We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views”
Review of Palazzo di Valli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo di Valli
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Giacamo and Lorenzo really add to the experience with such excellent suggestions and friendly service.

We stayed in a top room with amazing views which we loved. I think the lower rooms may suffer from less of a view but the main reason to avoid them is the noise - some of them open on to the reception so you are likely to be disturbed because even our upstairs room had poorly soundproofed doors.

An excellent location and a very nice house.

The bus is an easy ride to town (2 euros return 5 mins) but it is best to have a car for exploring Tuacany.

Don't be put off by the driveway entrance this adds to the fun ;)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 698 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

After the fast pace of Rome, Venice, and Florence, it was so nice to arrive at the tranquil setting of the Palazzo Di Valli. On the approach of the driveway, are many olive trees and rose bushes and as you arrive at the stately villa you are immediately taken with the beautiful view of the surrounding Tuscan countryside from the lovely terrace.
I booked late, consequently my room and bath were a bit small, but quite comfortable. Lorenzo, the inn keeper greeted us like old friends and was most helpful with a detailed map of the main sites and eating places that he recommended.
It was just a twenty minute walk to the Piazza del Campo, and the approach brought one to the Porta Roma, which was a fantastic way to enter the walled city for the first time.
I chose this hotel strictly from TripAdvisor reviews and I could not have done better. I am happy to recommend this hotel to others!!

Room Tip: Book early to get a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night during an eight night stay in Tuscany in October and this was our favourite hotel.
The weather was fantastic we were therefore able to appreciate the beautiful grounds and the large terrace with the most stunning views of the Tuscan countryside and Siena.
The hosts Giacomo and Lorenzo were superb providing a warm welcome and advice on what to do in the city. There is plenty of car parking and once you arrive you don't need a car for Siena as it is only a 15 minute walk through the Porta Romana or you can take the 51A bus which stops almost outside the gates to the hotel. The 1700 century villa has been restored to a very high standard. Our bedroom had a beautiful fresco ceiling and there were amazing views from our bedroom and bathroom of the countryside. The breakfast was fantastic.
I can also highly recommend the restaurant which is only a 5 minute walk, this was called Trattoria Fori Porta. We would love to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I arrived by train in Siena, picked up a rental car, and stayed at the Palazzo di Valli for one night before heading farther south into Tuscany. We had no trouble finding the Palazzo di Valli, and no trouble parking. Lorenzo was more than accommodating, giving us suggestions about what we might like to see since we were in Siena for such a short time, and handing us an umbrella as we left to walk into town. The umbrella was a good idea, since it soon began to pour. We spent some time looking at the amazing interior of the cathedral, particularly the floors. Apparently they are mostly covered 10 months of the year; if you are lucky enough to be there when they are uncovered, don't miss them. Walking back after dark, in the rain, was not really far but I might take the little bus next time because the sidewalk situation was not ideal.

Our bedroom at the Palazzo di valli was very comfortable, and we woke the next morning and opened the shutters tp watch the fog lifting off the valley. Very peaceful and beautiful. We asked to eat our breakfast on the outdoor terrace, and a table was set for us. (Most guests were indoors, because it was chilly, but we could not pass up the chance to have breakfast in the morning sun with a view of Siena.)

I would love to return to Siena and spend more time there; I would definitely return to the Palazzo di Valli. Lorenzo and his partner have had the management of the hotel for two years, and their care for the hotel and for the guests is apparent.
Bedroom and bathroom comfy and spotless; breakfast buffet had plenty of choices; location beautiful. Above all, I appreciate the time Lorenzo took to make recommendations about Siena and to direct us to a beautiful route to our next stop in Tuscany.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 1susan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at Palazzo di Valli for 4 nights. When we arrived, there was free parking on the property and we were met by Giacomo and Lorenzo. They always had someone on staff to ask questions or for assistance (24 hours). We had to wait 1 hour for our room to be readied, but when we got to our room, we were surprised that we had been upgraded to the best room in their hotel for free! The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Every window had an unobstructed view of the unbelievable rolling Tuscan hills. We had awesome weather our entire stay and every morning awoke to the most magnificent sunrise with a fog that lazed over the greenery. The view was so picturesque, I wish I had a professional camera to do the view justice. Also, there is a built in safe that we utilized. The only constructive feedback would be to remake the copy of the key to our room (a previous traveler accidentally took the key) as the housekeeper was not able to get in to our room to replace our towels/linens/clean the room for one day. Giacomo was incredibly apologetic about this, but in the end we actually saved them from doing extra laundry and re-used our towels - we really did not mind. Oh and the WIFI connection intermittently reached in to our room. On another note, the breakfast was awesome! Every morning we were greeted with a fresh hot croissant. There were fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt. There was a coffee machine and an espresso machine, the coffee was a little bitter for my taste, but adding milk and sugar did the trick for me! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is located in its own grounds including an olive grove, a garden, and a great terrace/patio. The room we had was wonderful, large and airy, with a window opening up to the Tuscan countryside. The staff is extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. It is about half a mile from the Porta Romana, a magnificent entrance through the old city walls of the town. The distance to the town is more of an advantage than otherwise if you prefer quiet nights. Breakfast was a fine buffet. The option of eating on the terrace made breakfast even more attractive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertMass013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this remarkable hotel in late September. We loved the quiet country setting, away from the town, and the beautiful old hotel. Town is a short, inexpensive bus ride, accessed by walking about a block to the bus stop. We were so glad to "come home" in the evening and sit out on the patio and look out over the valley. Loved the fresh croissants with breakfast! The staff at Palazzo di Valli is very welcoming and helpful. We were able to arrange a ride to the Florence airport by a saff member, which saved us about 70 euros! I would definitely stay here again, if we go back to Siena.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
790 reviews
1.3 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#2 of 40 in Siena
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
736 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,509 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Valli

Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $85 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Valli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Palazzo di Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Valli Siena
Palazzo Di Valli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing