We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, Helpful Staff, Great Views”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #3 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel, Helpful Staff, Great Views”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while on our honeymoon and loved it! The grounds are beautiful with outdoor tables, a pool, and gardens; you really feel like you're in the Tuscan hillside. Borgo Grondaie is a great location for those that want to explore the Tuscany region-a short walk to the train station or rent a car (free parking) and there's so many towns you can drive to. We didn't mind the 20 min stroll into the center of Siena, but the hotel also has free bikes you can borrow which were a great way to get into Siena. The breakfast was ample and delicious-the largest buffet assortment we had in Italy! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful; Gaia helped us book a car last minute to go exploring through Tuscany and mapped out where we should go and Chan was extremely helpful with bags, bikes and breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    142
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
161
290
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our group of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in 2 rooms after we were unable to get rooms in Sienna itself.

Location: The inn is a cab ride from both the train station and the historic sites of Sienna. We found one-way taxi rides of 7-10 euros. Although it is conceivable to walk into Siena, it would be a long, difficult walk. I'd rather save my energy for walking in the town itself. The property itself is quite nice, with good landscaping and an unheated (cold) pool.

Rooms: Our 2 rooms were what the desk called "villa" rooms. I found that it was difficult for two people to be in the room at the same time since there was so little room to walk around. Unfortunately, some of the room was taken up by an old cathode ray tube-type TV. The bathroom was also very tight.

Food: Breakfast was fairly good and included the usual ham, yoghurt, breads, and cereal. The attentive waiter would make espresso or cappuccino on request.

Staff was very nice and helpful. Laundry facilities on the premises (2 euro for washing, 2 for drying) was welcome.

Overall, Borgo Grondaie would be nice for someone more interested in seeing the Tuscan countryside, with a car, than someone planning on just seeing Siena.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctmb-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lajeado, RS
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went to this hotel on our honeymoon. In fact it was the right choice, as a base to explore Tuscany. It is a lovely hotel, charming and very helpful. The breakfast is great and the hotel has an excellent infrastructure. The only downside is the access by car, because the hotel is a little bit hidden, but in a quiet and pleasant spot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My father and I stayed in the hotel during our trip to Tuscany. I hadn't read any reviews online prior to booking our stay. I looked for something reasonably priced, in the Siena area, where my dad could really enjoy the Tuscan experience. The hotel helped us book a day trip to Cinque terre and packed us snacks since we were going to be missing breakfast the next morning. We had also bought a bottle of wine at the bar (for a reasonable 10 euros), but did not drink it all the first night. When they cleaned our room, they left us with two fresh wine glasses to finish our bottle. They really thought of everything to make sure we had an exceptional experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is stunning - breathtakingly beautiful, both inside and out. It is well appointed with beautiful marble bathrooms and all the mod cons you could want. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and ensured we were able to do everything we wanted to on our trip. The views from the hotel are of rolling Tuscan countryside, however it is actually located near the largest supermarket in Siena (for stocking your villa with local delicacies if the mood takes you) and it is only a short stroll in to the centre of Siena. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - I have travelled a lot in Italy and it is the best I have stayed in.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally as fantastic (we had multiple rooms in our party).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Aquila, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arriving to Borgo Grondaie you feel like coming back to your grand parents country house. Really comfortable, clean and cozy. Staff is great. The room (Giardino 2) is a small appartement with kicthen. Tipical toscany breakfast, excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enrico c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My brother and stayed here in early November for 5 nites as our base to see Tuscany. I wanted a place where I could cook meals with all the wonderful foods available at local markets/stores. The place was perfect! We had an apartment for 2 which had a full main floor with living room area, dining room/kitchen, nice bathroom and the sleeping area upstairs on a 2nd floor loft-but full space. It truly felt like home each nite after a long day of driving and sightseeing etc.
The staff of the hotel very accommodating, with any requests, restaurant recommendations etc. Free parking on the premises is an absolute plus-and one of the reasons we selected it, as parking in/near Siena center is a nightmare. I recommend guests to take a bus or taxi into the center from the hotel which is about 2 miles outside city, which is what we did,after 2 failed attempts to find the big parking lot near the center. I would definitely stay here again.!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandaladykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Property: Borgo Grondaie
Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing