We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Palazzo di Valli is a Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo di Valli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo di Valli
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Palazzo di Valli is a Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went to Palazzo di Valli for the final two nights of our two-week trip to Italy and realized this was the best time of all. And why? More than anything else, it's because of the people who run this wonderful hotel. All the reviews for Palazzo di Valli demonstrate all the pluses of its beauty, its location, and everything that it has to offer. But what will determine where we go and stay in trips and especially whether we will return is something much more special: it is the love and passion that Giacomo and his staff show for his work and our care. In fact, we truly had the feeling that the entire staff was there just for us! We learned about Siena and came to appreciate what we were seeing there, thanks to Giacomo. We had the most mystical drive to Montalcino and outstanding wine tour set up with our last-minute request, thanks to Giacomo whose fastidiousness made us feel confident we could actually GET there on time. Believe me, no one else would have taken the care and had the patience to understand that we struggle with directions -- but we made it error-free! And I clicked my camera so many times from every spot of the Palazzo di Valli, you'd think someone was tap-dancing, but how I love looking at those pictures now. And yes, the restaurant across the street has delicious selections. What a great hotel. Choose Palazzo di Valli and make your trip magical. We wish you a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 32 has a great view of the Tuscan countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    96
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
98
367
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a warm and welcoming, small hotel just outside the Siena city gate. The long driveway and beautifully kept grounds provide a sense of seclusion from the activity of center city streets. Sitting with a glass of wine on the terrace during the early evening, you see a classic Tuscan valley spread before you. In the morning, you watch mist rising from the same valley as (weather permitting as it did for us in early October) you enjoy breakfast at one of the outdoor tables. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Lorenzo who provided us with a comprehensive overview of Siena. When a sweater was left behind following dinner at nearby Ristorante Fori Porta (a good recommendation from Lorenzo) the desk manager walked over to retrieve it for us. It was a small gesture, but very indicative of the excellent service and care afforded guests. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Hotel Palazzo di Valle to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

From start to end of our experience with palazzo di valli, we were treated very well by our gracious hosts.
The room had a beautiful picture perfect view as promised by Lorenzo and we were blessed with beautiful days in Siena as well.
I cannot express how comforting it is to return to a safe, lovely, clean and warm accomodation after a long day of walking, especially in the cold.
The team was very accomodating to our needs and helped us ensure that we had a comfortable stay. It was like returning home every night for the two nights we stayed there.
There was everything we needed for our stay and we could not ask for more.
I would DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone who wishes to check out Siena. The hotel is near enough to walk to the sights and within close proximity of a very good restaurant (can't remember the name but the team can share with you if you enquire). Not to mention the breakfast has a nice spread too!
So you can be sure you would be well fed, warm, safe and comfortable throughout your stay!
I thank the team for a lovely trip and for their hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellietellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is situated in a most delightful area, just outside the Roma gate. The views when you arrive are stunning, and the welcome is very warm. Unfortunately, we had a room on the ground floor. The internet did not work, the bathroom was very basic but above all you could hear people above you walking and going to the toilet at night. So my advice is to make sure you request an upper floor bedroom. Equally the hotel is outside the gates of the city and if you don't like wallking, be aware that it will take you a good 20 to 25 minutes to get to the centre, although there is a bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank papouBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton WV
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lccation was very easy to find and parking was great. Our room was on the ground floor, but we still had a great view over the countryside. Added bonus was a safe in the room. We had a very nice walk into Siena -- only about 20 minutes. We also took the bus once, buying tickets at the hotel desk. Our hosts were extremely helpful -- answering many questions and giving us some ideas for local travel and sightseeing. Also, the employee in the breakfast room was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was always a treat (buffet style) -- with a hot crossiant delivered to your table. American coffee, espresso or cappuccino were all available.

We definitely hope to return and perhaps make this our base for additional travel in teh area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hills02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in Palazzo di Valli for 4 nights beginning of November. It is an ancient villa outside of the walls of Siena, less than 10 minutes walk to Porta Romana entrance of the old town (it takes another 10 minutes walk to get to the central Piazza). It was a very authentic Tuscan experience for us, especially because it feels like you are in the countryside due to the hotel being located off the main road and having stunning views over Chianti and Valdorcia.

The hotel is a 3 star B&B. Our room (no 27) was very decent, spacious, charming and clean and had wonderful views of the countryside. A little issue we had in our bathroom upon arrival has been fixed right away next morning after we mentioned it to the reception. I liked that this place didn’t try pretending to be more than it is - they stand up to their level and offer good value for money. Since it was quite cool in November we couldn’t take advantage of the beautiful garden and breakfast outdoors, but I can imagine this being a highlight during warm season.

I really have to point out that the biggest asset this hotel has is the client service. Lorenzo and Giacomo, 2 gentlemen at the reception did pretty much everything to keep us happy. They are both true connoisseurs of the area and answered all questions we had as to things to see and visit, recommended itineraries and restaurants and even gave us some history background. It is thus important that you go and talk to them. Although the hotel doesn’t have a bar or official room service, one evening when we got back after a long day out and asked for a tea, we got it right away. What we appreciated most is Giacomo helping us out with an issue we had with our car an hour AFTER we checked out on departure day (we actually came back to the hotel and asked him for help) – he spent a whole hour sorting out our problem, making phonecalls, etc. Bottom line is that this is by far the best customer service I have ever received in Italy.

If I had to find anything I would say could be improved? I think I would choose fresh squeezed orange juice to be added at breakfast.. somehow, when you are surrounded by nature you have craving for natural things :). Btw, do not miss out on the delicious fresh made croissants they serve every morning!

Thank you Giacomo and Lorenzo, we had a great time in Siena and surroundings!

Room Tip: I think rooms on the second floor have more views, ours was number 27 and had a very spacious bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweervyWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Outside the city walls but a very short walk to the city-- definitely worth it for the gorgeous views and rooms that you get at the Palazzo di Valli.
Very clean room, beautifully decorated, and with an amazing view.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly, and knew the answers to all of our questions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CF2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,776 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 39 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#4 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
2.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Valli

Property: Palazzo di Valli
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Valli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo di Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Valli Siena
Palazzo Di Valli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing