We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Tuesday Nights in Summer: Fish & Jazz”
Review of Enoteca Italiana

Enoteca Italiana
Ranked #42 of 147 things to do in Siena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique in the world, born in 1933, the Enoteca Italiana is waiting for you in the amazing seat of Medicean Fortress. The Enoteca promotes italian wines all over the world, with a cellar and a showroom with more than 1600 excellent wines from all over Italy. Winebar for wine tasting, wine selling and happy hours, restaurant, wine school and events planning are only some of Enoteca Italiana's activities.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing! Tuesday Nights in Summer: Fish & Jazz”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This restaurant was outstanding! We ate here three times during a two week span. During our second meal, the director, Andrea, invited us to the weekly fish and jazz dinner held on Tuesday nights and we were extremely impressed. For 25 Euro a person we were treated to a five course meal of exquisite and inventive cuisine. Local jazz professor Giulio put on an outstanding performance to set the mood (even playing by request) and we ate in the courtyard of the old Sienese fort with about 25 other people. Andrea was extremely friendly and an excellent host, sending us on our way with a gift of their delicious panforte to take home. Even if you can't make a summer evening fish and jazz event, do be sure to drop in for an amazing meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viau-Lawson_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    6
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Don't drop in. Perhaps only good for tour groups as others have mentioned.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a good tasting room and came across Enoteca Italiana on trip advisor. Despite what others have said about going in a group and not individually we thought we drop in and give it a try. We went around lunch time and were the only ones there likely because of the location. It is a couple of kilometers away from the core of Siena and there isn't really much else around. Nevertheless we thought we'd give it a try and I would have to echo the sentiments of the many people before us that did not go as part of a group. There was no food made available with the wine selection. They have a very limited selection of wines to try (6 red, 2 white), cellar access is not permitted, etc. Prices were $7-15 per glass and were served with a bowl of peanuts. Not quite the experience that others described. It sounds like they roll out the red carpet for groups and aren't prepared for individuals. There were only two staff members there at the time and despite being the only customers, service was slow, unfriendly, and not welcoming. There is an outdoor patio which we used but I don't know what view others are talking about. The view is of the wall of the fort. Much nicer views in the core or at other places that other sweeping views of the country side.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 14Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotecaItaliana, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Enoteca Italiana, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good morning mr. Roger.

We're really sorry for the inconveniences you have met and we will ask for clarification to our colleagues about their behaviour, even if we have to do some clarification:
- Our exhibition room is available everyday from 12 to 7pm - with the exception of some inconvenients (it's a structure of the 1500 and needs a lot of maintenance) and if privately reserved for events. After 7pm is normally not available because we think that in the evening our guests would prefer to stay in a relaxing winebar and restaurant more than in a “place to visit”. Our “real” cellar is instead in a different part of the fort and it's not something to visit simply because it's a modern, simply air-conditioned storage house.
- At the winebar we serve plates of salami of Cinta Senese and Sheep's Cheese of Pienza everyday at every hour between 12.00 and 1am, and we have also a restaurant where our guests can taste all our wines with a nice typical cuisine - open lunch and dinner.
- The daily selection of wines comprehends more than 20 wines available by the glass (8 red wines, 8 white wines, 2 Rosè wines, 2 sparkling wines, 4 dessert wines, several spirits – changed everyday and more than once per day) and the availability of more than 1600 italian wines by the bottle to drink at the place or to take away-to ship.
- The price range of the glasses of wine varies from 1,5 € (2,07 CAD) to 10 € (13,80 CAD). Of course wine is not a cheap product, even if - considering the strictly selection our National Institute makes on every single product – we think we provide a very reasonable quality/price ratio.

Said so, we sincerely hope to have you soon again as our guest to allow you to re-evaluate our structure!

Best regards,
Niccolò Petrilli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So much wine . . .”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We did not eat there, but did enjoy browsing the 1400 wines in the basement. That was probably one of the best wine selections I have ever seen. If you like wine, this is a must see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Wine, Museum, Views- Not to be Missed!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We live in NYC and drink Italian wine all the time. This museum, this comprehensive amazing museum had all the regions represented. Had amazing wine at a tasting menu- so inexpensive- changing daily- it was incredible. We liked to sit outside on the patio. We stopped by numerous days. It's inside the Fortezza Medicea. It's beautiful. Go, and at least drink a "taste" of amazing local wine for maybe 2 Euros. In NYC it would cost us $15-$35 a glass to sample these wines. This place is a jewel in Siena. Not to be missed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TallulahMae732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
“Great Pici!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went for lunch. We ate Pici and Ravioli. Pici was delicious!! (Pici is the typical pasta of Siena like thick spaghetti)
An atmosphere elegant. The wine is good!
After lunch we went to the museum that was the basement. It was interesting!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Italiana also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Enoteca Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing