We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding. The highlight of our trip.”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #3 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here on our trip through Italy for 3 nights. It proved to be a perfect base for trips to the Tuscan countryside and hill towns.

The apartment was larger than we expected - perfect for 2 couples and all of our stuff. Very clean and very well appointed. But the best part was the staff - they were wonderfully friendly and helped us figure out where to spend our days while we were in Siena. The breakfast was fabulous - plenty of food, with a variety of pastries, cakes, meats, cheese and cereal. Our apartment also had a beautiful patio where we could enjoy wine and cheeses in the shade of a trellis. Bellisimo! The beds were large and comfortable.

Getting into the old city of Siena from the hotel is walkable, but we chose to drive and park at the San Francesco lot, which surprisingly has escalators to take you up into the city. We also recommend Castello di Brolio in the Chianti region to the northeast (30 minutes by car from the hotel), as well as the hill towns of Pienza and Montepulciano to the southeast (35 minutes by car from the hotel). The Tuscany region is hard to beat.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Cheers,
Dave

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 683 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed in one of the apartments at this hotel. Rooms were clean but furniture could do with a refurbishment. However this was reflected in the price which was very reasonable. Air conditioning was set to heat and was centrally controlled. This made the rooms somewhat too hot at times. I believe that in Italy there are fixed dates when heating and cooling are switched on and off so this may be beyond the hotel's control.
Facilities were good. The kitchen whilst only a small corner of the living room was very well equipped. There is a shower but no bath. This was no problem for me personally. Towels are not changed in the aprtments but this was clearly pointted out when i booked
Staff were friendly and welcoming. When I had to cut short the visit due to a rail strike they were very accommodating.
The hotel is not in the central area of Siena. To get there entails a bus ride up the hill at a cost of about Euro 1.20. Bus tickets can be obtained at the news stand at the station.Buses are frequent during the day but do not run in the late evening. To get back after eating at a restaurant was about a half hour's walk. The train station is about 10 minutes walk but walking to the hotel with luggage is a trial as it involves a fairly steep hill at the end so a taxi might be better. For those with a car the hotel offers free parking. the location is also good as the hotel is near the main road which by passes the historic area and it is not necessary to negotiate the traffic limited zone.
There is a Co-Op superstore adjacent to the hotel which would fully meet the requirements of those self-catering. For eating out I would recommend L'Osteria in Via dei Rossi (the fried potatoes are to die for) and Osteria Boccon del Prete in Via di San Pietro.
Despite being near both the superstore and the railway the hotel is extremly quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Apartments do not include brakfast or changes of towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LambethNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

PROS
- Former farmhouse and buildings renovated into a wonderful hotel/resort with both hotel rooms and apartments
- Plenty of space to relax in the generous gardens, courtyards etc
- Staff were very friendly and helpful
- Our room (#6) was very nice and clean although not large, but we had a great view out over the courtyard and Sienna hills
- Great breakfast room & guest lounge decorated with old farmhouse furniture and a huge array of decorative walking sticks
- Free WiFi and guest computer
- Wonderful breakfast spread with a huge selection of local style pastries, cakes, yoghurt, fruit, salami etc
- Guest laundry available.
- Large Coop supermarket just nearby with a huge array of fresh foods. We got a selection for a picnic in the hotel gardens one evening

CONS
- Quite a long walk (30 mins) to town centre or via the local bus which was 10 mins walk to the bus-stop

Room Tip: Room #6 had a good view over the courtyard and Sienna hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynch-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were delighted by this beautiful hotel (so well maintained and perfectly manicured garden!). I really loved staying at our room which was an apartment with a living room and a charming Tuscan kitchen (very well equipped and they even provided a beautiful tablecloth and napkins that I had pity to use it!).
Loved its cozy, rustic decor and our bedroom was so big! The attention to detail was amazing (olive oil toiletries, a hand wash, a great shower, the beautiful local tableware served at breakfast). Besides the wonderful atmosphere, what really amazed us was the friendly and superb professionalism of its staff. Thank you so much Maya and Wolfgang for a wonderful stay! Maya went the extra mile to buy us a US to Europe battery adaptor plug saving our whole trip until Venice from almost not taking pics and Wolfgang thanks for your patience in helping my husband with your perfect Italian to call the tour operator twice to get the discount for our tours! If you're looking for a true Tuscan villa experience we highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tulipinha81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Borgo Grondaie is exactly as you imagine a hotel in Tuscany. It is close to the city center if you have a car. Staff is friendly. We have stayed in an apartment, very comfortable. I will definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed two nights in the apartment. It was just fantastic! Our kids didn't want to go to the City of Siena. They just wanted to play in the huge hilly garden!
We had two bed rooms and a very nice kitchen. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated.
We strongly recommend this place to a family with small kids. The big COOP was just around the corner so we cocked at the apartment and enjoyed being outside till late night while kids were in the bed. In our apartment we didn't even notice that the place was just next to the station. We didn't have any noise. Yes, this place is not in the city centre, but it worths it.
We could have stayed longer, if we had a longer vacation!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

we absolutely loved the hotel! super confortable, beautiful, clean, great heating (we were there on winter), delicious breakfast and beuatiful view from our window. it was the best hotel of our trip! just be aware that the hotel is on the top of a small hill. we were by car so it was ok. we went by foot to the old town of siena and it took 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camillagp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,403 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#10 of 40 in Siena
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $65 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing