We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in!”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Good points:

Nice location.
Helpful and informative reception staff
Fairly adequate breakfast buffet
Comfy beds
Decent air con
Nice little balcony

Not so good points:

Incredibly noisy
Housekeeping service didn't provide clean glasses, didn't replenish tea and coffee facilities.
Staff at breakfast unattentive
Tiny bathroom

Bit bad hotel really, not worth the price though. Didn't get a single good nights sleep, woken up every morning by house keeping staff slamming furniture into the wall and ramming the vacuum cleaner against the walls next door, for slamming etc. have stayed in a lot of hotels in my time, I am an avid traveller and also a long haul flight attendant of 8 years and I can whole heatedly say this is the noisiest place I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hostie1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear hostie,

We appreciated your review, a feedback coming from an expert traveler is always welcomed, but unfortunately I cannot agree some parts of what you sad. We respect every opinion but a subjective feeling remains subjective, all our deluxe rooms are very quiet. You booked a beautiful deluxe room requesting a balcony without view, we provided one of our best deluxe room that as per photos is really like what you saw and booked with all the amenities of a 4 stars hotel: safe, air conditioning, desk, iron and ironing board, Shower, Bath, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Slippers, Telephone, Flat-screen TV, docking station iPod, minibar, electric kettle and much more.

If something went wrong during your stay I will certainly send my apologize by my side and from our house keeper who is so attentive to provide rooms and common areas deeply cleaned.

Let me invite you, as frequent traveler, to come back again and try us for the second time, we’ll not fail!

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    1,025
    254
    58
    47
See reviews for
573
1,889
72
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great hotel in the city center of siena. Very kind staff. Everybody was very helpfull. Nice en clean rooms. Breakfast was good en there was a nice panoramic bar with a great view. There was a private parking at the hotel which is really convenient in siena. The rooms were a little bit noisy. We had an excellent time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorena19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Lorena,

This is a wonderful review! Thank you that you spent a time to write your feedback!

We are happy that you appreciated hotel Athena and their location in the historical centre of Siena, the delicious breakfast and all our service.

For your next trip in Siena, contact us for information and visit our web site where you can find very special deals like the ROMAITIC PACKAGE.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were extremely disappointed by this hotel which advertises nice rooms with a view. We arrived at 7pm and were given a room below street level in the basement. The street was just above our window, it was dark and very noisy from the street and we could also hear the conversation of the people in the rooms next to ours. The mattress had the quality of a sofa bed. On top of it the sink in the bathroom was clogged up. Nowhere in the reviews and hotel description it was mentioned that one could end up with a room in the basement. When we complained to the staff we were told that we had booked an 'economy room' and therefore should not complain. The price was far too high for what we got, our room had the standard of a Super 8 Motel with the price of a junior suite in a major hotel group. Check the photos we added, they speak for themselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Nadine,

Well, what to say, you threat us and you did so! Basically, first of all, when you book a room in the busiest period of the whole year, in the most expensive period of the whole year, in the middle of the highest season, to get a pricey room can be possible, that’s the market! I’m talking about the Palio time, when the rooms are more expensive, even the economy rooms, and there is no possibility to upgrade anyone because that means downgrade somebody else and that is not acceptable.

What you think we are working for? We are working for you, you as a guest, for your satisfaction, we are never happy when somebody complains because that means we failed somewhere. To be clear we describe the economy rooms everywhere as “located of the lower floors”. I think you had what you DECIDED TO BOOK. You can complain, our staff as you can see from all our reviews is so pleased to help everybody and fulfill every request if the situation can permits.

Our economy rooms that are so comfortable and overall with all the amenities of a 4 stars hotel are the best choice for those who want to stay in Siena, visit the city and surroundings and have a cheap nice room to sleep. Is the best choice for quality-price and well worth the rate. Otherwise there is the possibility to pay a little bit more for the other 3 categories, Standard, Superior and Deluxe.

We don’t like to be threatened and you push with the back to the wall when you pretended an upgrade and we had no possibility to do it for fully booked.

Thanks for the photos, they can speak themselves the fact that the economy room can be a very nice choice for a low cost stay in Siena focused on the city visit.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad word to day about this charming Siena hotel. From our gorgeous Tuscan style room to our fantastic terrace that overlooked wine country and the only American sized bathroom on our three week trip in Italy, Hotel Athena delivered on luxury on all levels. On top of all of this the staff were the warmest as they dedicated much time making our trip memorable. One of the restaurants they recommended was the best one during our trip to Italy just a few minutes down the street called, "Nonna Ginas". I highly recommend both this hotel and the restaurant, but to each their own!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Joshua,

Such a really nice comment! All the reviews are important for us and every tips can help us to improve our services but a good feedback like your is a double satisfaction!

We’re happy to see you enjoyed our suggestion, Nonna Gina is a really good restaurant very close by.

For your next stay in Siena we hope you’ll choose us for the second time, we’ll be so happy to welcome you once again and to give you one of our best room with a beautiful view of the Tuscan hills.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brig o' Turk
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay between 10th and 16th August. Hotel staff were all welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived, the first thing we were given was a map of the city and some great recommendations for the best sights and restaurants from the concierge, exactly what we needed and much appreciated. The hotel had a great atmosphere (as did all of Siena actually), the room was very clean and comfortable. A very nice hotel in a great location with very friendly and helpful staff plus free parking for the car, we hope to get back there soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Bryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you so much for your review, you rated as with a 5 on 5 and for us it’s a great result!
All our hard work is finalized to the maximum satisfaction of our guests and we’re so glad and happy to see that with you we did it!

All the staff is sending you his heartfelt thanks and is waiting for your return to Siena and to our hotel, maybe for the Palio time that, this year, you had so close.

For your next trip to Siena check our website where you can find some SPECIAL OFFERS like the RELAX PACKAGE if you think to deserve an all inclusive treatment!

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our party of six stayed for one night on the 9th August and could not be made to feel more welcome when we arrived, We got an excellent deal on the rooms which were very clean and well equipped. My husband and I had a superior room and the view was just amazing from the french windows. The location was ideal with it just being a short walk into the centre of Sienna and with the hotel having car-parking that was a real plus.
We had a drink in the main bar before going out at night and the prices were reasonable. The breakfast which was included in the price was also very nice.
We really enjoyed our stay in Sienna and when any of us go back (which we will as it is a beautiful city) we would stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and paying that bit extra for a superior room is worth it because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Helen,

Wow! Thank you!

We appreciated so much your beautiful words and we’re so happy to realize that you enjoyed your beautiful Superior room, that, even if does not have view of the countryside (deluxe rooms characteristic) they are large, located on the higher floors, well designed keeping all the Tuscan and sienese style and newly renovated. Great choice!

Thank you again for all your appreciations and to plan your next stay with us visit our SPECIAL OFFERS AND PACKAGE web page: hotelathena.com/en/offers-siena.html

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. It was about 10 minutes walk to the Piazza del Campo but was situated within the city walls. It had free parking which from our experience is a rarity in Italy so this is not to be sniffed at! We had a superior room which was very spacious, well appointed and very clean. The staff were very helpful and efficient and the excellent breakfasts had a wide and varied choice to suit all palettes. All in all, Siena was our favourite destination during our tour of central Italy and I would like to think we will visit again someday (perhaps during the Palio) so would I stop at this hotel again ..... Definitely!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view, ours faced the buildings on the other side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear martin,

Thanks a lot for those beautiful words. You are making us so happy.

We’re so glad to see that you enjoyed our nice breakfast and the beautiful panoramic terrace Yes! Come back during the Palio time, you'll have the possibility to live Siena in the best and charming way you can.

It had been a pleasure to host you in our hotel and we, everybody, hope to see you soon again in the narrow medieval streets of Siena. We’ll be honored helping you in the construction of your next Tuscan holiday.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
657 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing