We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B San Francesco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B San Francesco
Ranked #51 of 116 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

This B&B is well located for anyone wishing to explore Siena. Our room was on the first floor with a view over part of the old wall and city. The room was spacious, clean and quiet with a well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was adequate, but not inspiring. Sitting around a large table with other guests was a good way to start the morning, we all had different stories and languages. Point to note that owners speak very limited English, however this didn't cause any problems. We are very happy to recommend this to fellow travellers looking for reasonable accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waddles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    70
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
21
84
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Struggled to find this B&B with my GPS, but once I found it I was pleased by the location as it was easily within walking distance to the Campo and other sights in Siena. Parking is available at a parking garage nearby w a discount with a stamp from the hotel. It is a steep hike to/fro, so be careful. The B&B is situated in a building over two floors (2nd floor and 3rd floors up) with a small office just before that. The older couple who owns the B&B are extremely nice, but smoke constantly, which is not very nice for the rest of the guests. They do not speak much English, but their son does, and he is also very helpful. The couple are usually there in the mornings to set up for breakfast and supervise the cleaning. The son is there in the afternoons til 6pm. After that, you'll need to contact them by phone if you have any issues. The room was clean and fairly large with two twin beds, perfect for us. The bathroom was a decent size, but had a lot of mold (should use some bleach to clean that up). The only drawback was that our room was right off the dining room (a large table where all guests share a table) so that guests who lingered in the area to talk could easily be heard in our room. Very disturbing especially at night when some guests insisted on carrying on conversations past 11pm. Then of course breakfast preparations at 7am are your morning wake up call. Breakfast was adequate with bread/toast, coffee machine, tea, juice, cereal, yogurt, sliced ham and cheese. The beds were okay, firm, not all that comfortable. The B&B is on a busy corner where lots of mopeds seem to come up, but that slows at night...mostly. All in all it was an adequate place to sleep after a long day of touring.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the dining room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

this is The b&b !
the advise write on the air conditioned is very simple don't use the a/c whitout the autorization of the reception , if you do it you will pay a penality of....€!!!
i've never feel the smoke of cigarettes on the breackfast floor and on the room !
the owner is a fantastic man !!! for our anniversary we found a champagne in our room with 3 red roses!!!
fantastic!
stop to say wrong about this b&b is a little part of my hart in italy!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy (5) this was really the only one that we walked into and thought "Hmmm...this doesn't really look like the photos we saw online." The room was quite a bit smaller than the photos indicated, but we could live with that...the room was clean, and the size of the bathroom was pretty decent in comparison with the size of the room. What was unfortunate were all of the rather unfriendly signs posted all over the room: "USE OF THIS AIR CONDITIONER IS STRICTLY FORBIDDEN AND IS PUNISHABLE BY DEATH..." Ok, that's an exaggeration, but there were signs like this posted all over the room, regarding everything from the air conditioner to the number of people allowed in the room, and irony of ironies...smoking in the room. Neither my daughter or I smoke, so this was certainly not an issue for either of us. However, the fact that the owners seem to disregard their own rule and smoke like chimneys in the office, to the point where there is a constant stream of smoke invading all of the rooms, was definitely an issue, and very unpleasant. I do understand that smoking is very prevalent in Italy, but one would think that when you're operating a bed & breakfast for international travelers you might try to make sure that everyone is comfortable. My daughter pointed out that perhaps the reason for all of the rather unfriendly signage posted everywhere was that Siena is a college town, and maybe the owners are used to rowdy kids from the university...but still. Just not necessary. Now that I've pointed out the problems, I would like to say that the location of the B&B is ideal, and that the place was very clean, and the breakfast provided was lovely. I just hope the owners read this and take into consideration that it's important to make your guests feel welcome, and also that base don some of the other reviews I've read, the smoking seems to be a problem for quite a few of their guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyli11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, NM USA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Not easy to find and up 3 flights of stairs to your room. Overpriced and the beds are not comfortable. Quaint and by the Campo. Breakfast was good and checkout by 10. You may need a GPS to find your way back to the location. Older couple who operate the B&B, speak no English, so brush up on your italian. Very noisy at night.

Room Tip: Find a room that does not overlook the main street, otherwise your sleep will be constantly interrup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogey911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

My sister and I have just spent 3 nights at the B&B San Francesco in Siena in September. Coming by bus from Florence we managed to find the B&B in to time at all, as it was only a 10-15 minute walk from the bus station, and I had printed a map from Google maps.

The Room:
I had booked a double room through Venere.com and we were allocated the Botticelli room on the top (3rd) floor, overlooking the street outside. The lady that showed us didn't seem to know a great deal of english, but was friendly nevertheless. The room itself was perfectly clean and adequate, having a TV, a fan and a mini fridge. The bathroom was also nice, with a powerful shower, although we were unfortunetly unable to get it to move up the pole, and so had to hold it above ourselves to get good coverage The only thing we did notice were quite a few 'rules'; no food in the rooms, bedsheets and towels will only be changed every 3 days unless you specify and pay for otherwise. Siena is obviously a very noisy town, and we realised that it was best to close the windows as the noise from vespas/cars/people etc went on almost all night. Breakfast was fine, toast, jams, hams, fruit juices etc were available as well as coffee...although the owners did seem quite protective of their Delonghi coffee making machine, insisting on making every cup for you.....however the coffee was also very nice.

The Location: The B&B is very well located being only 10 minutes away from the Campo, and ~ 15 minutes from the Duomo. Apparently the constrade in which the B&B is located had won the most recent Palio race and they did seem to enjoy parading through the streets singing songs and beating drums until all hours of the night...

Would I stay here again?
Yes, I probably would, although at 100 Euros a night, it is hardly a cheap option for a B&B, so I may be tempted to look elsewhere, perhaps further out of the centre. But if you're looking for somewhere close to the sights, near carparks and bus stations, that is well kept and well equipped then this is a good option.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

My Husband and I spent 2 very pleasant and comfortabloe nights at San Francesco B&B. Well located in a quiet residential neighbourhood within the walled city of Siena only a short walk to Piazza del campo.
Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast, which is served in a common room with other guests, was a plentiful variety of continental fare.The Sienese owners are very friendly and Luigi was especially helpful with restraunt suggestions and must see's in Siena.
A good value for the money , we would definatly return...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiamoitalia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
I Tetti di Siena
I Tetti di Siena
#37 of 116 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Mercato B&B
Al Mercato B&B
#25 of 116 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Il Corso
B&B Il Corso
#7 of 116 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casa di Antonella
La Casa di Antonella
#50 of 116 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Quattro Cantoni
0.4 mi away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#9 of 116 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Francesco

Property: B&B San Francesco
Address: Vicolo Degli Orbachi 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B&B San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Bed And Breakfast
San Francesco Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing