We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tasman, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A lovely hotel located conveniently within the walls and with its own parking! Superb for us as we were based in Siena exploring the region. Our room on the 7th floor had excellent views across the valley and up to the town. The room was spacious, always perfectly cleaned and had all the expected facilities of an excellent hotel. Staff were superbly courteous and friendly. Breakfast was very good and the dinner menu was good if a bit repetitive (designed for people on short stays I guess). The same room was used for breakfast and dinner so the atmosphere was a bit lacking in the evening hence we ate out most nights. Nevertheless, we'd definitely stay here again. (Be aware the walk into town is short but uphill - not surprising given it's Siena!)

Room Tip: Executive rooms on seventh floor are larger and ask for a room with a view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjG2649DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for using part of your time sharing your experience with us….your review is amazing!

We are so proud and happy to see that you enjoyed in full our hotel, from the delicious breakfast to the ideal location. I remember that during the summer time is possible to have a dinner up on the panoramic terrace, to have a meal under the stars.

Do not hesitate to come back soon and check our website full of special offers and escapes.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    1,025
    254
    58
    47
See reviews for
573
1,889
72
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The Athena is beautiful and the views breathtaking! From the moment of check - in (staff spoke clear English) to the complimentary water & wine, to the comfortable room. The food and service in the resturant were exemplary! I give the Athena 5 stars!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Beth,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about your experience with us is very important for us.
We appreciated you liked and enjoyed the beautiful view from the panoramic terrace.

We are also happy that you have appreciated our front desk staff, always very proefssional and so attentive.
.
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming, nothing was a trouble. We had trouble parking our car, no problem they took the keys and resolved that one. The room and the views were fabulous. Everything in the hotel is spotlessly clean.
We ate in the restaurant the first night, the choice and quality of food was superb and the service was engaging, friendly and efficient.
Breakfast is a buffet with so much fresh choice we stayed for 3 nights and found something new each day to taste.
There is an outside terrace on the 7th floor, a brilliant way to chill before dinner
The hotel is so well situated we left the car and walked everywhere

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Wendy,

We loved receive a review like this one!
Thank you, and thank you twice for all your appreciations.

All the staff is so proud for the great job done and they want to send you his personal thank you and their warm hug. If we exceeded your expectations you did the same with your review!

We hope you had a very nice trip going back home and at the same time we hope to host you soon again here in town, maybe for the next fall.


Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I am very particular about hotels, and Hotel Athena exceeded my expectations. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfectly set on the edge of town making day trips with a car effortless. Also, you are within a 5 minute walk of the main Piazza and the Cathedral. The views are splendid if you're on a good level on a good side of the building.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with all of the amenities. The bathroom has an outlet with 110/220 Euro/US connectivity which is always a nice surprise when you're misplaced your power converter.

I would definitely return to this hotel, and recommend to family and friends. It had the amenities and services of a metropolitan hotel, while maintaining small-town charm.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms facing south have double doors that open to railing with splendid views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Marco,

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel and your experience with us, and let me tell you, such an experience!!

Thanks to underline every point of strength as the perfect location inside the city center, the great view from our deluxe rooms and terrace and the quality of our services!

We wait for you for the next season, don’t’ forget to book through our website.
#AthenaSiena

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Driving through Sienna the hotel Athena was a welcome sight .Spotlessly clean the reception staff could not have been more helpful. Having driven through a no go zone they were ever so helpful in ringing authorities and all our questions answered. A short pleasant walk to the town Centre return in to the rooftop terrace where you could enjoy a drink and the spectacular view. Highly recommended by both my husband and I.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Maria,

greetings from Siena! We’re so glad to read your words and all the staff wants to send you his personal thank you for the time spent reviewing your experience with us.

As we usually underline our hotel is perfectly located inside the city walls and this situation give to the guests the opportunity to discover the city without the stress of driving, even saving some money for the parking as well.

Let us send you our thanks very much once again and we’re waiting for you in Siena and at Hotel Athena. Follow us on facebook where you can even book your next stay with us.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This Hotel I suppose is wonderful if you get a deluxe room with a view. However, the standard rooms are below the lobby with absolutely no view other than of a parking lot. The first night we were placed in a room next to the restaurant and we were awakened the next morning before 7am by rolling carts, slamming of dishes and pots, and loud talking. If you are assigned room # 420, my suggestion is that you refuse it! The staff was helpful in that when I complained, we were moved to a room down the hall which was away from the restaurants and quieter.

The rooms were small but clean and well appointed. The staff was very pleasant but unfortunately, the concierge arranged for us to rent an automatic car from Europecar but after paying €18 to get to the car rental, we were told there were no automatic cars available even though we had emphasized to the concierge that we must have an automatic. That was very frustrating and cost us a lot of time, money and aggregation.

The location is immediately entering the city walls and is walking distance to the center if you don't mind walking a lot. The 7th floor terrace is beautiful but DON'T order the pizza. It's a tiny, frozen, and poor tasting but not inexpensive. All in all, I probably will not ever stay at the hotel Athena again although I certainly plan on returning to Siena.

Room Tip: Refuse room 420! Don't bother to stay here unless you get a delux room. The corner rooms are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Ana,

Thank you very much anyway for your review. We’re so happy to realize that you liked Tuscany and that you enjoyed your holiday, We like to believe anyhow that we had a special role on it. Reading your review I can only see negatives….I hope there had been much more on your vacation.

Unfortunately we remained a bit sad reading your words because our restaurant and our staff is really very attentive to the rest of the guests and at 7 AM we have just 2 servers on duty.

By the way, the pizzas at the bar they are tiny pizzas because they are served as snack for an aperitivo, in Italy we do not eat pizza for lunch or dinner at the bars, now way, we go to the pizzeria. The standard rooms have no view as it is very well indicated all over the web places.

Even the people isn’t come yet to our hotel knows that just the deluxe rooms have the countryside view, I’m sorry if you discovered it writing the review on tripadvisor.

Anyway, I regret if something went wrong and I can just say, give to Siena a second chance, and give a second chance to our hotel that, as you can read, is very well appreciated.

We all hope to see you soon again in Siena and here at our hotel and next time you’ll be here will be an honor to arrange a beautiful deluxe room facing the Tuscan hills.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed oat the Athena in April in early spring. We had a deluxe room, and the view was beautiful. We looked out over an olive grove, and had views of the wall around Siena. We were told the rooms were recently renovated, and they were clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was good, we were able to walk to the center of town without any problem. The staff was so helpful and friendly, advising us what to see given our limited time in town. ( We stayed one night). The breakfast buffet was good, and the servers were more than happy to assist us in any way. The terrace was a beautiful place to have a drink and enjoy the view. I truly enjoyed our experience here.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a Deluxe room with a view. We were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear dwert5,

Such a great review! I think your words can be so helpful for all the travelers who are planning to stay in Siena and to whom I recommend to stay with us.

All our staff from the kitchen crew to the front desk wants to send you his special thank you for all the appreciations. As you pointed out just the deluxe rooms have a view overlooking the countryside. An unforgettable experience.

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us, we’ll be so glad to help you planning your next trip to Tuscany

Kind Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
657 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing