We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Athena (Siena)”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Novosibirsk, Russia
1 review
“Hotel Athena (Siena)”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not far from the center, cozy, free parcking, beautiful view from the window (to an old bastion). Good services quality, wonderful view from terrace on the upper floor- you may see old catles, hills of Toscana and get unforgettable impression.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaKhasanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Asia,

thank you for your review. Anyone is so helpful to make know to the people the quality of our services and with your review you're giving us a huge hand.

We're so happy and satisfied when our guests remain satisfied and happy of the treatment they receive!

Don't forget to check our website, to plan your next stay in Siena, where you can find so many offers and packages designed for every needs, from the romantic package to the Halloween offer....don't miss it!

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    1,025
    254
    58
    47
See reviews for
573
1,889
72
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our second visit to Athena this year and enjoyed every day. Thanks to our beautiful room with views to die for, the warmest of welcomes and complimentary wine and fruit. The staff are just great - reception/ cleaning/ bar and especially the restaurant staff are all so professional and attentive.Hotel breakfast choice is good and evening dining excellent with a good choice of wine.Well done Athena yet again and thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmPet2550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear EmPet2550,

wow, I don't know what to say, it is just perfect and this reiew doesn't need no comment.
Thank you from our professional staff.....it had been a leasure to work for you and we did with love and care.

Please don't wait too much and come back again to visit us, maybe in wintertime when the price are low as the temperature but the sun is still shining! Just visit our website and book!

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The best hotel we have stayed in this year. Staff are very polite and helpful. The restaurant is excellent, we especially recommend the terrace which has wonderful views over the Tuscan countryside.We booked a superior room with countryside views and it was excellent in every way. We recommend this hotel as a ''must stay''.

Room Tip: be sure to book a table at the terrace restaurant, the outside tables go quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolmjb1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Malcolm,

Thank you, thank you and thank you again for your beautiful words. We all remained very impressed by your comment and we’re all very proud to have worked for you.
Thank you twice for point up that our staff is very professional and polite, at the disposal of our guests all the time and for every needs.

Feel free to contact us whenever you desire and we’re all waiting for your return to Siena.
Here you’ll always find a warm and friendly people doing their best to make your vacation wonderful as much as possible.

Warmest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a lovely room with ample space, great beds and bathroom.
The restaurant was excellent with great service and food and wine. We loved the fact that we could find a wonderful meal at our hotel without going out to find a place to eat, after walking all day around the town. The terrace bar was fantastic for views at sunset.
It was all good from the minute we walked into a welcoming reception till the day we left.

Room Tip: Our room was at or a bit below street level and a school across the way, so you might want a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexie082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Lexie,

We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, all our staff wants to send you his heartfelt and huge thank you very much for your words.

We are very happy to see that we take part in the building of your vacation and thank you for your appreciations aout the restaurant, in fact our menu is very convenient and good in quality-price, the best choice if you want to taste a piece of Siena.

Don’t hesitate to contact us for everything you need and check our website, it’s a very good way to know news and events in Siena for your next Tuscan escape.


Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We loved Hotel Athena! The location was outstanding, only a short walk into the center of Siena. Our Superior Deluxe room was very spacious (to include the bathroom), and had a spectacular view of the Tuscan countryside! It was very clean and the beds were quite comfortable! We received a warm welcome upon checkin and the staff was always very friendly and eager to assist us. We enjoyed a plentiful breakfast each morning (included in our room rate), and loved the decor of the breakfast room. We also enjoyed late afternoon cocktails on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Tuscan landscape. We highly recommend Hotel Athena, and would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Tuscany!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room category and recommend a room with a view of the Tuscan countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Cindy,

Such a pleasure to read you even here on TA!

thank you very much for your kind review and to value us with 5/5 stars

We’re very happy to see that you appreciated our hotel and our location, the rooftop and all our services starting from our reception's staff.

While you’ll be planning your return to Siena and to Hotel Athena check our website where you can find some big deals and packages and...........see you of FB!!!

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What can I say about this hotel, our stay here was top class from start to finish. The hote is in a great location on the edge of the city but within easy walking distance of all the attractions. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, breakfast was excellent with a great choice. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean. We got a room on the upper floor with a balcony. This was a great place to relax in the evenings. I would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieBoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear richieboland,

Your beautiful words left us breathless, it’s hard to explain how satisfying is to read a review like your.

All our job is finalized to the maximum satisfaction of our guests and we’re so proud to see that we did great job with you.

All our staff wants to send you his biggest thank you for the appreciations you showed on your review and is waiting for you again in Siena. While you’ll be planning your return check our website where you can find lots of special offers and feel free to put in touch with us every time you desire.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There is a kettle in the room, which is a perk for night tea drinkers. The staff were very professional and polite. The room was comfortable and afforded a great view. It was a little complicated getting to the hotel because of the zones in the city that do not allow foreign drivers. I would do some research before trying to reach this destination by car.

The breakfast cost 9 Euros and was not worth it. The coffee was awful. It was instant and dispensed by a machine. Even if you asked for a cappuccino, which came from the kitchen, it was still not very good, considering the fact that Italy is famous for it's coffee. The selection was not impressive, given the price.

The location is very central and it is very easy to walk to excellent restaurants and the tourist area. Be prepared for a great deal of climbing uphill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Karyn,

greetings from Siena!
We’re glad to see that you had a nice stay with us, we know that Siena is quite complicated to drive but f you take the Siena Ovest exit from the freeway in 5 minutes you can get us! Let me just tell the people that we are outside the Limited Traffic Zone but inside the city walls, you won’t need any permit to get us.

We respect you opinion about the breakfast and we’ll go straight away to talk to the chef to try to improve our service even thanks to your suggestions. I invite the guests to complain in the breakfast room if something is not as expectations, maybe something can be done in the meantime.

Thank you again Karyn and see you next time in Siena, don’t forget to check our deal section into our website

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
657 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing