100 meters from one portal of the medieval wall encircling the city. 1000 meters to the center of town and the two main sites.. the Duomo and the main plaza.... Il Campo. The hotel has the views of Tuscany coupled with very new, clean rooms and accomodations. It has a beautiful outdoor pool.. jacuzzi, turkish bath and a fantastic outdoor area for eating. the day we left, they hosted 100 for lunch in a large glass window enclosed eating area. We celebrated our 40 year anniversary here and were thrilled with the quaint, yet very nice atmosphere. Our family had arranged roses and champagne to be delivered to the room for our arrival. The owners knocked themselves out for this. Highly recommended place to stay!!!!

Room Tip: every room in the place looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#14 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Sangallo Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Arcobaleno
Hotel Arcobaleno
#19 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porta Romana Hotel
Porta Romana Hotel
#20 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#22 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Giardino

Property: Hotel Il Giardino
Address: Via Baldassarre Peruzzi 33, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Giardino 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel il Giardino in Siena is situated close to one of the ancient gates to the town's historical centre, while Siena's most famous square, the "Piazza del Campo", is only half a mile away. The hotel offers splendid views of the town's skyline with its mediaeval buildings and monuments but also of the surrounding hills and countryside.Hotel il Giardino in Siena has recently been extended with eco-technology in mind. It also has an outdoor swimming pool and solarium, a well-equipped fitness room, a large Jacuzzi and a Turkish bath. Private parking is included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Hotel
Il Giardino Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing