We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in Siena”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spacious and gracious environment. Sparklingly clean and comfortable.The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, Free parking which is necessary in Siena if you have a car as parking charges can be high. The roof terrace is a lovely way to wind down with a Prosecco in hand before dinner.On arrival there were 2 complimentary bottles of water and a bottle of chianti with biscotti on the desk and a chocolate on the pillow. Breakfast was a treat with a hot option of bacon, scrambled eggs and cheese and ham flan alongside 3 different sorts of croissants, etc.
We felt very pampered.

Room Tip: Our room was economy, on the brochure it stated that there was no view, but being on floor 5 we over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Marilyn,

Well well well…..now I’m really in trouble. I don’t know what to say, let me tell you just that this is what we are working for!

We work hard to give an experience to our guests not just a good treatment, we want to be a good memory and we would like to see the people come back again to our hotel, to become friend of them. Well, I think we did it so with you.

I’m not going to point out anything, you did a great job instead of me and from all of us a huge hug from Siena. Follow us on twitter #AthenaSiena

See you soon

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 3,403 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. (Set us up with a great driver to take us touring outside Siena). While the room was small, it is very up-to-date. Be prepared to walk uphill to the main parts of Siena, but if you don't like that, you wouldn't be coming to Siena - the whole town is up and down little streets - and it's wonderful. The breakfast is very good with many selections. They also have a patio on the 7th floor that is great to hang out at, have a drink and take in the lovely Tuscan countryside. Bed was very comfy. The price was very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbean Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear carribbean....
wow...wish to be there!


Let us send you our big thank you for your review and for the time you spent talking about your experience with us. All the comments are very important for us because they give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We appreciate that you have been delighted by our fresh and typical breakfast buffet, in fact our Chef and all the kitchen's staff is always on duty to give every day a different taste to offer to the guests.

We’re looking forward to see you soon at our hotel and for your next stay with us I recommend you to check our website where you can find many special offers and big deals designed for every needs.

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

For our first stay in Siena, the Athena was just perfect.Friendly and efficient staff who went out of their way to "make a plan" when asked to, comfortable and clean rooms with the added bonus of a balcony with suberb views. The best breakfast we had anywhere in Italy during our two week stay. And the roof top bar and the wonderful barman was the best way to finish off each day. The fact that we could walk to all the restaurant and into the centre was also a great advantage. Will definately be back the next time we visit

Room Tip: the rooms with the balcony( of which i believe there are only three) were wonderfull, altough i do b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokey128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Smokey128,

This is a great review! Thank you for your words. We all remained very well impressed by your comment.

In fact our hotel offers to all the guests a really perfect location inside the city walls, with free parking lot and just 500 mt to the main attractions. BTW the chef, who is so shy, wants to thank you personally for the compliments.

We're happy to see that you appreciated it!we don't see the time to host you soon again!.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Athena in May. This was our first trip to Siena, and we would love to return someday. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with all the amenities one could desire. And the view!! We were stunned by the panoramic view of the Tuscan hillsides from our window. If you unable to get a room with this view, do take note that you can still enjoy it from the terrace. We arrived by bus from Rome and walked from the bus stop to the hotel (about 20 minutes). We chose to do this rather than take a taxi so that we could immediately begin an introductory exploration of the town. We were warmly welcomed by the staff who gave us maps and information about activities in the area. Once settled in our room, we took the 10 minute stroll back into town.There is so much to see and experience in Siena! Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent with great service. We started each day with a good breakfast focusing on the more traditional local foods. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0Loulouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Loulouk,

Thank you very much for your kind review with all those wonderful information that you have written regarding overall the location of the hotel, really few steps away from the main attractions.

Next time you'll visit us do it on summer time when you can to try again our restaurant but in his beutiful location up on the panoramic terrace, shall be a great experience. We hope to see you on your next holidays in Siena: feel free to contact us and we will give to you a better quotation for your stay in Hotel Athena! That's the most convenient way ever!
Remember that you can even book a museum's tickets through our website.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Overall, one of the best run hotels I have ever been in. The staff and the accommodations were superb. The roof bar was such a great way to end the day and the breakfast was more than I could have imagined. Would love to go back and would stay there without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear SB1644,

You left us literally speechless, let me thank you first to use part of your time sharing your opinion about us online and thank you twice for all your compliments that refund us all the effort done to guarantee a prefect stay to everyone.

In fact our breakfast buffet is so good and respect every needs and every way to start the day. Just try it!

Don’t wait too much and check our website full of special offers an packages, for your next stay, maybe for leisure, we’ll confirm you the best treatment ever.


Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We are staying here now and eager to sing this lovely hotel's praises. The rooms are impeccably designed and appointed -- both aesthetically and practically, from the classy fixtures, clean lines, warm colors, and comfy bed, right down to the well placed hooks. And the staff is very professional. The location is great -- on the edge of the city wall where you can see beautiful sunsets over the rolling hills of vineyards and olive trees from the room or, better, the rooftop bar. It's really perfect.

Btw we are staying here now in a standard room (5th floor on far end) that actually has a lovely view out the back over the old wall. Re price, we did much better by going directly to the hotel website. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TimothyBeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear pipeface,

thank you for your great review and thank you twice for accurately describe the room where you stayed. The 4 stars are even in those details.

Thank you also for point out that book through our website is the best way to reserve, for service (breakfast ALWAYS included), for convenience (NOT prepaid in any case), for economic reasons (best rate guaranteed).

Btw, the room you stayed in had a beautiful view just because we upgraded you….;-)

From all our staff a big thank you once again and we wait your return to Siena.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in May and found it delightful. Room was clean and modern. We had a room overlooking the street, not facing the spectacular view, but still it was most pleasant. Except for some busy times, even the street was relatively quiet. It was a thrill to open the door/window and listen to the chirping birds and see some of the Tuscan countryside. The terrazzo was so peaceful on a nice day with a spectacular vista and bar service - aaaah. Location is a few blocks from city center.
The hotel restaurant was superb, not only for breakfast but for dinner. We ate there for dinner to avoid finding a place in town and were so impressed with the food quality and presentation. The restaurant staff was so friendly and professional that by the end of our stay they felt like family - Thanks!
If we visit Siena again, we will stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the street. The views must be magnificent, and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helo-papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear halo papa,

such a great review, we remained speechless reading your words….Our Chef did it for sure ;-)
I think there won’t be a better review…..let’s see if someone denies me!!

We’re happy to see that you appreciated your room that was not a standard one just because we just upgraded you….:-)

Anyhow, what are you waiting for? Just book your next stay in the best part of Tuscany and reserve your table at the Mangia restaurant here at the hotel, the food is great indeed as you described.

See you soon on the Athena’s Facebook page

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
778 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
694 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#10 of 40 in Siena
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $76 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing