We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with beautiful views and very friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
pune
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great hotel with beautiful views and very friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Siena this is a great place to stay. We arrived early so the reception staff directed us to the lounge to sit and relax and we could use wifi while we waited for our room to be ready. When it was ready we were accompanied by one of the reception staff to our room and he rolled our suitcases and would not let us help him which was so good of him. The room was very small but adequate and spotlessly clean with a tiny bathroom. So if you are planning to stay at the Athena do not opt for an economy room. We asked to upgrade but as they were full we were asked to check the next day, and it was not worth shifting as we were there for only two nights. The Campo is a short walk uphill and so is the magnificent Duomo. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at on our 16 day holiday in Italy and we will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: If you can do not opt for an economy room as they are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PunePeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Pune,

I tell you that had been a pleasure to host you and to confirm you the best treatment. Our staff is very well prepared and always in a good mood :-)

As you pointed out our economy rooms, which are so comfortable and with all the amenities of a 4 stars, have the particularity to be smaller than the other categories even than the standards. Asking for an upgrade anyway, as you could see, is always well accepted when it is possible.

I’m not able to end this letter better than you did in your review…..you left us speechless…thank you!

See you next time at Athena

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,773
    990
    240
    55
    45
See reviews for
550
1,819
70
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hotel Athena was absolutely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at and I'm so sad I was only here for one night. The customer service was EXCELLENT upon checking in to checking out. The amenities are modern but still had a European feel. The outdoor terrace on the top floor had a nice view. It is also within decent walking distance to the Campo. I highly recommend this place. It truly exceeded my expectations and was worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DielleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear DLC,

All our staff is really proud for the job done and we want to share with you our happiness to realize that we took part in the building of you beautiful holiday and that you are back home with a really good memory of us.

The best result for us is make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible. It is so satisfactory to read that we're one of the best. That’s great!

Let me send you our sincerely thank you once again and we’re waiting to host you soon again. I know that from LAX is a long road but we shall be here waiting for you.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked based on previous reviews and availability of car parking and are happy to say that this was one of our best hotel experiences ever.
Upon arrival the front desk staff (thank you Susanna!) were extremely comprehensive in explaining everything, recommending things to do and places to see.
We booked an economy room and had low expectations as the hotel website states "very small rooms". We were very pleasantly surprised that the room was so large and was in fact much larger than the regular European sized hotel rooms. We also had a wonderful view of the local landscape.
Car parking was excellent and easily accessible and the hotel very well located to the local sites.
Breakfast was very good and the restaurant was a great experience also.
The complimentary basket with wine was a very nice touch indeed!
Our only downside was being located close to the stairs/elevators so there was regular traffic going past our door until ~midnight but that's going to be the case at any hotel and it wasn't enough of a problem to raise it with the hotel.

Highly recommended and when we make it back to Siena one day we'll be sure to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the stairs/elevators location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for using part of your time sharing your experience with us….your review is amazing!

Susanna, wants to send you her personal hug and gives her personal thank you for the sweet words spent, She is and We are so proud and happy to see that you enjoyed in full our hotel, from the delicious breakfast to the professionalism of the staff.

We’re happy even to see that you enjoyed your economy room that in fact it was not because we provided for you a larger standard room instead of, and, at the price of an economy room. It had been a pleasure.

Do not hesitate to come back soon and check our website full of special offers and escapes.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I booked the Hotel Athena based on previous TA reviews, and am glad I did. When I arrived, my room was not yet ready but the clerk directed me to the terrace, where they gave me a free drink. What a view! My room was spacious and clean, and the staff were all very helpful with directions and restaurant reservations. You can walk to just about anywhere worth seeing in Siena, which is a beautiful city. The price is very reasonable for a four star property. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear likeaet,

wow…..I don’t know what to say….
This is not only a great review based on a real very pleasant stay but it get stronger by being an expert reviewer and because you checked TA before choosing us. Thank you very much for that!
We’re so happy to see that you enjoyed the situation of the hotel, the view, the room and the perfect location inside the walls of the old city.
Don’t hesitate and go forth and book your next stay with us, just look into our website.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

A hotel slightly to 10 mintues walk from the historic center. Professional reception, lounge, bar, Wi-Fi, free parking! (a real plus in a city where cars are banned from the city center). The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean, our room was on the ramparts of the town, quiet and tranquility of the two nights we spent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yackvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Yackvoyageur,

We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, all our staff wants to send you his heartfelt and huge thank you very much for your words.

We are very happy to see that we take part in the building of your city break and that it was great!

Don’t hesitate to contact us for everything you need and check our website, it’s a very good way to know news and events in Siena for your next holidays in Siena.


Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I booked this hotel as it has plenty of parking, which can be a pain in sienna! Our room was spacious, and the extra touches of biscotti to go with our coffees, complimentary bottle of wine, and crisps etc, was really nice. We took a glass of our wine up to the roof to enjoy the views from the cool bar up there. Breakfast in the hotel was quite good- fairly extensive continental selection, also scrambled eggs. 10 min walk to il campo....good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie-likes-holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear katie,

We’re always proud for the good reviews, every suggestions and recommendations give us the possibility to improve our services day by day, but an approval so plebiscitary leave us speechless!

We’re so happy to see that you enjoyed all our service, what we do every day is to help our guest to have the best holiday ever! Your contribution helps us to inform the travelers that choosing Hotel Athena is not only a choice of quality in services, but also efficiency, convenience and professionalism.

Let us say thank you once again to leave your review about your stay and we are waiting for your next trip to Tuscany that for sure it will start from Siena and from Hotel Athena.


Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

A very pleasant 4 night stay at this hotel in Siena, that is about a 10 minute walk to the main plaza of Piazza del Campo. The location is just inside of the city walls, making it close to everything but far enough away to have “quiet time”.
The roof top lounge on the 7th floor has a fabulous view of the Tuscan countryside and city walls where you can enjoy your favorite beverage, a light snack and watch the sun go down over the Tuscan hills.
All of the “Reception” staff were very friendly & helpful with excellent English. They made suggestions for dinner and went out of their way to suggest other local day trips.
Our room was big and light, with high ceilings, a large window and a traditional Tuscan design, with a nice welcome bottle of Italian wine and fruit waiting for us. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and clean with nice thick towels.
The breakfast had a nice selection of items too, although the juices were not very good.
Stayed there May 2013 and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear DJS,

thank you for your exhaustive review, it’s so good and it makes us feel so proud to see that we did a great job with you and that we contributed to the success of your Tuscan vacation.

In fact our hotel disposes of a beautiful panoramic terrace which is a perfect place to sit drinking a glass of prosecco admiring the sundown under the Tuscan hills.

We everybody hope to see you soon again in Siena, we’ll be here waiting for you with all our passion.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing