We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Athena

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Athena
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

booking a hotel online is sometimes a hit and miss affair. However, we were delighted with our choice. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were lovely and the breakfast above average for Italy.
There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a Safe. They even put a complimentary bottle of wine (with opener). The location is excellent. Just a short stroll (5/10 minutes) to the centre of the city. Ask the hotel for recommended restaurants. The one we used on the first night was terrific.
Check out the little terrace they have. You can enjoy a drink there or simply take in the wonderful views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dumbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear dumbo56,

Thank you very much for your review. Your words get us the possibility to improve our service and to let know the people how, the relationship with the guests, is important for us.

The Hotel is definitely close by all the main attractions and give to the guests the possibility to leave the car into our garage and “just” walk is really a great service from our point of view.

Sir, feel free to contact us again to make your next reservation and check our website, many special offers are waiting for you, especially for the next fall approaching.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    973
    239
    54
    45
See reviews for
542
1,792
70
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, N.Y.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We traveled here for 2 nights with kids and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is clean and comfortable and a short 5-10 minute walk to all sights. Breakfast was good and there is a rooftop terrace overlooking beautiful Tuscany which we visited several times. The staff were very helpful and attentive and arranged for dinner at wonderful restaurants. This is a highly recommended very reasonably priced hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bluestraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Bluestrav,

Let me send to you our big thank you from all our staff for your incisive words. We’re so happy to realize that your stay with us was “great” and that you appreciated all our services. The best result for us is make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible. We like to take part on the construction of a beautiful memories.

Let me send you our sincerely thank you once again and we’re waiting to host you soon again. Just check out SPECIAL OFFER web page.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel for its amazing view and location. The folks who run it were all so nice and welcoming. We felt like they were all ambassadors of this great town, and they really cared that we enjoyed our visit. (We did!) I will say there's not much to brag about regarding the room itself, but it was extremely clean, very comfortable and it served us well! We were so busy seeing Siena that we didn't spend much time in the room anyhow. Do your best to get a room with a view. The view is so great that I'd sleep in a tent just to get it! If you want a room inside the old city walls, a good value, great location and pleasant room... check out this one!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! That's the best part of this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandJimM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Kim & Jim,

Such a great and exhaustive review! I think your words can be so helpful for all the travelers who are planning to stay in Siena and to whom I recommend to stay with us.

All our staff of the front desk wants to send you his special thank you for all the appreciations.

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us, we’ll be so glad to help you planning your next trip to Tuscany

Kind Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and we had a really nice stay. Very good service. The room we had was very nice: Size above average, small bathroom, very clean and the view was spectacular!!

If you happen to stay at Hotel Athena, ask for a room on the 7th floor, specifically room 710-712-714 or the one we had 716. Those rooms have a small balcony with a unbelievable view on the tuscany landscape. part of the view the Siena with the edge of the fortification, the balance is a no-end view of the beautiful italian nature.

Breakfast was ok, it's a little buffet. We've seen better in our stay in Rome and florence but it's still pretty decent. Like any other hotel in Italy, you can order a real cappucino instead of using the coffee machine.

All in all, if you go to Siena, don't waste your time to search for an hotel, this one suits all need for a good price.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Benoit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Benoit,

Thank you, thank you and thank you again for your beautiful words. We all remained very impressed by your comment, full of details, and we’re all very proud to have worked for you.
Thank you twice for point up that our beautiful Delue rooms with view are spectacular!

Feel free to contact us whenever you desire and we’re all waiting for your return to Siena….it’s a quite long journey from Canada, I know! Here you’ll always find a warm and friendly people doing their best to make your vacation wonderful as much as possible.

Warmest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and it was a good experience. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the Dome, so very convenient. It has parking and wifi service, always something good to have.

The rooms are ok, very spacious, a little dated, but very comfortable. Bathrooms are too small and showers too, but for a short stay, it is ok. The service is really good and the breakfast is way above average, tons of options.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariocrosswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear mariocros,

This is a wonderful review! Thank you that you spent a time to write your feedback!

We are happy that you appreciated hotel Athena and their location in the historical centre of Siena, the delicious breakfast and all our service.

For your next trip in Siena, contact us for information and visit our web site where you can find very special deals like the ROMAITIC PACKAGE.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel was easy to find from the directions. Of course, I have always been good with directions. Plus they had a sign on the hotel, so when I drove past it................. :). They had a car park. Use a small car if you want to go in the garage.

The front desk staff were polite and very helpful. My broken Italian was not as good as their English. Their restaurant was popular, and it filled up on a Saturday night. The service was excellent. The food was overall pretty good. The hotel puts on a great breakfast.

The room we got was on the 6th floor. It was comfortable, a nice bed, a small desk, a nice armoire.
They knew we were having our anniversary, and made a towel heart, and sprinkled a lot of chocolates wrapped in red foil. The hotel has decent wi-fi.

The location is inside the wall and is less than a 10 minute walk to the main square and gorgeous cathedral. If you are there on a Sunday, you can see the drummers parade through town.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: 6th floor seems nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Kathy,

We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, all our staff wants to send you his heartfelt and huge thank you very much for your words.

We are very happy to see that we take part in the building of your city break and that it was great!

Don’t hesitate to contact us for everything you need and check our website, it’s a very good way to know news and events in Siena for your next vacation.


Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Athena for 3 days recently. The hotel is in a good location, with lovely views of the Tuscan countryside from our room on the 6th floor. (we did ask for a room with country views and not one overlooking the street). Our room was a superior one which was large and comfortable. Shower was over the bath which was adequate but if you have mobility problems climbing over the bathtub to have a shower would not be good). This is my only slightly negative point, everything else was very good. Would return here again. Nice clean hotel within easy walking distance to the sights. Pleasant bar on the terrace rooftop where you can enjoy a drink.

Room Tip: 6th or 7th floor rooms are good. Ask for countryside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidazeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear HolidazadeL,

Let us send you our big thank you for your review and for the time you spent talking about your experience with us.
All the comments are very important for us because they give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We appreciate that you have been delighted by your beautiful, large and clean Executive room overlooking the Tuscan hills. Yes we upgraded your room from a superior (which has no view) to an Executive Large room. It’s an unique and unforgettable experience.

We’re looking forward to see you soon at our hotel and for your next stay with us I recommend you to check our website where you can find many special offers and big deals designed for every needs.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.0 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing