We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth 4.5 stars”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good hotel in Siena, about 10 minutes' walk from Piazza del Campo. Very little to complain about really; if I have to be picky, I'd say the fruit juice at breakfast was not very good but otherwise, good. Location good; lovely view of the Tuscan countryside from the upstairs bar. Reception were very friendly & helpful. The room was big enough & very comfortable. And it was lovely to receive a welcome bottle of Italian wine with biscotti!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeTY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear MikeTY2000,

I’m very pleased to read you!

Thank you for use part of your time sharing your experience with us. Tips and tricks from an expert reviewer like you are is double important.

Unfortunately tripadvisor doesn’t give the possibility to give the half point but let me tell you and tell to the people that we’re always on duty to get 5 on 5, we believe we deserve it.

Thank you twice for your advice about the juice, in fact we did it already, we provided to improve it. To give a better quality day by day is our mission.

Do not hesitate to come back soon, Siena is not far at all from London.

Kindest regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 3,433 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous 6 night stay at the Athena. The staff are very attentive, the rooms are spacious and modern. The view from our room was spectacular. The food in the restaurant is outstanding. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the Terrace side of the hotel for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmushy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile kmushy52,

complimenti per il perfetto italiano!
Che belle parole che avete scritto! Tutto lo staff ogni giorno lavora duramente per garantire sempre un buon servizio; Capire dalla Vostra review che avete trascorso un piacevole soggiorno usufruendo di tutti i nostri servizi ci rendere particolarmente felici ed entusiasti.

Vi aspettiamo nuovamente a Siena, all’hotel Athena e Vi invitiamo a consultare il nostro sito internet e vedere le speciali offerte proposte.

Cordiali Saluti

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel at the recommendation of a friend, and it was beyond my expectations. The desk staff were warm, welcoming, friendly, professional, and so helpful! The hotel is clean and beautiful. The rooms are wonderful - airy, clean, well organized, and spacious. Breakfast is wonderful and it's open late, so you don't have to get up at dark-thirty to partake. The hotel is within walking distance of anything in Siena. Dining room is excellent. Everyone was so friendly and professional. I enjoyed my stay and look forward to coming again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laulydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear laulydel,

Such a wonderful review….I suppose that it corresponds to an a wonderful experience in Siena, we’re so proud to had taken part in the construction of this beautiful vacation.

We’re happy to realize that you enjoyed all our services, from our delicious and long-lived breakfast to our clean, beautiful and spacious rooms.

Don’t forget for your next stay with us to check our website, during the main season many offers and deals are at the disposal of our future guests.

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Apart from the lack of "Wow factor (special character)", the hotel has everything: excellent location inside of the walls of the city at walking distance from the historical center, free parking, very kind and helpful employees, spacious and comfortable rooms. The perfect stop to visit Sienna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSMMOAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear DSMMOAS,

thank you so much for your so helpful review.

We’re a little bit sad to realize that you didn’t feel the “wow factor” in hotel, this is not a lack at all, our “wow factor” is in the small steps, in the local products of our breakfast, in the professionalism of our staff, in the extremely cleanliness of our rooms and common areas and in the stunning view over the Tuscan hills.

Next time we’ll be the pleasure to host you again, I promise you that all our effort shall be focused on makes you feel what I’m talking about.

See you soon

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing stay here in Siena at the Hotel Athena. Serena and her staff are very caring and so attentive. The front desk staff will go above and beyond to help you with anything you need. They are always cheerful. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Deanna,

That's an amazing review!
Thank you so much for being so kind. We really enjoyed your company and we're so happy to understand that you did the same!

We can't wait to host you soon again here at Athena.

See you soon

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you drive to Siena you could have a problem as to where you should park your car and so parking facilities become important, but choosing a hotel just because you can park is a bit risky….surely?
Well take the risk away and stay at the Athena. Driving from the south and entering the city through Porta San Marco you find yourself unable to go straight ahead, which is just as well, because as you follow the road just on the edge of the city wall to your left you will come to some strange traffic lights set in the wall where there appears to be no cross roads or any need for such lights, but lo and behold as you pass the lights immediately on your right is the car park for the Athena Hotel! Pull in and follow the signs to reception.
If you think the car park is good then the staff at reception will lift your spirit even further.So extremely helpful with bags, checking in, car park arrangements and the city map, rapidly marked out with all the prerequisites for a good day out.
Book a room with balcony and you will be able to sit on the 7th floor looking out over the stunning countryside. Don't linger too long because you need to have cocktails on the roof top bar just to the left of your room. An idyllic setting,first class room and excellent service and help from all the staff.

Room Tip: 7th floor balcony, faces south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrowRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear dawnray,

That is awesome!

Thank you for your tips, your review shall be so helpful for all the travelers to which I want to say that if you wish to visit Siena by foot without giving up the car for some excursion in the countryside, that’s the place to stay!

Thank you twice for all the appreciations, especially to the staff which is always on duty trying to make your stay as comfy as possible.

Do not hesitate to stay with us again, maybe with more families or friends. We’ll be here waiting for you.

Warmest regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Even though we usually don't stay at this kind of hotels (a bit outdated for us) I must admit that Hotel Athena proved to be a gem since we had a car - which would have been a nightmare to park and then we would also have to figure out how to get our luggage up or down the medival town ... Thanks for Hotel Athena we just left our car outside (they parked and unparked it for us) they even took our luggage upstairs to our room. The city center was about 10-15 minutes away by foot. The bed was huge and very soft (maybe even too much) - they had of course anything you needed and the breakfast was very good. Beautiful view from the top floor terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_panag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear k_panag,

To read a review like yours is always a great satisfaction, we work so hard every day to take part in the construction of a wonderful holiday for our guests. We’re so happy to see that we did a very good job for you and you repaid us in the best way you could.

In fact our hotel is really 10 minutes walking from the main attractions like Piazza del Campo or the Duomo and everything is walking distance from us. All our guests can use our free parking lot and “forget” the car in there and just walk to get museums, restaurants, bars and all the beautiful sights of Siena in few steps.

We’re waiting for you and your partner here again in Siena and we’ll be so happy to confirm you the same high quality treatment. Do not hesitate to contact us directly whenever you desire to make your next reservation.

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $70 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing