We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, knowledgeable hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frances' Lodge Relais
Ranked #1 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming, knowledgeable hospitality”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with Franca and Franco, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, at this lodge just outside of Siena, with a lovely view of the city across the valley. The lodge (once upon a time the barn and limonaia for the family farm) is "elegant with touches of rustic," which befits the lodge and the heritage of this well-situated location with spacious views. The hosts are happy to provide helpful and knowledgeable guidance for getting around the area, and with pictures of their various travel destinations throughout as part of the decorative motif, you can also delve into interesing conversations about other locations too. The sumptuous and delicious breakfast, featuring local jams, yogurts, etc., was a delightful start to our days in Siena. We look forward to returning to Siena, and to Frances' Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
269
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I am copying my email to Frances at the conclusion of our visit. Think that says it all. Great place, great location. I would say it is best enjoyed with a car. WE used it as a base to explore Chianti and other hill towns. Here's my note:

Just wanted to thank you and Franco for your wonderful hospitality on Deborah and my recent stay with you. Thank you so much for the bottle of prosecco in our room to celebrate my birthday on May 5th. I am embarrassed that I believe I forgot to thank you for that.

Everything was wonderful and you and Franco were perfect hosts. Franco is a great tour guide. We enjoyed talking with him and planning our trips into the countryside. You were correct when You told me when booking that we needed to stay longer than 3 days. Perhaps we will have the opportunity to return see more of your beautiful country and enjoy staying with you at Frances Lodge.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ohioriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Frances' Lodge in March 2013 as part of our European honeymoon adventure. It was definitely our favorite part of the 3 week trip and we only wish we would have planned to stay longer. Franco and Franca truly made our stay a delight. Breakfast was filling and a delicious start to the day. They were very helpful with directions and provided us itineraries for our days when requested. Franco was also very helpful when we ran into a snag with our car rental (our travel agent had booked it out of Milan?). The rooms were clean and comfortable and the view was spectacular. We used their laundry service, at an additional cost, which I would gladly pay again to have our laundry smelling that lovely. Every time after that, when we pulled a new clothing item from the suitcase, we would sigh and say 'it smells like Siena...'

My only complaint was that we hadn't booked more time!! We would like to plan to go back for one of our anniversaries in the future...Truly a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aefid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We just completed a wonderful stay at the Frances' Lodge near Siena. The owners provide an incredible experience as they see to every detail with genuine enthusiasm and passion. Franco and Frances met us on our arrival, gave us a tour of the property and had us quickly settled in for our five night stay. They offer unlimited detail about the history of the area, favorite restaurants and the best driving tour routes in the region. We did a two hour tour in Siena, with our hosts able to book the tour and sell us the tickets at the lodge. The breakfasts are the best we have had anywhere in our three weeks in Italy so far on this trip, with home made croissants right out of the oven, eggs to order, bacon, home made jams, yogurt and other fine offerings. The warm atmosphere of the main lodge, as well as the spacious grounds, provide a genuine rural experience behind the privacy of an entry gate, while the city of Siena is in full view across a small valley. Although they do not have internet access in any of the six rooms, there is a very comfortable and large guest lounge near the rooms with wireless access that is quite fast. This accommodation is a wonderful place, but the owners make it a truly special stay. We left wishing we could take them with us!

Room Tip: We were in the yellow room, which is spacious, has three windows and a nice cross breeze if desired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hosts Franco and Franca are amazingly knowledgable of the region and can set up guided tours, wine tastings and pretty much anything else you would like to do in Tuscany.

All of their recommendations were spot on and Franco can direct you to your destination with such precision, you'd think you we're from the area! We rented a car and did day trips all over the Senese region.

I will stay here again on my next trip to the area. You should too!

Room Tip: Rooms are all amazing and unique. If you can take the junior suite in the pigeon coop. It is beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbotchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had been travelling around Europe in a relatively budget 2-3 star hotels decided to splurge when we got to Siena. And it was well worth it! We originally wanted the white room but was unfortunately booked out and chose the yellow room instead. The room was cute and very clean. There was 2 big shower heads side by side each other which made it very luxurious. The bed was big and good quality which gave us really good sleeps.
The lodge is a bit secluded which meant the views were amazing.
I would recommend hiring a car to get around or even a vesper.
The breakfast each morning was to die for. The amount of selections they had was unbelievable.
This place would truly blow you away!!!
Frances and Franco were truly great hosts and so accommodating to your every needs. They have the highest of high quality service you can imagine. So friendly and warm too.
I have recommended this place to my family and friends!
P.s we stayed here in sep2011

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moshimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Franco and Frances provided incredible hospitality. This property is absolutely stunning. Franco grew up here and you can see the love that he and Frances put into it. The breakfasts in the garden were extraordinary - outstanding food, gracious hospitality, beautiful surroundings. It was like a dream come true. The gardens are lovingly tended - lemon trees, roses, jasmine.

Phil and I delighted in finding our own private spot - two lounge chairs overlooking the town of Siena, just beyond the pool, enjoying a bottle of wine after a swim, watching the sun go down, reviewing the highlights of our day and anticipating our dinner plans for the evening.

We stayed in the Moroccan minisuite June 3-6. This room has two levels with the bedroom on the second level.

We chose not to rent a car and used taxis and the bus / walking to get back and forth to Siena. This was the only downside of the location but it was well worth the views and the total experience that Frances and Franco deliver.

We loved Frances' lemon marmalade.

If you are visiting Siena, plan ahead and book a room at Frances' Lodge. We loved our experience there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.6 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castello delle Quattro Torra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frances' Lodge Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frances' Lodge Relais

Property: Frances' Lodge Relais
Address: Strada di Val di Pugna 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frances’ Lodge is a loverly restored country guest home set on a hill across from Siena. Its unbelievable view looks out over the old walled city from the top of a beautiful hilltop. It is here that, since the start of the 18th century, noble families of Siena kept their “villa”—the country house where they summered from May to November, to get away from the heat of the city and to watch over the harvests from their farm holdings; and here the Owners restored the 1853' largest "Limonaia" overlooking the Historical Garden, as part of a fascinating, rich of History, wonderful Estate, belonging to the same Family since quite 3 centuries.The commanding position of the house with its 360-degree panoramic views, the closeness to the city(only 1.8 km.—little more than a mile—as the crow flies), the silence and peace of being in the open countryside just outside the city walls... all of these features await you as soon as you pass through the gates, enter the lovely driveway, and behold the incredible view of Siena’s skyline amid vineyards, fruit orchards, and olive groves. You’ll be revived by sounds that busier parts of the world have forgotten: birds chirping, cicadas singing in summer, the wind blowing through the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Frances' Lodge Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frances` Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing