We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreams of Siena are realized here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo di Valli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo di Valli
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dreams of Siena are realized here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Sit down on the terrace with a bottle of wine, some cheese and bread from the local supermarket, and feast your eyes on the incredible view of the Tuscan hillside. Then head to your charming room, with it's shuttered windows, blue tiled bathroom, and comfy bed for a great sleep (I have to interject a little suggestion here- there is a bit of plumbing and creaking noise from the rooms on the top floor, which bothered my husband but I couldn't notice it, if you like it super quiet, ask for the top floor). The staff is so kind and helpful, and will look after your every need. It's only a short walk into the town of Siena, which is much easier to negotiate than nearby Florence. The grounds of the hotel are covered in Olive trees and there is a nice covered seating area down a few steps with some nice patio furniture. The breakfast is included and was really good. This place is rated highly for a reason. It's excellent value for the money. But mostly when you have high expectations for what Tuscany will be like, it totally delivers.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms, as in any hotel, are on the top floor. Ask for a view room, which is only slightly m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canadianchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    107
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
105
401
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We loved our stay, the views are absolutely stunning. Lorenzo greeted us and made us feel so welcome, we had a car and asked Lotenzo about day trips around the area, we followed his advice and it was spot on. Breakfast is sufficient, and great coffee made to order, the breakfast waiter, is so friendly and happy. Eating breakfast on the terrace is a dream, views stunning. As Lorenzo suggested, we caught the bus into Siena centre for £1.20 and walk back as it is all down hill, a lovely walk. Thank you Lorenzo we loved our stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulamono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Located 600 metres form the city gate this hotel has much to recommend it. Larenzo met us on arrival and provided a detailed description of where all the major sights were located - inside and outside the city. Wine and cheese on the terrace, excellence breakfast, restaurant recommendations and day trip advice were all right on the mark.

Room Tip: Room 25 is our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you have a car, this is a great choice as it allows you to be near Siena but not have to deal with the challenges of the city. The entrance gate is a bit narrow so you might want to pull in your mirrors and if you're tired of trying to squeeze your mid size car into compact spaces, the guys at the hotel will park it for you.

The terrace is lovely and a great place to start and end your day. Not many dinner options once you're at the hotel so plan accordingly.

The staff was wonderful and I'd definitely recommend staying there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel, easily accessible from the autostrada although somewhat difficult to manoeuver through it narrow gateway, is located at the end of a long garden. Its large terrace--part of it used during breakfast--affords a spectacular view of the Tuscan hills, especially from the upstairs rooms located in this direction, and of Siena on the other side. And an upstairs room it should be, even if the luggage has to hauled up there (hopefully by a hotel employee). The room we had (no. 27) was fine; the bathroom perfectly adequate, certainly not overly modern.
The second floor reception room is the attractive great hall of the country house while breakfast is served under it in what are crammed quarters when outdoor seating is not possible. And ... the quality of the breakfast is minimal; there is a very limited selection of cold cuts, cheese, and "an egg" will be cooked on special order ... . Service down there was similarly minimal; the one waiter was just not enough, which resulted in his uncooperative tone. (The other hotel employees, espcially at the reception, were most helpful). Breakfast, then, was the most disappointing aspect of what otherwise was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room no. 27 "upstairs" (which is really the 3rd (American) floor when counting the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German_Retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

On the morning of our departure, my husband and I asked if we could just stay at drink cappuccini on the terrace overlooking the countryside and Siena. We did not want to leave.

Everything about our stay at the Palazzo di Valli was perfect. Our room, right on the patio, was so charming--ancient ceiling beams, good prints on the walls, and more than enough space for two honeymooners. We loved waking up each morning to cappuccino and a breakfast spread, which we ate very slowly and peacefully as we looked at the most quintessential Tuscan view.

Other reviewers are correct...it's not really feasible to walk into Siena. The bus comes so frequently, and the stop is nearly at the end of the drive, so why walk uphill? (Oh, this bus! You feel like it might come apart at any second, and it's a marvel how the drivers can fit it through Siena's narrow lanes, but it's an easy and cheap way of getting around town. You can buy tickets from Sofian or Giacamo at the front desk....and if you forget, as we did once, your bus driver may just say, "va bene." :-))

This 5 minute bus ride into town is a small price to pay for the beauty of the location and the tranquility of the gardens. Lorenzo explained to us that the hotel was once the country house of the important Piccolomini family (apparently they had a pope...check out the library in Siena's cathedral; it's named for him.). How magnificent to stay somewhere so rooted to its history. You must wander around in the gardens after you have your cappucino, take lots of pictures!

More than anything, my husband and I appreciated the true hospitality of our hosts. Grazie mille, Sofian, for all of your small touches that we won't forget- speaking French with me, staying up late to watch World Cup with my husband on the computer... Grazie mille, Lorenzo, for enduring my horrible but very sincere Italian and for the botany lessons. Grazie anche to Eugene and Giacomo!

Ci vediamo, certo! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ballerinasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you stay within the walls in Siena, having a car is challenging and complicated. Since we wanted to use our car to drive around Tuscany but also be nearby the city, we decided on Palazzo di Valli. It really is a perfect mix- it's just outside the walls so driving to and from the hotel is simple and they have parking onsite. It's close enough to the center of town that you can walk (about a 25 minute walk from the city downhill to the hotel, but more going), though we ended up taking the frequent and easy bus that stops right in front of the hotel. The hotel is very well run and pretty- located with a spectacular view across the Tuscan landscape, even though you are so close to town. Rooms are small but comfortable with lots of character.

The only small complaint we had was that our friends are light sleepers and were somewhat bothered by the noise from a nearby outdoor music place

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
2.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Valli

Property: Palazzo di Valli
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Valli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo di Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Valli Siena
Palazzo Di Valli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing