We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality from the entire team” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo di Valli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo di Valli to your Saves list
Palazzo di Valli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100, Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality from the entire team”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

From start to end of our experience with palazzo di valli, we were treated very well by our gracious hosts.
The room had a beautiful picture perfect view as promised by Lorenzo and we were blessed with beautiful days in Siena as well.
I cannot express how comforting it is to return to a safe, lovely, clean and warm accomodation after a long day of walking, especially in the cold.
The team was very accomodating to our needs and helped us ensure that we had a comfortable stay. It was like returning home every night for the two nights we stayed there.
There was everything we needed for our stay and we could not ask for more.
I would DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone who wishes to check out Siena. The hotel is near enough to walk to the sights and within close proximity of a very good restaurant (can't remember the name but the team can share with you if you enquire). Not to mention the breakfast has a nice spread too!
So you can be sure you would be well fed, warm, safe and comfortable throughout your stay!
I thank the team for a lovely trip and for their hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellietellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    95
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
95
356
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is situated in a most delightful area, just outside the Roma gate. The views when you arrive are stunning, and the welcome is very warm. Unfortunately, we had a room on the ground floor. The internet did not work, the bathroom was very basic but above all you could hear people above you walking and going to the toilet at night. So my advice is to make sure you request an upper floor bedroom. Equally the hotel is outside the gates of the city and if you don't like wallking, be aware that it will take you a good 20 to 25 minutes to get to the centre, although there is a bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank papouBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton WV
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lccation was very easy to find and parking was great. Our room was on the ground floor, but we still had a great view over the countryside. Added bonus was a safe in the room. We had a very nice walk into Siena -- only about 20 minutes. We also took the bus once, buying tickets at the hotel desk. Our hosts were extremely helpful -- answering many questions and giving us some ideas for local travel and sightseeing. Also, the employee in the breakfast room was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was always a treat (buffet style) -- with a hot crossiant delivered to your table. American coffee, espresso or cappuccino were all available.

We definitely hope to return and perhaps make this our base for additional travel in teh area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hills02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in Palazzo di Valli for 4 nights beginning of November. It is an ancient villa outside of the walls of Siena, less than 10 minutes walk to Porta Romana entrance of the old town (it takes another 10 minutes walk to get to the central Piazza). It was a very authentic Tuscan experience for us, especially because it feels like you are in the countryside due to the hotel being located off the main road and having stunning views over Chianti and Valdorcia.

The hotel is a 3 star B&B. Our room (no 27) was very decent, spacious, charming and clean and had wonderful views of the countryside. A little issue we had in our bathroom upon arrival has been fixed right away next morning after we mentioned it to the reception. I liked that this place didn’t try pretending to be more than it is - they stand up to their level and offer good value for money. Since it was quite cool in November we couldn’t take advantage of the beautiful garden and breakfast outdoors, but I can imagine this being a highlight during warm season.

I really have to point out that the biggest asset this hotel has is the client service. Lorenzo and Giacomo, 2 gentlemen at the reception did pretty much everything to keep us happy. They are both true connoisseurs of the area and answered all questions we had as to things to see and visit, recommended itineraries and restaurants and even gave us some history background. It is thus important that you go and talk to them. Although the hotel doesn’t have a bar or official room service, one evening when we got back after a long day out and asked for a tea, we got it right away. What we appreciated most is Giacomo helping us out with an issue we had with our car an hour AFTER we checked out on departure day (we actually came back to the hotel and asked him for help) – he spent a whole hour sorting out our problem, making phonecalls, etc. Bottom line is that this is by far the best customer service I have ever received in Italy.

If I had to find anything I would say could be improved? I think I would choose fresh squeezed orange juice to be added at breakfast.. somehow, when you are surrounded by nature you have craving for natural things :). Btw, do not miss out on the delicious fresh made croissants they serve every morning!

Thank you Giacomo and Lorenzo, we had a great time in Siena and surroundings!

Room Tip: I think rooms on the second floor have more views, ours was number 27 and had a very spacious bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweervyWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Outside the city walls but a very short walk to the city-- definitely worth it for the gorgeous views and rooms that you get at the Palazzo di Valli.
Very clean room, beautifully decorated, and with an amazing view.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly, and knew the answers to all of our questions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CF2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel sits outside the city walls, but is a comfortable 10-15 minute walk--or take the bus! The room was large with a moderatly sized bathroom. The view from our room could not be beat. Breakfast was included and was a substantial European affair. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful in recommending dining locations. Would definitely stay here again--and hope we can!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFlaHales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Family of four spent our Siena stay here in Sept'12 and were very happy with our choice. The home/hotel was managed by a great staff including Lorenzo, Giacamo and all were very helpful and gave excellent suggestions and restaurant tips. Even made our reservations for us. Location is close to Siena proper with a short bus ride, which stops very close at the end of their driveway. We especially like the scenery around Palazzo di Valli and the location gave us a great personal look at some Tuscan countryside. I recommend this historic villa to all. Thank you again Lorenzo and staff for your help in making Siena a joy for all of us. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WadeReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,723 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 39 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#4 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
2.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Valli

Property: Palazzo di Valli
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Valli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo di Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Valli Siena
Palazzo Di Valli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing