We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for touring - Nice hotel - but a bit noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #3 of 119 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Location for touring - Nice hotel - but a bit noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 night is early June and thouroughly enjoyed our stay. Its location is great for Siena ( you do need a car though) and the Southern parts of Chianti Country.
Its a nice clean hotel with both private hotel style rooms and more reasonable apartment rooms.
Rooms are nicely appointed , bathrooms a tad small maybe and the rooms are a bit dark.
Rooms are airconditioned (Which was very cold!) but we like to open the window in the morning ...this was not so wise as below all the woods is the Station .. which was pretty noisy on Occasion.
Breakfast was lovely .. especially if there was a table free on the terrace . Fresh fruits, cold meats and cereals available ( some hot bacon and eggs might be nice occasionally ?)
But hard to fault.
No lunch nor evening meals were available which meant you had to go out and you really have to drive to do that , which is a shame as its a hassle !It would have been lovely to have been able to eat in at least once (even if we'd pre-ordered everything)
The approach past the supermarket is not especially welcoming - but you can't change that.
Once your inside the grounds its nice.
Good Pool area- well away from the hotel and sleeping rooms
Nice and quite large gardens - on a slope so not hugely useable - but nice for a meander
On reflection I think 2 nights here would have been great ... 3 was too long.

Room Tip: Rooms Facing in to the Courtyard might be quieter if you want open the windows .Rooms on the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strummer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    138
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
151
284
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very nice hotel/apartment place in the outskirts of Siena. Apartment was very nicely decorated with the handmade furniture, clean remodeled bathroom. Reception staff was very helpful and friendly. I cannot comment on the breakfast since we did not buy it there. (We just bought some groceries from the nearby supermarket). Hotel had a laundry room on the premises which was very helpful.
It is true that the hotel is not in the city. However, it took us literally 3 minutes by car to get to one of the parking lots of Siena. You cannot drive in the city without the permit, and we saw many people hauling their luggage through the hilly streets of Siena to and from their hotels. I am glad we stayed at Borgo Grondaie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The research showed rooms that may have been a good home base for adventures. When we arrived, we were so pleasantly surprised. The apartment was spacious well appointed, spotless and one of the most comfortable rooms we experienced during our two weeks in Italy.

It is a 15 minute walk from town but we loved the serenity and peaceful surroundings. We will return on a visit in the future.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment, they are spacious and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
198 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Imagine that you are surrounded with white roses, beautiful trees and butterflies. Imagine you a waking up to the birds' song and the sound of Siena's bells. Isn't it Paradise?

We landed in this piece of paradise from nowhere at 10:00 am. We asked if there are rooms available and the very sweet staff kindly showed us what was available. We saw a small hotel rooms and a beautiful Tuscan apartment with a terrace with the view on Siena.
This apartment has everything you need from the Italian Coffee Maker to the dishwasher.
The AC was perfect and there is a free WiFi.
We had a breakfast when we arrived. The breakfast is simple with a really good coffee.

The pool is wonderful.

I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during an extended trip to Italy. The facility and grounds are very nice with the only negatives for us being a small bathroom and many steps for the luggage. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful in all our interactions with them. The hotel is fairly close to historic Sienna but requires a car or taxi to get anywhere except the large Coop store located just off the property. If you are planning on staying outside the old city this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while on our honeymoon and loved it! The grounds are beautiful with outdoor tables, a pool, and gardens; you really feel like you're in the Tuscan hillside. Borgo Grondaie is a great location for those that want to explore the Tuscany region-a short walk to the train station or rent a car (free parking) and there's so many towns you can drive to. We didn't mind the 20 min stroll into the center of Siena, but the hotel also has free bikes you can borrow which were a great way to get into Siena. The breakfast was ample and delicious-the largest buffet assortment we had in Italy! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful; Gaia helped us book a car last minute to go exploring through Tuscany and mapped out where we should go and Chan was extremely helpful with bags, bikes and breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our group of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in 2 rooms after we were unable to get rooms in Sienna itself.

Location: The inn is a cab ride from both the train station and the historic sites of Sienna. We found one-way taxi rides of 7-10 euros. Although it is conceivable to walk into Siena, it would be a long, difficult walk. I'd rather save my energy for walking in the town itself. The property itself is quite nice, with good landscaping and an unheated (cold) pool.

Rooms: Our 2 rooms were what the desk called "villa" rooms. I found that it was difficult for two people to be in the room at the same time since there was so little room to walk around. Unfortunately, some of the room was taken up by an old cathode ray tube-type TV. The bathroom was also very tight.

Food: Breakfast was fairly good and included the usual ham, yoghurt, breads, and cereal. The attentive waiter would make espresso or cappuccino on request.

Staff was very nice and helpful. Laundry facilities on the premises (2 euro for washing, 2 for drying) was welcome.

Overall, Borgo Grondaie would be nice for someone more interested in seeing the Tuscan countryside, with a car, than someone planning on just seeing Siena.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctmb-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Property: Borgo Grondaie
Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing