We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay In Siena”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay In Siena”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Athena for two nights - we chose the family room and received a room on the 6th floor overlooking the countryside. We had a great experience and will definitely stay there again when we return to Siena.
The location is perfect - inside the city walls, close enough to everything but just removed enough to allow for some quiet down time. The room was nice, with traditional Tuscan design, high ceiling, big windows, comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The room was definitely big enough for a family, had a good fridge, a coffee machine, etc. - everything you need.
The breakfast was good too, the only area where I can see room for a bit of improvement (the coffee machine you can use to make your own coffee in the breakfast room does not make the best American-style coffee - but you can always ask the staff to make you an espresso). That said, if you do not want American-style coffee, nothing to complain about. Also, the breakfast room is lovely (there are two, but we used the same one both times).
The staff was genuinely nice and helpful and the places they recommended for dinner were right on.
Last but not least - easy to reach if you have a car and offers private parking. If you have been to Siena, you know that is huge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Eva F,

good to read you! Thank you very much indeed for your review.
All the comments are really welcomed but one with this rating is so much appreciated. All the opinions about us are useful to improve the services but your words help us to let know the people how important is for us the satisfaction of our guests.

A big thanks comes from all our staff, very professional and ready to give more than they can.

We’re so happy to see that you had a big time with us and we want to thank you once again for your beautiful words and we are all waiting for your return to Siena. You’ll be always welcome!

Warmest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    1,012
    251
    56
    46
See reviews for
564
1,861
70
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very nice room with parking inside the walls of the city.

Unfortunately the service was not good. We asked Susanna to make dinner reservations and she agreed. Later that day we went to the restaurant and they did not receive the reservation. The next morning we went to the desk and asked for assistance with our luggage. she said the bell man would be right up. Twenty minutes later no one came and I went back down. I was told he was on the way to the room. After waiting another ten minutes we received a call saying he was busy and he would take the luggage out of the room later. The parking is tight and the bell man parks the car. He had us so tight we could not get in the drivers side. My wife got in the passenger side and managed to get the car into neutral. I pushed the car out of the parking spot and then got in.
Lovely place, poor management. We got the feeling they just did not care.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcoman34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear marcoman,

We care a lot! The little details and the quality of our services made the Athena hotel.
The hotel Athena is a 4 stars hotel, not less and no more and we’re proud to say that we deserve all of them, just read the reviews of all our guests.

I totally respect your opinion and we’re not happy at all if we left you just this bad memory about our hotel but unfortunately I must reject it, we’re always on duty trying to give the best service ever from the front desk staff which is so professional to the bell boys who can also park your car for free, into our free of charge parking lot.

We’re so sad if something has gone wrong and, from what I can see from your other reviews, we’re sad to see that you have not been so “lucky” with the hotels in Tuscany. As last thing I want to invite you again in Siena to try again our hotel to give us the possibility to show you and demonstrate that my words are true.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Hotel Athena and I have nothing bad to say about it! The rooms are rather large, with high ceilings and large windows overlooking a magnificent view. The terrace on the 7th floor is the perfect place for a drink or dinner, or just a little respite in the afternoon. Not only is the breakfast abundant, it is unique: you don't often find scrambled eggs and bacon (so different from the US, and so good) in Italy alongside the regular salumi, ham, cheese, cornetto, fruit, cakes etc. I could go on, but you get the point. The front desk staff speak English, but they let me blunder through my not-so-good Italian anyway. Linda, Massimo and Andrea are some of the best in the business. Massimo even helped us retrieve things we left behind in Rome. We had two dinners in the restaurant: both of them good, but the best course was the rabbit tempura. I loved it! Just inside the walls of Siena, the parking is free, and il Campo is about a 10 minute walk -- uphill both ways. :-) This was not my first visit and it won't be my last.

Room Tip: Ask for the front corner on the 8th floor. You can't get a better view of Tuscany.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear firstfen,

Wow…..double wow! That’s amazing! Not only because your review is perfect and goes straight to the bone but even because you are our thousandth review on tripadvisor and it couldn’t be better……really!

All the Athena’s staff wants to send you the biggest hug ever, from the front desk staff to the kitchen crew everyone is so proud and happy for the job done.

From Linda, Massimo, Andrea and all of us the hope to see you soon again here in Siena, sure that your next round will start from Hotel Athena again.

Warmest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. It has so much character and charm as soon as you walk inside. Our room was so beautiful and the view was incredible looking out over the rolling hills of Tuscany! It took our breath away! Due to the gorgeous weather the staff suggested that we enjoy lunch on the Terrace and we are so glad we took their advice. This was one of our most delicious meals of our holiday and the location and atmosphere of sitting on the terrace and overlooking Tuscany while drinking Prosecco and eating delicious food will always be a highlight for us. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The locations is wonderful and easy walking distance to all sights. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. We loved this hotel and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ainsworths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Richard,


Your beautiful words left us breathless, it’s hard to explain how satisfying is to read a review like yours.

All our job is finalized to the maximum satisfaction of our guests and we’re so proud to see that we did a great job with you

All the staff, who blushed reading your words, wants to send you his biggest thank you for the appreciations you showed on your review and is waiting for you again in Siena. While you’ll be planning your return check our website where you can find lots of special offers and feel free to put in touch with us any time you desire.

Kindest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good hotel in Siena, about 10 minutes' walk from Piazza del Campo. Very little to complain about really; if I have to be picky, I'd say the fruit juice at breakfast was not very good but otherwise, good. Location good; lovely view of the Tuscan countryside from the upstairs bar. Reception were very friendly & helpful. The room was big enough & very comfortable. And it was lovely to receive a welcome bottle of Italian wine with biscotti!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear MikeTY2000,

I’m very pleased to read you!

Thank you for use part of your time sharing your experience with us. Tips and tricks from an expert reviewer like you are is double important.

Unfortunately tripadvisor doesn’t give the possibility to give the half point but let me tell you and tell to the people that we’re always on duty to get 5 on 5, we believe we deserve it.

Thank you twice for your advice about the juice, in fact we did it already, we provided to improve it. To give a better quality day by day is our mission.

Do not hesitate to come back soon, Siena is not far at all from London.

Kindest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous 6 night stay at the Athena. The staff are very attentive, the rooms are spacious and modern. The view from our room was spectacular. The food in the restaurant is outstanding. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the Terrace side of the hotel for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmushy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile kmushy52,

complimenti per il perfetto italiano!
Che belle parole che avete scritto! Tutto lo staff ogni giorno lavora duramente per garantire sempre un buon servizio; Capire dalla Vostra review che avete trascorso un piacevole soggiorno usufruendo di tutti i nostri servizi ci rendere particolarmente felici ed entusiasti.

Vi aspettiamo nuovamente a Siena, all’hotel Athena e Vi invitiamo a consultare il nostro sito internet e vedere le speciali offerte proposte.

Cordiali Saluti

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel at the recommendation of a friend, and it was beyond my expectations. The desk staff were warm, welcoming, friendly, professional, and so helpful! The hotel is clean and beautiful. The rooms are wonderful - airy, clean, well organized, and spacious. Breakfast is wonderful and it's open late, so you don't have to get up at dark-thirty to partake. The hotel is within walking distance of anything in Siena. Dining room is excellent. Everyone was so friendly and professional. I enjoyed my stay and look forward to coming again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laulydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear laulydel,

Such a wonderful review….I suppose that it corresponds to an a wonderful experience in Siena, we’re so proud to had taken part in the construction of this beautiful vacation.

We’re happy to realize that you enjoyed all our services, from our delicious and long-lived breakfast to our clean, beautiful and spacious rooms.

Don’t forget for your next stay with us to check our website, during the main season many offers and deals are at the disposal of our future guests.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,021 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing