We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST place ever!”
Review of Podere Il Pero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Podere Il Pero
Ranked #2 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The BEST place ever!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is an amazing place! Gianni and family were outstanding and helpful. The restaurant recommendations were spectacular and you are walking distance to the center of Siena. Breakfast was good and the rooms were large and especially clean. We stayed there with my extended and immediate family 9 people altogether. Gianni set up a.Brunello wine tour and it was one of the highlights of our trip. This place is a find and I almost hesitated to write such a glowing review because I didn't want this place to be booked up the next time I called for reservations!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdcwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    34
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
114
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Gianni was welcoming and knowledgable and his spoken English was great. Our room was large and spotless and the the overall experience was just right. An easy 15 minute walk to central Siena which is beautiful and if you are lazy an 8 euro taxi home again :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwistedKoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in June and the only sad thing to say is we only had two nights. We loved everything about Podere II Pero, the location is about a 5 min taxi ride outside the walls of Siena but there is a bus stop just don the road, so very easy to get to town. The farmhouse is just beautiful the view from our room was so serene, and the room was lovely. Large room with lots of space and very clean. Gianni was just wonderful as we were only there for a full day he helped us book a wine tour and walking tour and any other questions we had, it was no problem. On top of all this we had breakfast every morning which was simple and lovely. Will stay here again when i return to Siena.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ola_lipinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent a wonder 7 days at Gianni's Toscany farm house for our honey moon.We are very happy about everything. The whole places were well maintained and very clear. Just outside of the old town, with maximum 20 mins walk. Every morning there is always someone help us made our bed and even folding our clothes. Gianni is also a very good host and a good friend too. He gave us very important advice on where to go and where to eat, and it always turns out great experience in the end.
Besides, the other good thing about stay in here is you always get fresh, home made food. Gianni;s mum made amazine cakes and fruit jam, we love it very much!
There are too many good thing to talk about this place. Anyway, you will never regret your choice to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I absolutely recommend Podere Il Pero. We used it as a base to see the other cities, sites, and wineries and it was the perfect choice. We did NOT have a car and were still able to do everything that we wanted either by walking, bus, train, or taxi; all are available and very convenient from this location. The bed and breakfast is charming, spotless, and very comfortable. I agree with the other comments on being one of the best breakfasts in Italy. I can't say enough about our host Gianni who helped us figure out the details of our tours and transportation during our 5 day visit (two wineries, Cinque Terre, Pisa, Florence, and Sienna). He and his family were very hospitable and made us feel like we were the only ones there. One day we'll be back, staring at the beautiful view from the terrace and sipping on a glass of wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very happy to recommend my bed an breakfast experience in Podere II Pero in Siena. Gianni is very welcoming and helped us to organise a wine tour as well as attentively answering our various queries about the area gerneral, restuarants etc. Gianni went over an above in endeavouring to locate an item I had left on public transport, going as far as to email me after I returned home to update me. I am very appreciate and believe other guests will benefit from a gracious host. The accomodation is as it says about 1 km from gates of Siena, clean and pleasant. Although we experienced inclement weather we did enjoy several pleasant walk into Siena. One small point to note is a roadway running alongside our bedroom which can lead to some noise. However, this does not spoil the experience and if you are undecided, this is a safe bet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Since 2005 I have had the pleasure of visiting Podere il
Pero a number of times, either with family/freinds or by myself.

The hotel is located just out side the ancient walls of Siena, with very
easy access to the city center either by bus or by walking. The place is
really easy to get to by car, and a two minutte walk from Podere il Pero
there is a bus service to the train station in Siena every 10-15 minutes.

Outside they have a little covered area, where guest can socialize in
the evening with a glass of wine and/or a bit of food bought at one of
the many wonderful bakers, butchers or super markets that you can find
in Tuscany.

The breakfast at Podere il Pero is one of the best breakfasts I have
had in Italy. There is an excellent selection of fruit, jam, home made
cakes, ham etc. Last year I recommended Podere il Pero to
a colleague who said it was by far the best
breakfast they had during their two week vacation in Italy.

Gianni is the main customer contact, and he is very
knowledgeable about the sights and activities in Siena and the
surrounding area. His English is very good, so it is really easy to make
reservations, get advice about events/sights. If the guest has
an interest in the Italian languages, Gianni's mother is very good at
choosing her words so you have a chance of understanding what she
explains.

Siena is nicer in the evening than during the day, because all the
"day tourist" go back to Florence, Pisa and Lucca, so in the
evening Siena is much less crowded than during the day, so you might
want to encourage people to stay in Siena overnight instead
of just using it as a "day away".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palio2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
657 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#14 of 40 in Siena
566 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Selva Agriturismo
La Selva Agriturismo
#20 of 86 in Siena
117 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Malafrasca
Agriturismo Malafrasca
#30 of 86 in Siena
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Il Pero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Il Pero

Property: Podere Il Pero
Address: Strada di Montalbuccio 29, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Podere Il Pero" is situated in a charming rural area just near the gates of the city. The farmhouse is completely restored by keeping the original style typical of the Senese countryside farms. However, it has all kinds of modern comforts.- 4 double rooms (where a THIRD bed is also possible),each with their own bathroom - a flat (double room, bathroom, livingroom with a double bed settee) - a shared room with fire-place from wich you can reach the bedrooms- TV Sat., INTERNET WiFi, SAFES and MINIBAR in all the rooms - AIR CONDITIONING, Central heating, Fans- Hair Drier, Courtesy Set, Linen- Wide Garden, Gazebo- Private Parking - Bank (100 mt.) - Shops (150 mt) - Bus Stop (150 mt.) Every single room is different from the others, it has its own features as if it would show its own identity. The rooms are furnished in old poor style and the beds are made by wrought iron. Each room has its own name which is linked to old memories.The names are the following: GIRASOLI , GRANAIO , UVA PASSA , LOGGIA. APARTMENT "La Mangiatoia": This spacious flat has got all kinds of comforts (cooking area and double bed settee in the living room, bathroom with shower, a double room, central heating and Sat. TV). It was completely restored by keeping the original style of the old stable. "La Mangiatoia", (the Manger) has remained intact preserving a nice trace of the past. It is used now as head of the bed in the double room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Podere Il Pero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing