We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hated to leave.”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #4 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We felt welcome immediately and were so pleased with our choice for 5 nights. Our room -Villa 3 had a delightful balcony which we enjoyed sitting out on and relishing the view and serenity. The dining experience could not be beat either at breakfast , lunch or dinner. We had a hard time forcing ourselves to go anywhere else. I suggust if there is an Italian opera playing in the small very old church in town while you are there ---GO. It was such a nice evening preceeded by dinner at Enzo's. The walk to town is ambitious, I admit but if you can do it you won't be sorry. We took a taxi for our 1 evening out. The staff--every single one---was wonderful and always willing and anxious to help with anything you needed. If you do laundry dry your clothes on the line it's quicker than using the dryer. We will miss our romantic dinners served outside under the arbor in the moonlight. You can not go wrong with this choice.

Room Tip: We loved our room Villa 3. It had a veranda with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 202JCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 680 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Lovely place to stay, the staff are so friendly and helpful. On planning our day trips the reception staff were fantastic! Our room was large, clean and was everything we needed. The pool was a welcome treat after a day around the city. It's a decent walk into Siena (about 30 minutes) and as I had a bad back we ordered taxis but they were incredibly efficient and not expensive. The breakfast was great and I loved our waiter who told me what cake I should eat each morning!! Siena is a lovely city for a short break and if you're happy to be out of the centre then this is a great place to stay - in fact it was great being out of the centre as you feel like you're still in the countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

It's a beautiful place outside the city. Plan on having car if you want to stay here. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool. We had a one bedroom apartment that was upgraded to a one bedroom with the loft. Room was very spacious. But housekeeping does not come every day. Breakfast was great but was the only place we paid for in Italy.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank njtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a well run hotel in fabulously restored buildings. Booking through Expedia was hugely problematic but Amina at the hotel contacted my directly to query the three bookings that had gone through when only one was needed. If she hadn't, I could have been billed for £600 more than I was actually trying to spend.

The rooms are all different and ours was well stocked with equipment and had a gallery with a double bed whilst the kids slept downstairs in a sofa bed - they moaned it wasn't very comfortable - I guess that at their advancing teenage years, a better option would have been a proper bed,

Our room had no dedicated seats outside but most of the rooms seem to have seating. Worth checking his when booking as a place of ones own to sit outside on a hot day is really welcome.

Grounds are fabulous, pool is lovely.

The food menu is limited but we had a splendid lunch with a great bottle of local wine.

It's a 30 minute walk to town which is interesting, easy to work out, and no problem if you are fit. The escalators by the station were unexpected.

A coop is 5 minutes walk away and the train station is conveniently ten minutes walk away. I didn't notice any issue with train noise.

In summary, this is an oasis of a hotel that is easy to find, has loads of parking , is well run and is convenient for town and would recommend to anyone who doesn't desperately want to be in the centre of the historic town. I would have given 4 starts but Amina was so helpful with booking, I have upgraded to a 5 as a result.

Room Tip: If you want a room with its own outside seating, check in advance as all rooms are individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMAK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place, very friendly and helpful staff, children loved the pool. Distance to old town wasn't a problem because we are used to walk and use public transport (and seldom rent a car when traveling in Italy).

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 405hennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our family stayed at Borgo Grondaie some days in the middle of June. The saltwater swimmingpool was great. The whole property is surrounded by a beautiful garden. There are nice surroundings for biking. A huge supermarket is near by. It takes 20-30 minutes to walk up to the old city of Siena. There is also a short walk to the railway-station. The staff was very helpful, and the booking process with them was super.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne Karine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

You are removed from the hustle of the big city to a very tranquil place. Husband and I really love the rustic nature of the rooms and the reception area. Wonderful staff - very accommodating. would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
772 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,375 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $66 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing