We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best risotto I have every had”

Trattoria Fontegiusta
Ranked #52 of 531 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Excellent food and price. Very nice decoration!
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best risotto I have every had”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was a damp May evening & my husband & i had tried to eat in the hotel but they were full up. We tried a number of restaurants nearby but being a Saturday there were no tables.

We came across this trattoria, when we first went in it looked like the stereotypical Italian restaurant you find in the Uk. This is where the resemblance stopped.

The food was simple yet delicious. I had the courgette risotto & I have to say it was the best risotto I have every tasted. My husband had the beef on the bone & loved it. We were also impressed with the service & help we were given with the wine. When the bottle we chose was unavailable an alternative was provided, which was delicious & also cheaper than our original choice which was pleasant surprise.

I would definitely recommend that you visit if you are in Siena delicious food & wine & very reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allyt001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    535
    185
    65
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant away from the crowds”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a lovely meal here. Highly recommend the spaghetti with vegetables and pork dish. A great little find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Good Deal”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

In Siena for 5 days - and on our first day we found this restaurant. The food and service were so good we returned 4 times for the evening meal.

A real choice in the menu, very well cooked, and excellent service even at busy times. It was always full of local Sienese.
Very extensive local region wine choice. Prices of food & wine were very reasonable.

A really good deal considering this is a heavily tourist city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidandloretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Have the Young Roasted Pork”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Plenty of space, helpful staff, great wine and good service, but you must try the young roasted pork, a side of baked potatoes and grilled vegetables. Actually enough for two diners. The pork is slow roasted and literally falls off the bone. My mouth is watering just writing this review. I want more!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy Aussie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This restaraunt was reccomended by the barman at our hotel The garden. We were in Sienna for four nights and this reataraunt was so good and the menu so extensive that we ate there every night!

The staff were attentive and good fund and very helpful.

Coonsidering how close it was to the centre, the price was amazing - six of us, at least two bottles of wine, at least two course each - 150 euros - a bargain.

If I were there again, that's where I'd eat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Fontegiusta also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria Fontegiusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing