We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Athena
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Claudia(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,517)
Filter reviews
3,517 results
Traveler rating
2,021
1,096
284
64
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,021
1,096
284
64
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace barfree parkingseventh floordeluxe roominside the city wallseconomy roomtuscan countrysidefront desk staffhotel restaurantpiazza del campowithin the wallsshort walkthe hotel staffbeautiful viewold citylovely hotelloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
922 - 927 of 3,517 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This Hotel I suppose is wonderful if you get a deluxe room with a view. However, the standard rooms are below the lobby with absolutely no view other than of a parking lot. The first night we were placed in a room next to the restaurant and we were awakened the next morning before 7am by rolling carts, slamming of dishes and pots, and loud talking. If you are assigned room # 420, my suggestion is that you refuse it! The staff was helpful in that when I complained, we were moved to a room down the hall which was away from the restaurants and quieter.

The rooms were small but clean and well appointed. The staff was very pleasant but unfortunately, the concierge arranged for us to rent an automatic car from Europecar but after paying €18 to get to the car rental, we were told there were no automatic cars available even though we had emphasized to the concierge that we must have an automatic. That was very frustrating and cost us a lot of time, money and aggregation.

The location is immediately entering the city walls and is walking distance to the center if you don't mind walking a lot. The 7th floor terrace is beautiful but DON'T order the pizza. It's a tiny, frozen, and poor tasting but not inexpensive. All in all, I probably will not ever stay at the hotel Athena again although I certainly plan on returning to Siena.

Room Tip: Refuse room 420! Don't bother to stay here unless you get a delux room. The corner rooms are sunnier and brighter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Ana,

Thank you very much anyway for your review. We’re so happy to realize that you liked Tuscany and that you enjoyed your holiday, We like to believe anyhow that we had a special role on it. Reading your review I can only see negatives….I hope there had been much more on your vacation.

Unfortunately we remained a bit sad reading your words because our restaurant and our staff is really very attentive to the rest of the guests and at 7 AM we have just 2 servers on duty.

By the way, the pizzas at the bar they are tiny pizzas because they are served as snack for an aperitivo, in Italy we do not eat pizza for lunch or dinner at the bars, now way, we go to the pizzeria. The standard rooms have no view as it is very well indicated all over the web places.

Even the people isn’t come yet to our hotel knows that just the deluxe rooms have the countryside view, I’m sorry if you discovered it writing the review on tripadvisor.

Anyway, I regret if something went wrong and I can just say, give to Siena a second chance, and give a second chance to our hotel that, as you can read, is very well appreciated.

We all hope to see you soon again in Siena and here at our hotel and next time you’ll be here will be an honor to arrange a beautiful deluxe room facing the Tuscan hills.

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed oat the Athena in April in early spring. We had a deluxe room, and the view was beautiful. We looked out over an olive grove, and had views of the wall around Siena. We were told the rooms were recently renovated, and they were clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was good, we were able to walk to the center of town without any problem. The staff was so helpful and friendly, advising us what to see given our limited time in town. ( We stayed one night). The breakfast buffet was good, and the servers were more than happy to assist us in any way. The terrace was a beautiful place to have a drink and enjoy the view. I truly enjoyed our experience here.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a Deluxe room with a view. We were not disappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear dwert5,

Such a great review! I think your words can be so helpful for all the travelers who are planning to stay in Siena and to whom I recommend to stay with us.

All our staff from the kitchen crew to the front desk wants to send you his special thank you for all the appreciations. As you pointed out just the deluxe rooms have a view overlooking the countryside. An unforgettable experience.

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us, we’ll be so glad to help you planning your next trip to Tuscany

Kind Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Family run hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely view from the room (on 7th floor). Location is ideal inside the city walls. Only slight disappointment was breakfast- coffee from an old machine that tasted like dishwater and not the best selection of food (bacon was very underdone and everything else generally unappealing) - not great so I didn't bother on the second morning and grabbed a lovely pastry at a bakery - consider opting for room only if you have the choice.

Other than that I couldn't fault the friendly professional
Service. I would stay again on a room only basis.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stezenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your contribution and thank you to point out the quality of our executive rooms with countryside view (extra paying). Overall I want to consider your comment as a good one even if you explained very clearly your personal opinion about the breakfast buffet: I don’t think you could find a great bacon & scrambled eggs or a full English breakfast at the lovely pastry downtown, isn’t it? The waiters at the breakfast buffet are there to take the orders for espresso, caffè latte or cappuccino freshly made and free of charge, why didn’t you request one of them to the waiters as everybody usually do?

Anyway, all the comments and all the opinions are well accepted and they give us the strength to improve our services day by day, let me just end this response that “generally unappealing” is not a valuable comment moreover if you dare to advise to avoid the breakfast at all.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We only spent one night at Hotel Athena but I'm sure we made the right choice. It's in a very convenient location, very easy to get to by car as we did. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout, putting our bags in our room for us when we were out as we arrived too early to check in. They pointed out all the best places to go in Siena too. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with a nice private balcony and a modern bathroom. The only slight issue was the soundproofing: we could hear the TV next door very clearly. The breakfast was generous and offered a lot of choice, and we enjoyed a nice (great value) drink on the terrace. All in all a pleasant experience for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank km22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear km22_12,

We all remember you and and we did really enjoyed your company and I hope you did as well! We're so glad to see that you liked and enjoyed all our services, from the delightful breakfast to the large and comfy rooms.

We're so happy to had taken part on your vacation and we hope to see you soon again in Siena, why not during the winter time when all the lights of Siena shine in the fog, giving to the city the ancient medieval splendor.

Kindest regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Athena on our tour of Tuscany. The staff were more than friendly and very helpful. The room we had was adequate in size, although some of the others on our tour complained that their room was very small. The room was updated, clean and comfortable. The food we had for breakfast was excellent each morning. We had free Internet but it was of poor quality and we could do little more than send basic email messages.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small, could b e a problem if you are claustrophobic.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Rick,

Thank you very much for your review. Your words make us feel so good and at the same time thay gave us the strenght to improve our services.

We're so happy to realize that everything had been as your expectations. I'd like to point out just one thing:the wifi service works properly but up and download speed depends strongly to the traffic, so there can be a time when you can download very quickly.

For your next stay with us try one of our special offer on our website!

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews