We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a way to learn about siena”

Palazzo Pubblico and Museo Civico
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.75*
and up
Siena Guided Walking Tour
More Info
$83.14*
and up
Siena and San Gimignano Full-day Tour from Versilia Coast
More Info
$190.03*
and up
Classic Siena Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 147 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Siena's City Hall, whose construction began in the 13th century, houses the city's Civic Museum, whose collection includes the profound fresco entitled "Allegory of Good and Bad Government."
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a way to learn about siena”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a great little museum, well signposted in english and italian, that tells much about the history of the town. There is a great viewing platform over the back of town but its a long way up. I requested the gaurd and her set of keys to take me in the lift, and she came back for me in 5 minutes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank magpiegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    199
    44
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The museum was pretty meh”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I have just one word for the museum - meh. I didn't go to the tour though. If you're there go to the tower!

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What's not to love”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Third time here today. Had just,watched one of,the Palio groups parade, and got a real sense of the,pride that the locals feel in their culture, and indeed why not. It was a privilege to watch the inter generational march, from men in their nineties to three year olds with their plastic drums, which helped make sense of the civic notions of the good/bad government.
Looking at the decorative art, you get a real sense of the story behind siena. It's a good call if you want a potted version, without all the beautiful art of the pinocateca, and you can really feel like you were there , with the frescoes still visible.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helenc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,946 reviews
650 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Excellent place to appreciate the rich history of Sienna”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Tickets for entry here are relatively expensive but we thought very worthwhile for a tour of the rich history of Siena. The Museo inevitably gets extremely busy so we advise going as early as possible in the morning. Aside from learning so much about the history of the place, art enthusiasts will thoroughly enjoy appreciating works on display.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“History and wonder”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This museum is a journey rather than just viewing items. It takes you through the story of Siena with special moments and items embedded in the journey. We loved it. We were fortunate to avoid the masses of school groups that are in transit in this area at the moment as they are very noisy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sydneytraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Pubblico and Museo Civico also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Palazzo Pubblico and Museo Civico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing