We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Handy location, light and airy, hassle free”
other travelers have booked this property
Well decorated living room at La Stalla di San Lazzero
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well decorated living room at La Stalla di San Lazzero
Bright and spacious double bedroom 1 Well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Well decorated living room at La Stalla di San Lazzero
Bright and spacious double bedroom 1
Well equipped kitchen
Garden
Living room
Living room
Well equipped kitchen and dining set
Living room
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Garden
Garden
Night exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Handy location, light and airy, hassle free”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Leonardo was helpful, from booking onwards. La Stalla itself is fairly newly converted into a light and airy little holiday house - all the rooms are a good size and the shower is great! I think the layout suits a family with an older child best, as the stairs wouldnt be great for a toddler, but for our family it was a much better option than a hotel. And there is everything you need to rustle up a delicious meal from the produce that you won't be able to resist buying on your travels around the region.

Its very near the city walls of Siena - walking distance, but there is a busy bend on the road so we took Leonardo's advice and always took the bus (a quick journey, cheap and frequent service - I only wish it was like that in the UK!) or drove. There is loads to do. We spent a couple of days wandering round the beautiful medieval city of Siena, a day in Firenze, a couple of days exploring Tuscan hill towns, and wallowed in a couple of the hot springs that arise in the hills. It was all within an easy drive of our base here.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traci B
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome host and beautiful home...”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I spent a week at this lovely villa. We were graciously greeted by our host, with a bottle of vino in hand, after a long day of travel on our part. Leonardo treated us as if we were old friends. He was warm, friendly, and very helpful (tips about Siena). We instantly felt at home. The home is beautiful. There are two full bedrooms and a shared bath in the hall. Lots of windows and natural lighting. The scene, outside the windows was breathtaking (I live in a big city and normally look out to a street). There is a full kitchen, everything you need to make a home cooked meal or reheat leftovers. And there is a small patio, near the garden, where you can sit and enjoy the peace and quiet. There is a staircase to the bedrooms so if you're not one to climb or carry luggage up a set of stairs you may want to reconsider. The house is super clean, the furnishings are modern and very comfortable. Nothing about the home made us feel like we were staying in a sterile 'rental', equipped with second hand or worn out furnishings. I say that because we traveled to 11 cities during this trip and rented homes / apartments the whole time AND this was the only property we stayed at where we felt cozy, comfortable, and had with ample space to relax. The property is located just outside Siena; easy to get to by bus, cab or if you're up for it, a 1/2 hr walk. We walked a lot mostly because the weather was gorgeous during our visit. If you take the bus, be sure to buy tickets while you're in town. Go to the visitor center and they'll give you the full scoop. We also traveled to several vineyards, by tour bus. The tours were also purchased at the visitors center. We ate at La Chiacchiera several times...the THICK homemade pasta was yummy. It is a small place, away from the center of town. If you're a group of 4 you'll probably get your own table but for us (2) we were always paired with another group (family style seating); separate checks of course. We met other travelers and shared bottles of wine as we told stories of our adventures. Great food! I hope you enjoy your visit to Siena and please say hello to Leonardo for us. Best wishes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, quiet, and comfortable.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siffers
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful place to stay. Lovely house - comfortable and stylish. Helpful and friendly owner. Great location for visiting tuscany sights such as Siena (bus stop on road outside), Florence, San Gimignano, Val D'Orcia etc. Beautiful garden to relax in. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden
Liked least: the overenthusiastic fridge!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGille...
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We're traveled all over the world for 40 years, stayed multiple times in Tuscany and Provence. This 2 bedroom guesthouse attached to a 13th century villa right on the outskirts on Siena is a top prize-winner. Comfortable as can be. Delightful hosts. Minutes from Siena itself and minutes from fabulous hikes. Only 45 minutes to Florence through spectacular scenery. We stayed 3 weeks and hope to go back again as soon as we can.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanyunry...
berlin, germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Converted Carriage House - The Perfect Home Away From Home in Delightful Siena”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I went to Siena expressly for the one of Tuscany's most unique events - the Palio, a horse race whose origins date back at least 700 years in which jockeys ride bareback for one of the city's 17 Contrade around the medieval main square in an attempt to win a pennant of the Madonna.

We decided on Leonardo's house because the photos of the house and the garden were so beautiful. At arrival everything lived up to expectation and more. The house has been impeccably restored and refurbished. Antique furniture reside pleasingly with modern furnishings. Leonardo has an exacting eye and exquisite taste. Besides this he is a gracious host. One night we were invited for a glass of wine and cake to celebrate his birthday along with his dancer sister and painter father, who live in the villa next door. The carriage house is composed of 4 rooms, the livingroom and kitchen cum diningroom downstairs and two bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. We slept in the master bedroom which has windows on 2 sides - in the morning one wakes up to the view of bell tower of the Saint Catherine cathedral located inside the Siena old town, the other view is of that of the Tuscan hills. What makes the house exceptional is how Leonardo has paid respect to the history of the house. Many original features have been preserved, like the ancient brickwork on the floors and walls, the exposed beams, the iron rings to which the horses used to be tethered and the herringbone-patterned vaulted ceilings. What I found particularly delightful was the staircase: it starts out with as burnished brick and plaster, much like how the house is built, and is met midway by wooden steps held in place by wrought ironwork. The staircase says much about the owner Leonardo's vision of the house, to transform an ancient humble structure into a modern abode that provides modern creature comforts while respecting the form and function of the original structure. As of this writing work is under way to convert the adjacent shed into a laundry room.

I must mention the delightful garden where we spent many a times relaxing and recuperating from long days of sightseeing. Accessed through the kitchen door, the entrance of the garden is shaded by an apricot tree and another leafy tree. Stretching out in front is a peddly path and a series of large terracotta pots of basil, rosemary and savory, which Leonardo's father kindly invited us to use. Flanking the path are 2 flower beds and rose bushes. At the end of the path are graceful, towering bamboo that catches every breeze.

Directly in front of the property is the roadway. While it has only 2 lanes, it does get its share of traffic. Because the house is set a bit back, my husband and were not much put out by it. Also the master bedroom faces the hills and valley, so we were ensured of restorative sleep every night. The plus side is the bus stop right by the property's entrance. There are 2 buses running into town and so when we didn't feel like walking we just hopped into one.

We can't recommend Leonardo's house enough and are much looking forward to revisiting Siena, and when we do we will certainly stay here again!

Thanks, Leonardo, for this very memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The traffic.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SienavsOl...
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Décor, localisation
Liked least: Le bruit de la route
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$102
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing