We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moscow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in the hotel 5-8 January during our vocation in Italy, floor 8, superior room.
We were driving around Italy and one of the pluses of the hotel was very convenient free parking.
Hotel is located 10-15 minutes walk from the city center, but i don't think that you could find anything with free parking closer to the center.
It is a good quality hotel, reasonably equipped, clean, good standard breakfast - overall a very nice location to enjoy beautiful city of Sienna.
I would recommend to ask for a room on a higher floors as it seems like lower floors lack sunshine ans it is humid there (as the hotel is literally build withing the rock wall from one side).
As for useful tips - if you need there are couple of laundries very close (coin ( 3 EURO) and served), which is useful after the long road trip.
Wi Fi is free of charge , although not very stable - again, i think it is a result of Sienna typography ( hills and rock walls).
Special positive comments toward hotel reception staff - very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaKuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear AnaKuz,

thank you for your review.

We are happy to read your kind words and you enjoyed the parking and the central position of the hotel, the very knowledgeable and helpful staff, the room and their comfort.

Feel free to contact us for your next stay with us and we invite you to check our web site where you can find lots of good deals.

Best regards

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    970
    239
    54
    45
See reviews for
541
1,784
69
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My biggest regret is that I didn't stay more than one night. We stopped at Siena for one day, and stayed at Athena Hotel. We had looked for a hotel outside of Siena because we were driving to the city and wanted free parking. We had also heard that it's a big no-no to try and drive in the walled city of Siena, so we were a bit surprised/panicked when we drove literally to the walled gate of Siena to get to this hotel, but I cannot stress enough that it was a BREEZE. We followed a road along the inner side of the city wall, and there was the hotel. When we checked in around 8 PM, they sent someone down to our car to help us find parking and take our luggage to our room. The room was lovely, with a small balcony and a fabulous view of the Tuscan countryside and very comfortable beds. The restaurant on site is also terrific. We ate there for dinner and two pasta dishes, desserts and a bottle of wine set us back about 60 Euro. They also serve breakfast, which was 9 Euro each for all you can eat, but we skipped that in favor of a caffe and pastry at a local bar in the city. I cannot imagine a better location for someone who wants to drive to Siena. We were able to park our car a the hotel and walk around the city, leaving it there even after we checked out, and when we finally had to drive out, it was as easy as it gets. Amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Tracy W,

what an amazing review! Thank you so much!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the Hotel and our restaurant where you can find typical dishes of Siena made with love and professionalism.

Come back to see us during the summertime so that you can have lunch and dinner on our roof terrace and at the same time enjoy the stunning view of the Tuscan countryside.
Look up on our website to see our best offers!

Best wishes,

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a brief but lovely stay at Hotel Athena. The location was terrific and we could drive right up to the hotel and park in the back. From here we could walk to everything. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were larger than in many European hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLCT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear OLCT04,

thank you for your wonderful words, this is a good review!

We are happy to see that you appreciated the comfort and the conveniently location of the hotel, the room that were larger than other European hotels and the helpful staff.

For your next trip in Siena, at Hotel Athena, we suggest to see all our offers in our web site and we remain at your disposal for any information you might need

Best regards

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was a totally enjoyable Hotel. We stay at the hotel in November of 2013. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good and the restaurant was nice. The room was fantastic. The hotel is close to the city center and there is a bus that goes by (in case you are too tired to walk back.

Room Tip: Get a superior room it is well worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenePP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Genepp,

We love receiving reviews like yours…..it is simply amazing! Thank you!

We are so happy and proud to see that you totally enjoyed the Hotel, the staff and all our services.

Please don’t wait too long to come and visit us again, maybe during the spring time or for the Palio, the famous horse race that we have twice a year during the Summer time.

All the staff of Hotel Athena wish you a Happy New Year!

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was traveling with my fiance along with 4 other people through Italy and it was reccommended that we stop in Siena, Italy and I am SO glad we did. I did a lot of research and we decided that Hotel Athena would be a perfect fit for our short stay. I am so incredibly glad we stopped here. Not only did we have free parking, wifi and a delicious breakfast (which was a nice surprise considering some of the other places we stayed) but our view was out. of. this. world.... Not kidding. Close your eyes and picture Tuscany and that was it! Right outside of our window!! I will add, they were doing some construction and one of the other couples we were staying with did hear it in their room during the day but who really goes to Italy to sit in their room? It stopped at a reasonable hour so they were good to sleep. They also have an adorable terrace which the 6 of us enjoyed sitting on and drinking wine we bought while walking through town. The front desk people were so nice and even spoke fluent English so communication was easy. The town of Siena was so quaint and such a nice stop on our trip. I reccommend this 1000x over to anyone looking for the perfect Italian stay!

Room Tip: The rooms on the opposite side of the street have the incredible views! Also, grab some vino while i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear AllisonMl,

Thank you very much for your sweet sweet words….we are so glad that you chose Hotel Athena for your stay in Siena!

You are really right…..close your eyes and picture Tuscany, open them from our panoramic terrace and…..there are no words to describe the stunning view that you can see from there!

As you said we are doing some ordinary maintenance works only for a few hours in the middle of the day when people are outside visiting Siena; this is to keep Hotel Athena always in excellent conditions.

Don’t wait to come and see us again, we are waiting for you!

The staff of the Hotel wish you a wonderful 2014!

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Athena inside the old city walls in Oct. 2013. It was a much larger hotel than what I expected in the medieval city. Large lobby, extremely helpful staff and good sized comfortable rooms (unusual for Europe). Easy walk to the Campo ( main city area of Seina) Make sure you request an upper room because it will give you a view. If you end up in the lower floor you won't have a view at all. Going to the upper deck is a must to relax and enjoy cocktails or any beverage of your choice.- it has a wonderful view and you can watch the sunset there. In addition you will meet many interesting fellow travelers. ( We did and picked up some travel tips) We spent most every night there before going out for dinner. The front desk folks by the way will make terrific recommendations for dinner based on what type of atmosphere you prefer or price of meals you seek, so be sure to ask for their recommendations.

Room Tip: Remember ask for an upper floor- do not take the lowest price room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile reception at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Sun Travel,


This is a great review! All the staff appreciated your words! We’re proud to see that we did a great job with you because everything is finalized to the maximum satisfaction of our guests.


We are very happy that you appreciated our romantic and panoramic terrace where you can admire the typical Tuscan countryside and take a lot of beautiful pictures.

The front desk folks will be delighted to give you more and more terrific recommendations so come back soon to see us, have a look on our website or call us directly, we will be glad to help you planning your next trip to Siena!

All the best,

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

First hotel in a while that I've been at where they asked for car keys. Only in this case, it's in "case of an emergency and we need to move your car". From their private lot. Odd. Other than that, hotel is a minor pain to get to from the north of Siena, but that's Siena's fault. Rooms are a bit dusty, we did get 'upgraded' (but that's due to repairs), and breakfast was a bit commercial rather than Italian (and the coffee felt as if they hadn't cleaned the machine).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakub W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Well,

I think first of all that the italian standards are high quality standards.

Unfortunately I must realize that the practice to upgrade the guests' rooms for free isn't being succesfully with you, during the lowest season, in winter time, upgrade some rooms is still possible, but as I can see the seeked "wow effect" had become much more a "boomerang effect".

Words liked the ones you used about the rooms and the coffee machine are not belonging to the quality of our services and any comment about those issues should be useless.

All our reviews can testified.

Ronny Fioravanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.0 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jetsetter and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing