We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely slice of Tuscan hospitality”
Review of B&B San Francesco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B San Francesco
Ranked #52 of 127 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My Husband and I spent 2 very pleasant and comfortabloe nights at San Francesco B&B. Well located in a quiet residential neighbourhood within the walled city of Siena only a short walk to Piazza del campo.
Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast, which is served in a common room with other guests, was a plentiful variety of continental fare.The Sienese owners are very friendly and Luigi was especially helpful with restraunt suggestions and must see's in Siena.
A good value for the money , we would definatly return...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiamoitalia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 200 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

We liked San Francesco very much.

The room was delightful - nicely if simply furnished, with a modern bathroom and a great shower. There was TV, air-conditioning and a fridge. The stairwell and common areas were pleasant with attractive pictures. The staff were friendly and particularly helpful - Luigi phoned me twice to make arrangements for our anticipated late arrival (and he speaks good English). Breakfast was ample and tasty - fresh bread, cheese and meat, continental style, with fruit juice, croissants and coffee.

Perhaps the only slight drawback was that our room overlooked (as all the rooms do?) a moderately busy street; however, it was usually quiet by the end of the evening, when we wanted to sleep. There are 2 or 3 flights of stairs (which was no problem for us, however).

All-in-all, we would be delighted to stay there again, when or if we visit Siena again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theSkipper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We loved staying here. The owning family was very friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless, service was outstanding. The real plusses were staying within a real Sienese neighborhood (a good one), views from the room, closesness to real Sienese historica sights. The parking situation was a plus as the large San Francesco parking lot is less than 5 minutes away and accessed via escalators (no climbing). We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKEinHUNTSVILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Inside the walls, not far from center and bus station and around 15-20 minutes walk from train station. Pleasant staff, normal breakfast, nice interior. Rooms are nice with little kitchenete. Beds are rather soft but ok for 1 night. Window views are also ok. Nothing more to say - just and ordinary fair b&b. Good choice for short stop in Siena.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The place is in a typical senese building, a few steps away from PIazza del Campo e via dei Banchi di Sopra, Via dei Rossi. Rooms are big very clean and fully fitted in Tuscany style; excellent bathroom and powerful hot shower. Breakfast was ok, served in a cozy room, big table to share with other guest. Lady at the reception was nice. We felt warmly welcomed. I will definetelly go back there!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steraimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We really liked this place. The only problem we had was finding it. The guidelines were not useful, and nobody heard about the street where it is placed. Apart from that, the room in the 3rd floor has an excellent view of Siena, and is large enough, and has a nice bathroom too, Breakfast in a small and cute room. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrrivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

I made a reservation at the San Francesco for two double rooms with bath on the ground floor for myself/boyfriend and my elderly parents 5 months in advance of our stay. I re-confirmed two weeks beforehand. I called one hour outside of Siena as required and was told that my reservation had changed and we were to stay somewhere else...The woman said I had received an email with this new info (I didn't). We arrived at the new location, the gentleman had two attic rooms up a steep narrow flight of stairs and said take it or leave it, that's all he could do. We checked a couple of places in the neighborhood which were all booked and resigned ourselves to carting our luggage up the stairs.

We returned from dinner at 10pm and found a mother and son at the doorstep, they too had been re-directed to this new place, but there was no one to greet them and no space for them after a call to the manager. Unfortunately for them, they had pre-paid for the rooms on hotels.com.

I cannot comment on the accommodations at the San Francesco but I strongly suggest that if you want a guaranteed room, you find somewhere else to stay.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank pokeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#12 of 40 in Siena
1,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Bernini
Albergo Bernini
#26 of 127 in Siena
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Al Mercato B&B
Al Mercato B&B
#32 of 127 in Siena
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casacenti
Casacenti
#6 of 127 in Siena
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
I Tetti di Siena
I Tetti di Siena
#21 of 127 in Siena
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Francesco

Address: Vicolo Degli Orbachi 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $71 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B San Francesco 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Hotel Siena
San Francesco Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing