We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
First Trip to Italy

Gina, Mary and Mike take several small groups to different regions each year, including Piiedmont... read more

Reviewed November 12, 2019
Barry L
,
Louisville, Kentucky
Culinary tour of Puglia region in Italy

This was my second tour with Gina and Mary and every bit as much fun as the first. These trips are... read more

Reviewed November 8, 2019
JZK96
,
Bowling Green, Kentucky
via mobile
Read all 74 reviews
  
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
70
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
70
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gina stipo old mill cooking class culinary tour tour guests piedmont region cooking experience tuscan countryside italian food drink wine truffle hunting bucket list olive oil gelato classes villa olives
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 74 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This past May my sister and neices and I spent a fantastic day at Ecco La Cucina near Siena, Italy. It was about a five hour cooking class that began in the morning and ended around 3:00 pm. It was located in an old mill that was made into a kitchen for a bed and breakfast. Gina Stipo gives a hands on class that uses fresh local produce. We picked herbs in the garden to use. We ate each course outside under a shade tree.

We cooked appetizers, a main course of homemade pasta with fresh artichoke sauce and a rabbit dish. The meal ended with a strawberry crostata. Gina had a great teaching style and the dishes were easy to make. She paired wines with each course and gave many helpful hints on cooking in general. We all helped with each course so there was lots of hands on cooking, fun, talk and siipping wine.

The website is www.eccolacucina.com. In a review of our ten days in Italy, several of us listed this as the highlight of our trip. It is located near Orgio, about 20 minutes from Siena. Louise

Date of experience: May 2011
2  Thank LouiseSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My mother and I traveled together through Italy--mostly Tuscany--a few weeks ago. We spent the better part of one day with Gina making a delicious and fresh authtentically Tuscan spring menu. It ended up being just the two of us, which made it an even more fantastic and personalized experience. Everything we learned to make was delicious and the entire experience was completely hands-on. I can't wait to try my first solo batch of fresh pasta! The setting was wonderful, as well. I highly recommend a visit to Ecco la Cocina to anyone looking for a hands-on, personal, and educational cooking experience in Tuscany!

Date of experience: May 2011
2  Thank albdc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

My mother and I had a wonderful experience with Gina - Ecco la Cucina. We did a one day cooking class. The class was very small - only 2 other people for 4 hours - but we were there for most of the day. We made some delish dishes out of her kitchen in an old mill house located about 15 minutes from Siena. We made a lovely appetizer (fried sage leaves), quail brazed with grapes, homemade ravioli and an amazing chocolate dessert. Truly a learning experience. It was so much fun. Gina is easy going, friendly and professional. We had an absolutely wonderful afternoon - AND not to mention got to eat everything we made. YUM!
[--]

3  Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: June 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginastipo, Owner at Ecco La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginastipo, Owner at Ecco La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews