We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made to feel welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Made to feel welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Athena were exceedingly welcoming, despite our staying for a single night ( for which we were reproached - we have promised to return for a longer stay). It proved the perfect location for exploring all the sights of Siena. Despite having booked through Expedia at what we thought were very good rates, we were upgraded on arrival. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The breakfast alone is reason to stay at this hotel - far more extensive than what is customarily offered. But the service is what really stands out - from the restaurant recommendation to the sightseeing advice - the staff at this hotel really shine. Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Louise,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important to us. A special thank you is sent by the staff that it is feeling so proud to have been described their services as "shine."

We are also happy that you have appreciated the room and overall the breakfast buffet and the restaurant. Our Chef Vincenzo and his crew shall be so happy resding this.
.
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Best Regards
Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    970
    239
    54
    45
See reviews for
541
1,784
69
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are large (with great views) and there is a bottle of wine waiting for you when you enter. The people are friendly, breakfast is great and the location is perfect. we love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear ckmurph,

We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, all our staff wants to send you his heartfelt and huge thank you very much for your words.

We are very happy to see that we take part in the building of tuscan vacation and that it was great!

Don’t hesitate to contact us for everything you need and check our website, it’s a very good way to know news and events in Siena for your next holidays in Siena.


Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We always look for moderately priced accommodation in good locations, and often have to trade off some of the luxury amenities or facilities.
Not so at Hotel Athena! Apart from its perfect location, great rates and fantastic views (especially from the bar on the roof top terrace), it also came packed with comfort, facilities and restaurants. The service was first class.
It made our stay in Tuscany a wonderful experience, and taking day trips to other areas so easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Alice,

All the staff is really satisfied for the job done and to read your review confirm us that to choose Hotel Athena is a choice of quality, convenience and customer satisfaction. All our work is focused on it!

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our hotel in full, from the perfect location, as you sad, to the uality of our restaurant and breakfast buffet.

From all the people’s staff I send you our big thank you and the hope to see you soon again in Siena. We will be honored to take part in the construction of your holiday, by our side we will guarantee you the best service as ever.

Kindest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our recent trip here was amazing. Location of the hotel, cleanliness, friendly staff, great food, we were delighted with this hotel. We travel a lot and have stayed in many 5 star hotels, this was as good if not better than some of them!!! We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Best view in room 808
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Lorna,

Such a pleasure to read your words! We really enjoyed your company and we’re so happy to realize that you did the same.

Thank you for your comment, we are a 4 stars hotel inside the city walls of Siena and we deserve them at all!.

All our staff wants to thank again and waits for your return to Siena, perhaps, why not, next spring. About that, please do not hesitate to contact us, we'll be honored to arrange you the best treatment.

Warmest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed in hotel Athena for 3 days. Location is very convenient yet away from high traffic areas. Walk to center, restaurants, attractions and bus station. We centered our stay in Siena and made day trips to Florence and San Gimignano - all by bus. The view from the hotel was magnificent especially when having Cbhianti or Beer on the 7th floor deck. Breakfast was included and was by far the best and most nutricious meal of the day. Free WiFi and large bathroom along with complementary bottle of wine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Tony,

This is a great review! Thank you for your words. We all remained very well impressed by your comment.

In fact our hotel offers to all the guests a really perfect location inside the city walls, with free parking lot and just 500 mt to the main attractions. We're happy to see that you appreciated it!

Don't wait too much to book your next stay!

we don't see the time to host you soon again!.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were exhausted arriving to hotel Athena but the ease of driving into this hotel was appreciated and the rooms are lovely. Beautiful terrace to have drinks and walking distance to the center. I'd stay here again for sure! The staff are very helpful and friendly as well!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AMWilson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear AMWilson14,

thank you for your very useful review, few words but fill of content!

It is so glad to see that the people who lived the hotel leave a 5 on 5 review that means perfection and we don't know if we are but for sure we look for it!

Thank you again and see you soon in Siena

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I design Culinary Tours of Europe for customers of my gourmet kitchen store.
We all found the hotel clean and the location fabulous. The breakfast buffet was tasty and the staff accommodating to our needs. I would definitely book another group in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear barb,

you and your group shall be always welcome here in Siena and a tour hotel. Your group had been fantastic and you’re so cute.

Thank you for your review and your appreciations, don’t make us wait too much to meet you again and book your next group here with us……Siena is perfect for a culinary escape! You know what I mean!

See you soon

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.0 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing