We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing time at the Borgo Grondaie!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #3 of 118 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxing time at the Borgo Grondaie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Borgo Grondaie at the end of June, 2012 with our two young kids, aged 3 and 5. We stayed in the Terrazza 2 appartment. Although this was not a cheap stay it was fairly competitive compared to the other places we had stayed at during our Italian vacation.
The pros:
Very relaxing environment, especially around the pool, which was chilly by the way, with a beautiful view of Siena over the hill.
Great hotel staff always willing to help and answer any questions you may have.
As we had our own kitchen, we made ourselves breakfast and we did eat dinner one night on our balcony/terrasse which we just loved. It was very quiet even though other travellers were having a drink on their balcony right next to ours. The view from the terrasse is fantastic and spending hours sipping a drink or relaxing in the two long chairs is very easy to do!
The hotel is a good walk to the historic centre of Sienna and travelling with young kids we did use taxis to get back and forth and it was well worth the 10 or 12 euros each way.
The apartment was impeccable when we arrived. The bathroom was comprised of a nice size bath and a big rain shower with plenty of water pressure.
The bed in the master bedroom is a king size bed with a very decent mattress and comfortable pillows. There were 2 AC units in the apartment and both worked very well. The sofa bed is perfect for children but I would not recommend it for adults as it might be a little too soft.
I could not find anything bad enough to mention it in this review as our stay was just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    138
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
151
284
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I enjoyed two weeks in this hotel. All the staff were universally friendly and helpful. The hotel is a beautiful oasis on the edge of town.
It would be nice if the internet was available beyond the reception area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The last leg of our Italian trip was in Siena and we stayed at the Siena Borgo Grondaie. It is a very quaint bed and breakfast with a country feel. The grounds are beautiful. Our room was spacious enough but since the hotel is close to the train station, in the morning you could hear humming and whistles, but was quickly overshadowed by all the birds chirping. A little noisy. We spent a day biking from the hotel to the city of old Siena. We used the Siena Walking Tour suggested by the hotel - in the info binder in the room with a lot of good information. Hint: if you do this, ask the hotel about using the escalator to take you into the city and avoid walking or biking uphill. Biking back to the hotel was a breeze - all downhill. Also suggestion: the front desk closes at 11pm. So, best to take your room key should you go out in the evening in case you are out later than 11pm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaD41181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Although the approach to the hotel is uninspiring, around the rear of a large supermarket, the hotel and grounds are very attractive and we were warmly welcomed. Information is readily offered and the staff are very helpful and attentive. Our accommodation was in the two bedroomed villa which was very well equipped and clean, unfortunately the mixed weather did not allow us to take full advantage of the very pleasant, private terrace. The location is very convenient, however the railway station, whilst not visually intrusive, generates some noise. Siena is a lovely city and an excellent centre from which to explore the region.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rover044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our journey to Siena started from Sion, Switzerland - Milan - Florence, and then by SITA Bus to Siena. Duration of bus journey from Florence-Siena was 75mins and fare was Euro 7.80 each. It was a short journey by taxi to Borgo Grondaie from the Siena bus station and the taxi fare was Euro 12.

Borgo Grondaie is a beautiful Tuscan villa in a quiet hilly locale. We are a group of 4 adults and our choice was to stay in one of the apartments (Piazetti 3) which has a well-equipped kitchen, a big & comfortable seat (which can double as a bed) in the living/kitchen area & 1 bedroom with 2 twin beds and the other bedroom with a double bed. However, there is only 1 spacious bathroom with a long tub. A shower area would be more ideal. There is a lovely courtyard in front of the apartments. The laundry room (with 2 washers and 1 dryer) is diagonally opposite our apartment. A nominal fee is payable at the reception to use the washer and the dryer, and tokens are provided for the washing machine & dryer. Complimentary detergent is provided. The laundramat service is a much welcome service!

A leisurely walk into the old town took us almost 30 mins in the first afternoon. As we had rented a car the next day from Avis this was not an issue for us. Having the Coops Supermarket nearby was very convenient as we shopped there for our groceries and we were able to cook dinner. Free Wifi is only available at the reception. It would be much better if wifi access is available in-room! Prepaying the room rate in advance (if your travel plans are firm) saves you additionally.

The historic centre of Siena is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. We spent a few hours in the old quarter and visited the Santa Caterina & Piazza del Campo amidst a light drizzle. A lovely rainbow delighted us at Piazza del Campo at the end of our visit and we were thrilled by the wonderful spectacle!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here on our trip through Italy for 3 nights. It proved to be a perfect base for trips to the Tuscan countryside and hill towns.

The apartment was larger than we expected - perfect for 2 couples and all of our stuff. Very clean and very well appointed. But the best part was the staff - they were wonderfully friendly and helped us figure out where to spend our days while we were in Siena. The breakfast was fabulous - plenty of food, with a variety of pastries, cakes, meats, cheese and cereal. Our apartment also had a beautiful patio where we could enjoy wine and cheeses in the shade of a trellis. Bellisimo! The beds were large and comfortable.

Getting into the old city of Siena from the hotel is walkable, but we chose to drive and park at the San Francesco lot, which surprisingly has escalators to take you up into the city. We also recommend Castello di Brolio in the Chianti region to the northeast (30 minutes by car from the hotel), as well as the hill towns of Pienza and Montepulciano to the southeast (35 minutes by car from the hotel). The Tuscany region is hard to beat.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Cheers,
Dave

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed in one of the apartments at this hotel. Rooms were clean but furniture could do with a refurbishment. However this was reflected in the price which was very reasonable. Air conditioning was set to heat and was centrally controlled. This made the rooms somewhat too hot at times. I believe that in Italy there are fixed dates when heating and cooling are switched on and off so this may be beyond the hotel's control.
Facilities were good. The kitchen whilst only a small corner of the living room was very well equipped. There is a shower but no bath. This was no problem for me personally. Towels are not changed in the aprtments but this was clearly pointted out when i booked
Staff were friendly and welcoming. When I had to cut short the visit due to a rail strike they were very accommodating.
The hotel is not in the central area of Siena. To get there entails a bus ride up the hill at a cost of about Euro 1.20. Bus tickets can be obtained at the news stand at the station.Buses are frequent during the day but do not run in the late evening. To get back after eating at a restaurant was about a half hour's walk. The train station is about 10 minutes walk but walking to the hotel with luggage is a trial as it involves a fairly steep hill at the end so a taxi might be better. For those with a car the hotel offers free parking. the location is also good as the hotel is near the main road which by passes the historic area and it is not necessary to negotiate the traffic limited zone.
There is a Co-Op superstore adjacent to the hotel which would fully meet the requirements of those self-catering. For eating out I would recommend L'Osteria in Via dei Rossi (the fried potatoes are to die for) and Osteria Boccon del Prete in Via di San Pietro.
Despite being near both the superstore and the railway the hotel is extremly quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Apartments do not include brakfast or changes of towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LambethNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Property: Borgo Grondaie
Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing