We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in Siena”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Siena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Friendly service (gave great restaurant recommendations and a very helpful map), modern and very clean room. Great location - could park easily but still about a 10 minute walk to all the sights. I loved the clothesline in the bathtub. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agianpetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear agianpetro,

Thank you for you review and for spending your time reviewing us. We appreciated you enjoyed all our services as the professionalism of our staff.

We're happy to see that in few words you could summarize a lot of information and give to the people a lot of good tips
.
See you next time in Siena

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    990
    240
    55
    45
See reviews for
550
1,820
70
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

First off, the room that we were going to have would have been 4/5. Sadly someone decided to smoke the place up and make it unbearable. They were almost fully booked (or so they say) and we received a room that was next to the road. Not much traffic on the road but the windows (or lack thereof) were not soundproof in the slightest (just like the walls I might add).
The room was spacious and clean just like the bathroom. Free parking and free WiFi are a plus.
Would recommend with slight reservation. Make sure you ask a room away from the road to the back or anything above the 4th/5th floor in the front as this is the floor where the road is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sophie,

thank you for the time that you spent to write your review; Every comment is a really important tip which can help us to improve our services.

We’re so happy to read that you enjoyed the room for the size and bathroom.
We would like to specify at all travellers that Hotel Athena is inside the historical wall of Siena, no in limited traffic zone, in 5 minutes walking there is Duomo and the most important attraction of the city and that the street in front of us is very quiet night and day.

We hope to see you in our hotel for your next holidays and we suggest to see the offer directly in our web site and not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights after leaving Venice. We found the hotel relatively easy which was nice as sometimes that is difficult in Italy. We had a nice room on the sixth floor with a balcony and a table and chairs, making for a lovely view.A coffee maker is in the room as well as a safe and refrigerator. It is nice to have parking available and that was something we needed. The Hotel is located on the older anticca side of Siena (which we love) rather than the more modern side where the train is located. The breakfast in the morning is very nice and the front desk staff is very helpful and kind. The noise level is a little high as you can hear through the walls fairly easy. Getting into the center of Siena is a nice walk passing by Enoteca's and Gelati (yum).

Room Tip: Maybe ask where the more quiet areas of the hotel would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheriG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear CheriG7

Thank you very much for your kind review. We’re happy to see that you enjoyed your beautiful room with balcony.

As you pointed out we are located inside the city walls in the center of Siena which is the old town, everything outside the walls is still Siena but it is not the center, where all the main attractions are located.

What’s best than a Gelato and a cup of wine in one of the hundreds Enotecas in town?!
For your next trip to Italy don’t forget to visit Siena again and stop at hotel Athena.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Very relaxing sitting on the terrace having a cocktail or cappuccino. Restaurant is very good. Quick wall to Duomo and just a little further to Campo. Streets are great and safe at night. Air conditioner worked but really didn't give too much cold air. But it was cool evenings so just opened the window.
Check their website as the have deals.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear ctreacy,

do you know what? Your review is one of the most useful review ever because you are pointing out that to book through our website is always the best deal. You can find so many special offers and packages, HALLOWEEN, CHRISTMAS, 3 NIGHTS STAY, ROMANTIC or RELAXING STAY. None of them prepaid and always breakfast included.

Thank you to do so and to help us to make know the people the quality of our services.
We’re waiting for you next year in Siena, do not hesitate to book your room directly.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

An overall perfect experience. Room was beautiful, immaculate, nice bathroom, large, and had an incredible view of the Tuscan hills. The guys at the front, Massimo and Andrea, were amazing. They made our stay very special and we can't wait to come back. They even helped me work on my Italian! ha!

This hotel offers an excellent value. It is a short walk to the center and out of the heavy traffic areas with a lot of noise. I'm very selective and this place easily met my standards.

Grazie Andrea and Massimo A presto!

Room Tip: top floor has amazing views- spring for the couple extra bucks for the suite- it is weil worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attorneyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear attorneyjoe,

thank you for your sweet sweet review. Andrea and Massimo are so shy and they left to me the task to answer you.

We work so hard, and we’re obviously happy to see that all the job done had been well repaid. I know that from California to Siena is a loooong journey but….Siena is Siena and needs a second visit, or third, so do not hesitate to book your next stay with us and enjoy one of our special deal on our website, always breakfast included.

Kindest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
199 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Located within the walls of Siena in the contrade of Panthera, this is a very smart hotel. It's an easy walk to all the places your want to visit in the city.

Reception staff were friendly, helpful, courteous and professional.

Wifi was available and free throughout.

The room was clean, comfortable and a bit all. Not as cosy as the shower in the bathroom which was snug.

We had sundowners on the rooftop terrace each evening and booked tables for dinner there also. The food was superb. The wine list was extensive and could easily lead one astray. The Brunello was superb.

Watch and enjoy the sommelier carefully when he opens your wine. It is pure theatre.

I would happily stay and eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyeddieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear luckeddiebristol,

Such a great and exhaustive review! I think your words can be so helpful for all the travelers who are planning to stay in Siena and to whom I recommend to stay with us.

All our staff from the kitchen crew to the front desk and bar wants to send you his special thank you for all the appreciations. Aldo, our sommelier is very good in his job and he takes it very seriously. An unforgettable experience.

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us, we’ll be so glad to help you planning your next trip to Tuscany

Kind Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a three night stay at the Athena. Linda at the desk was friendly, efficient and very helpful . She found us a lovely restaurant to eat, times of trains on our next visit to Pisa and was generally very accommodating . Our room was spotless and had a balcony to sit in. Lovely. Breakfast staff very good. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Siena.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear J K,

All our staff is really proud for the job done and we want to share with you our happiness to realize that we took part in the building of you beautiful holiday and that you are back home with a really good memory of us.

The best result for us is make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible. It is so satisfactory to read that we helped you to enjoy Siena much more thanks to our suggestions and recommendations . That’s great!

Let me send you our sincerely thank you once again and we’re waiting to host you soon again.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing