We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best you will ever taste.”
Review of Menchetti

Menchetti
Ranked #62 of 531 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best you will ever taste.”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This bakery has simply the best pizza you will ever have. The breads and dolci too are splendid. Amazing value. I spent half euro for part if a loaf of bread.,yes
Four slices are by weight and usually ate five Euro to six.

Part of the pleasure is the staff, who are clearly happy and proud to be there.

It is a joy to watch them interact with the many customers. I would go back if there was a quiet hour just to talk more.

Please go early in your visit. If you are like my wife and I you will plan your meals around return s.



E

Helpful?
Thank OldLymeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    51
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Italy”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Best pizza I've had yet - I wish I had the recipe for the crust! It is light and flaky with various toppings to choose from. Great price too! Definitely seek it out when in Siena.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza for many euros”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

4-5 types of pizzas, just from the oven. Excellent and very cheap. Very friendly staff and funny ambiance. To take away or eat on the tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungryfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice pizza”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is a supermarket, but sells a delicious pizza, cookies and several other Italian delicatessen. Price is very reasonable. There is no tables to sit down because the place is not a restaurant.HHowever there are quite some places you can stand and eat the things you just bought.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matheus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Top notch pizza!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This little shop is in a larger one run by the Consorzio Agricolo Siena. The Consorzio is dedicated to promoting local products, and they lease out space to local concerns. Menchetti is a tiny forno, producing pizza, bread, biscotti and panforte.

Their pizza is fresh from the oven and so delicious you'll want to try many varieties. I've had the sausage with mushrooms, the pepperoni, the simple tomato with oregano and the fresh tomato, buffalo mozzarella and basil. I don't know which was best. Maybe each!

You stand at tall tables to eat, and you're surrounded by people having a bite before heading back to the office. The wait is not long, even when there are ten people in front of you.

Top quality, fresh and inexpensive. Two pieces (sold by weight) were 2.60. You won't find a better snack for that!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menchetti also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Menchetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing