We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind staff, great meal”
Review of Osteria del Gusto

Osteria del Gusto
Ranked #33 of 525 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Kind staff, great meal”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Lovely atmosphere, and some great meals made this restaurant memorable!
I enjoyed the pecorino cheese tart with Chianti reduction..delicious.
My husband had the chicken main, and I had veal. Both were tender and flavoursome.
Service was good.
One slight distraction for us was the radio playing in the kitchen...not Italian classics as you might have expected, but may e sports or news.
In any case, the radio did not alter the fact that we passed a thoroughly lovely night at this superb eatery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    418
    89
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, MN
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“How do you rate a restaurant just by walking by?”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We didn't actually eat at this restaurant. I discovered it when I was wandering the streets of Siena. You enter the restaurant through doors emblazoned with a large photo of two smart looking young guys (owners? Chefs?). The restaurant is located a half story below street level but has large windows so you can see the interior. Very contemporary, good looking. The menu posted outside looked excellent. The reviews I've read here attest to how good it is. This place has been burning in my brain since I returned to the States. I'm going to look for it on my next trip to Italy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank steveofoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Sublime|”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was with my boyfriend in Siena, just a couple of days ago and we have no idea where to eat our lunch. We were really avoiding those tourist traps near any tourist spots, but this place stands out! The whole place was VERY STYLISH, very modern and very clean. One might think that the food would be somewhat modern, but it was to our surprise that it was very good and so traditional in a way. None of those fusion novelle cuisine things, very no fuss, no nonsense traditional food. I love the menu of the day, it was decently priced and the service was excellent!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aedrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing ragu & meat dish!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had the set meal of the day. It was ragu and the beef in porcini sauce... mmmmm.. aaah! Was really good. Good deal for 18e as well. The ambiance was very nice, and very friendly staff. Very nice experience overall. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Decent cuisine near Duomo”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We only went here after the #2 rated restaurant told us it was fully booked for the evening. The decor here is decent and the service very good. Food was ok - I expected better. I had the percino cheese on toast starter which was rather bland. For the mains, I had the Pici with tomato, chilli and garlic. It was quite good. My wife had the Tuscan soup - which was more like a bland casserole. She wasn't able to finish it.

Overall an ok place for grub and not too pricey either.

Helpful?
Thank ArcticRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Gusto also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria del Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing