We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Siena”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a Superior Room with Balcony. Views were really nice and the balcony was quite large! Room was nice, clean, no complaints on our end. Good location, just a quick walk to all the sights of Siena. The front desk was always helpful and very nice. I stayed at five different hotels during my trip to Italy and I thought their breakfast was actually one of the best spreads. We also had a drink on the terrace where there are more great views. Perfect place to grab a drink before heading out for your evening. I would def recommend this hotel if you are staying in Siena.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nynells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear nynells,

Thank you for your review, every feedback is so useful to make know the people the quality of our services.

We’re glad to see that you enjoyed the balcony of your room that, by the way, was a deluxe room. We provided to upgrade your room from superior into a deluxe one because the availability gave us the opportunity to do so. We’re happy to see that you enjoyed the gift.

All the kitchen crew want to send his personal thanks about the beautiful words used in the review: thank you!

See you next time in Siena and don’t forget to check our SPECIAL PACKAGE into our website.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,305)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Athena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 3,305 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were only here for 1 night - the night of the Palio. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got to Siena early and our room was not ready, so they asked us to wait on the terrace and gave us complimentary drinks. As soon as the room was ready someone came and got us. Shortly after checking in there was a knock on the door - someone bringing a bottle of wine. The room was mid-sized, bed was comfortable, room was quiet. The windows opened onto a little street. Bathroom was modern. Everything was clean. Breakfast was ok in a not so special room. The hotel is large. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear TashaLin,

such a beautiful review from an expert reviewr!We're so happy to see that we did a great job!
These are the words that help us to improve our service day by day and that make us to know that we’re on the right way.

We’re glad to see that you appreciated your standard room, that even if located on the ground floor facing the street is so quiet and very well equipped of all the amenities of a 4 stars hotel.

Can’t wait to host you soon again here with us and don't forget to check our website to find out all the best deals.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed three nights in august for the palios. Plus points were the location - very easy to find and free parking, nice rooms with excellent air conditioning and wifi. Breakfast was as expected - cereals, breads etc etc..the terrace has amazing views over the Tuscan countryside...picture postcard stuff. Only a ten minute walk to the centre of the old town. My only complaint - email confirmation that we had a city view room - in fact I had actually brought this up a few eels before to ensure we had a view - would have paid extra if need be. However when we arrived we had no view. Brought it up with the staff at reception and to say they were less than helpful would be an understatement. All they kept saying was the Hotel was full and the room I had booked does not have a view - contrary to the email confirmation I received. The reception staff said they would see what they could do the following day - needless to say I did not hear anything else from them - it was simply ignored. I did not persue the issue as I just wanted to enjoy the spectacle that is the palios. Everything else was excellent and so would probably return but would book a deliver room with countryside views!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rharrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear rharrass,

We’re so glad to receive your feedback. All of them are so important to us and so helpful to the people who are planning a vacation in Siena but one from guests who stayed with us during the Palio race is double important.

Let me point out an important fact, we’re sorry if something went wrong with our staff but as all our reviews can testified, our staff is a real plus of this hotel, always helpful and at disposal of every needs. Secondary I want to remind you that you booked a deluxe room and as deluxe room you reserved a room with countryside view OR city view and that’s what you had, the view of the Duomo and the medieval roofs of Siena….something hard to find somewhere else.

Thank you anyway for your feedback and we wait you again for the Palio 2014, just check our website in the SPECIAL PACKAGE session.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this gem of a hotel for only one night. We were lucky to have an upgrade of our room from a superior to a deluxe. Our room was clean and extremely comfortable. The bathroom though rather small was perfectly adequate for our needs and was very clean, with lovely big towels for our use. Our room had a balcony which you could sit outside and admire the view. The hotel staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. They all spoke English fluently. The hotel was perfectly situated near the centre of sienna and everything was in walking distance. The breakfast provided by the hotel was delicious and certainly gave us the energy for sight seeing. The off street parking was also a bonus. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Royston22,

Let me send to you our big thank you from all our staff for your incisive words, Let me say that when is possible, depending in the availability, we're so glad to upgrade the rooms paying a little extra at the check out..

We’re so happy to realize that your stay with us was “great” and that you appreciated all our services. The best result for us is make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible. We like to take part on the construction of a beautiful memories.

Let me send you our sincerely thank you once again and we’re waiting to host you soon again. Just check out SPECIAL OFFER web page.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is perfect for exploring Sienna, situated inside the city walls, very clean special mention to the hotel reception staff very friendly and informative. Parking on site is very convenient and a big bonus!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanclodvandamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear sean,

Thank you so much for your review and for spend part of your time talking about your experience at our Hotel.

All staff and the manager are really happy that you enjoyed all our services from location to the parking and the so professional staff. We really do our best every day to make more pleasant the stay of our guests.

Do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our final night in Italy having travelled around for 10 days this was the fifth hotel and the best. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Our room was clean, had everything we needed including a couple of what I would class as luxuries. There was free on site valet parking and an offer to help with our luggage. The bar / restaurant terrace overlooking the countryside was a treat. 10 mins walk from the Duomo and Piazza del Campo is a bonus in such a small city and all for extremely good value. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank vixpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear vixpix,

Such a great and exhaustive review! I think your words can be so helpful for all the travelers who are planning to stay in Siena and to whom I recommend to stay with us.

All our staff from the kitchen crew to the front desk and bar wants to send you his special thank you for all the appreciations.

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us, we’ll be so glad to help you planning your next trip to Tuscany

Kind Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Only stayed for one night in this hotel. The rooms and communal areas were very clean and bright and the staff quite friendly. Had a room on the ground floor which was quite small and the underground parking (parking was important to us) was a nit are to get into or out of and the reception staff were not keen to help. Judging by the scrapes and car paint on the wall, this has been a problem for many others. It's made for a stressful departure! Other than that it was nice enough,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

gentile traveler s,

Yes 4 stars in every way!
It would be much appreciated to get a review in italian by an italian people but anyway….let’s do this!

The room that you booked and personally choose as you had to know was a standard room located on the ground floor, as it is clearly explained everywhere, you never complained at the reception about that, if you had do that maybe we should do something, by now every word is useless as the tips you are giving to the travelers.

Yes I agree that the parking is a real plus and very useful to whom wants to come with the car, but if you found it hard to drive in and out it is a personal experience and I want to treat as it is. About the scrapes on the wall, well, there’s nothing to talking about it, the importance of what you sad talks for itself.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,453 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $87 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing