We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY COZY PLACE”
Review of B&B San Francesco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B San Francesco
Ranked #52 of 121 Siena B&B and Inns
argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A VERY COZY PLACE”
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We really liked this place. The only problem we had was finding it. The guidelines were not useful, and nobody heard about the street where it is placed. Apart from that, the room in the 3rd floor has an excellent view of Siena, and is large enough, and has a nice bathroom too, Breakfast in a small and cute room. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrrivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    78
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
22
94
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

I made a reservation at the San Francesco for two double rooms with bath on the ground floor for myself/boyfriend and my elderly parents 5 months in advance of our stay. I re-confirmed two weeks beforehand. I called one hour outside of Siena as required and was told that my reservation had changed and we were to stay somewhere else...The woman said I had received an email with this new info (I didn't). We arrived at the new location, the gentleman had two attic rooms up a steep narrow flight of stairs and said take it or leave it, that's all he could do. We checked a couple of places in the neighborhood which were all booked and resigned ourselves to carting our luggage up the stairs.

We returned from dinner at 10pm and found a mother and son at the doorstep, they too had been re-directed to this new place, but there was no one to greet them and no space for them after a call to the manager. Unfortunately for them, they had pre-paid for the rooms on hotels.com.

I cannot comment on the accommodations at the San Francesco but I strongly suggest that if you want a guaranteed room, you find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pokeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Wasn't able to get a hold of this B&B to confirm at all!! I called several times the day before and the day of our arrival with the numbers that were given to us through a website confirmation. The phones were turn off and service was never available.

We didn't feel comfortable traveling all the way up there not know if it would even be open!! I can't tell you how disappointed we are with the San Francesco Bed & Breakfast. Tourist beware of this establishment !! Our experience was horrible. It's hard to find last minute reservations in Italy!

Now back in the states... we still haven't received an email explaining what happened.

Thanks

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank sweetjuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Take seriously the calling before you arrive. I had emailed about arriving at 5 pm as it was after 2 pm check in, which Allesandro replied would be OK. But when we arrived in Siena Allesandro was nowhere to be found. We also recieved emails with conflicting directions and multiple phone numbers, none of which seemed to work. Once we did get through Alessandro either couldn't understand me (very possible :) ) or he had given our room away because he hung up on me twice. It seemed like a nice location as long as you get there early and call before you arrive. After 5 hours of wandering the streets with our luggage we ended up bunking with some other folks in a similar predicament at a spendy hotel. But Siena is beautiful!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank Berkley789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My wife and I spent two nights at the San Francesco B&B. It's a bit difficult to find at first as it is about a 15- to 20-minute walk from the bus drop-off point and not quite in the heart of the city. But after finding the place, Masimo greeted us with a warm smile and was very hospitable. He gave us lots of information about the city, provided us with a map, and recommended the key sites to see.

Our room was quite large, had a nice view, and was impeccably clean. Given its location, the area was quiet at night, making for a very comfortable sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was at a large table with other guests, providing a great opportunity to share stories and recommendations and make new friends.

For the price, service, and cleanliness, this was a great value.

  • Liked — Friendliness of Masimo, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Difficult to find at first.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed here last March, and it was a great find. The B&B is charming. If you are expecting a five star hotel this may not be for you, but, in my opinion, this was Italy at it's best. The rooms were clean and basic, and the bathrooms were as nice as we experienced at any B&B in Italy. Massimo was a wonderful host. This was our first stop on the trip, so he went out of his way to get us acquainted with Siena and the B&B. I will surely stay here again when I return to Tuscany! Fell free to email me at Irishtexan21@aol.com if you have any questions about this B&B. I also traveled through the Cinque Terre, Venice, and Rome.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXCityfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

My wife and I, celebrating our 60th birthdays in Europe, spent 3 wonderful nights in Sienna at this B&B.

The location is wonderful! The room was quiet and comfortable with beds being a little on the soft side. A good breakfast was provided every morning in the dining room. Our room overlooked a busier street, but quiet, and I spent a lot of time when in the room watching life go by below. Particularly impressive sight were the thousands of swallows flying in the sky in the evening feeding time! We walked to all the sights of Sienna and used a cab only to go to the train station upon our leaving.

We would definately recomend this B&B to anyone visiting beautiful Sienna.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Owner could be on hand more.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo Bernini
Albergo Bernini
#20 of 121 in Siena
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#8 of 121 in Siena
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Chicca B&B
La Chicca B&B
#9 of 121 in Siena
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Il Battistero Siena
Il Battistero Siena
#10 of 121 in Siena
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B La Coperta Ricamata
B&B La Coperta Ricamata
#48 of 121 in Siena
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Il Corso
B&B Il Corso
#3 of 121 in Siena
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Francesco

Property: B&B San Francesco
Address: Vicolo Degli Orbachi 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B San Francesco 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Bed And Breakfast
San Francesco Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing