We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and clean”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and clean”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed oat the Athena in April in early spring. We had a deluxe room, and the view was beautiful. We looked out over an olive grove, and had views of the wall around Siena. We were told the rooms were recently renovated, and they were clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was good, we were able to walk to the center of town without any problem. The staff was so helpful and friendly, advising us what to see given our limited time in town. ( We stayed one night). The breakfast buffet was good, and the servers were more than happy to assist us in any way. The terrace was a beautiful place to have a drink and enjoy the view. I truly enjoyed our experience here.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a Deluxe room with a view. We were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear dwert5,

Such a great review! I think your words can be so helpful for all the travelers who are planning to stay in Siena and to whom I recommend to stay with us.

All our staff from the kitchen crew to the front desk wants to send you his special thank you for all the appreciations. As you pointed out just the deluxe rooms have a view overlooking the countryside. An unforgettable experience.

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us, we’ll be so glad to help you planning your next trip to Tuscany

Kind Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,862
    1,034
    255
    59
    48
See reviews for
581
1,910
72
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Family run hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely view from the room (on 7th floor). Location is ideal inside the city walls. Only slight disappointment was breakfast- coffee from an old machine that tasted like dishwater and not the best selection of food (bacon was very underdone and everything else generally unappealing) - not great so I didn't bother on the second morning and grabbed a lovely pastry at a bakery - consider opting for room only if you have the choice.

Other than that I couldn't fault the friendly professional
Service. I would stay again on a room only basis.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stezenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your contribution and thank you to point out the quality of our executive rooms with countryside view (extra paying). Overall I want to consider your comment as a good one even if you explained very clearly your personal opinion about the breakfast buffet: I don’t think you could find a great bacon & scrambled eggs or a full English breakfast at the lovely pastry downtown, isn’t it? The waiters at the breakfast buffet are there to take the orders for espresso, caffè latte or cappuccino freshly made and free of charge, why didn’t you request one of them to the waiters as everybody usually do?

Anyway, all the comments and all the opinions are well accepted and they give us the strength to improve our services day by day, let me just end this response that “generally unappealing” is not a valuable comment moreover if you dare to advise to avoid the breakfast at all.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We only spent one night at Hotel Athena but I'm sure we made the right choice. It's in a very convenient location, very easy to get to by car as we did. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout, putting our bags in our room for us when we were out as we arrived too early to check in. They pointed out all the best places to go in Siena too. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with a nice private balcony and a modern bathroom. The only slight issue was the soundproofing: we could hear the TV next door very clearly. The breakfast was generous and offered a lot of choice, and we enjoyed a nice (great value) drink on the terrace. All in all a pleasant experience for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear km22_12,

We all remember you and and we did really enjoyed your company and I hope you did as well! We're so glad to see that you liked and enjoyed all our services, from the delightful breakfast to the large and comfy rooms.

We're so happy to had taken part on your vacation and we hope to see you soon again in Siena, why not during the winter time when all the lights of Siena shine in the fog, giving to the city the ancient medieval splendor.

Kindest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Athena on our tour of Tuscany. The staff were more than friendly and very helpful. The room we had was adequate in size, although some of the others on our tour complained that their room was very small. The room was updated, clean and comfortable. The food we had for breakfast was excellent each morning. We had free Internet but it was of poor quality and we could do little more than send basic email messages.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small, could b e a problem if you are claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Rick,

Thank you very much for your review. Your words make us feel so good and at the same time thay gave us the strenght to improve our services.

We're so happy to realize that everything had been as your expectations. I'd like to point out just one thing:the wifi service works properly but up and download speed depends strongly to the traffic, so there can be a time when you can download very quickly.

For your next stay with us try one of our special offer on our website!

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Located at the edge of this walled city, Hotel Athena is homey rather than fancy. The staff (Tamara and Massimo) were most helpful and informative about restaurants and side trips into the Tuscany countryside. Our room was large with a gorgeous view of the city (other rooms had views of the Tuscany vineyards). The terrace has views of the city and countryside and a wonderful place to relax. Our room was above the terrace but we heard no noise. The hotel is about a 10 minute uphill slow walk to the Duomo but there are bus stops nearby. Breakfast was good but gone by 9:30 a.m. Be sure to get good directions to get to the hotel; our GPS took us the long route which is more challenging because of the narrow roads and one way streets. Parking was free and if there are no obvious spots left, the hotel will park the car for you. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2VeteranTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear 2VeteranT,

Thank you so much from all the Hotel Athena’s Staff for your beautiful words about your stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to realize that we had taken part in the construction of our holiday’s guests.

As you underlined, you can enjoy the beautiful view of the roofs of Siena from your deluxe room as from our panoramic terrace where you can eat, drink or just relax watching the Tuscan hills. It’s an experience you can’t miss! Let me just point out that our breakfast closes his doors at 10:30, not earlier.

Let us send you our big thank you once again for your review and if you’ll definitely stay with us again we’ll be definitely ready to provide you the best service as ever. Why don't like us on facebook? Get update about Siena events!

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a good hotel to stay with your family if you visit Siena. We stayed there one night in June with our daugther and we loved it. We stayed at the 5 floor and the room was recently renewed, everything smell like new.
If you visit Siena I suggest you to stay in this hotel, lunch at Gino Cacino and dinner at the hotel restaurant located on the top floor, very romantic and great view.
The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morena2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear morena2,

This is a great review! Thank you for your words. We all remained very well impressed by your comment.

In fact our hotel just had some renovation works in a standard rooms floor and everything smell like brand new!.

we don't see the time to host you soon again!n While you're waiting to come back just follow us on twitter. #AthenaSiena

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worminghall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is fabulous. We stayed for 3 nights and everything was excellent. Sipping Prosecco at the terrace bar with its views over the Tuscan countryside is a memory that will stay with me for years to come!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sheila,

All our staff is really proud for the job done and we want to share with you our happiness to realize that we took part in the building of you beautiful holiday and that you are back home with a really good memory of us.

The best result for us is make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible. It is so satisfactory to read that we helped you to enjoy Siena much more thanks to our suggestions and recommendations . That’s great!

Let me send you our sincerely thank you once again and we’re waiting to host you soon again.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
662 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing