We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring beautiful Siena”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 15, 2013

we stayed for a week and would have loved to stay for longer, lovely position and views to die for, the hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable, the buffet style breakfast was good but for evening meals the resturant couldn't compare to the fabulous food on offer in nearby resturants and inns.
Staff were all polite and helpful

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Mrs P , let me say thanks for your comments , is very important to us that you appreciated our clean rooms with all the comforts and one of the best view in Siena , our central position helps because in within 10 minutes walking you can reach all the main attraction , all my colleagues and me too are so glad to read your nice words .
I like to invite you to visit our website , so next time you come to Siena you’ve got a place to stay
Many thanks Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,306)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Athena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 3,306 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Athena at the very end of the summer last year and whole heartedly agree with the positive comments of the other reviews..

What really made our stay was the wonderful care and attention we received from Andrea, one of the staff. This elegant young man's thoughtfulness and kind actions absolutely made our holiday! And left us with some lovely memories of the hotel and Siena.

I highly recommend staying here.The location is great as it's nestled within the city's walls. The breakfasts are good and it's an easy walk to the centre of Sienna. Arrive in daylight if you can, we found it a little tricky to find Siena in the dark.

And don't forget to say "Ciao" to Andrea, because he is worth his weight in gold and any hotel would be lucky to have him.

Room Tip: It's worth asking for a room with views over the hills not the car park, after all you're in...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poli-orea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Wow , dear Poli Orea thank you very much , I’m so happy to ear that the hotel Athena left you with a golden memory , I’m happy to see that would recommend us to other travellers , because our service is nice , warm and professional and we are at only 10 minutes walking distance to Piazza del Campo .
I hope to have the pleasure to have you again as guest.
All the best Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent a quick couple of days in Siena, and really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Athena. Had a large, comfortable room on the southeast side of the property, looking toward vineyards, mountains and even a castle in the distance, a remarkable view. Breakfast at the hotel was also very good, wide variety, nice room. Desk staff was very helpful with information and suggestions for dining, etc. Also, and most importantly for some, the value was excellent, far better than we found at other hotels. We will absolutely return for a second visit-- and Siena itself, FASCINATING!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Dan ,thank you very much , I feel really glad to hear such things about the hotel Athena , we all fell good to know that you spent such good time in Siena , about us we always try to do our best to satisfy our guests , like an excellent breakfast , nice rooms with beautiful view on the Tuscany landscape ,and all the tips about restaurants in town and tours , you right when you said that was only a couples of days , next time you come you can stay longer and all our staff will take care about your stay . Don’t forget to visit our website for all the offers .
See you soon Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Right near the historic centre of Siena, Hotel Athena is the place to stay. We arrived on a holiday Monday and the staff couldn't have been more helpful finding us restaurants to eat in, our room was extremely comfortable, very big and newly renovated. For a large hotel it had a very warm and personal feel. Free Car Parking with easy access was a bonus. Wi Fi in rooms. Would stay again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrisbaneBenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Absolutely right the hotel Athena is the place to stay , thank you so much dear BrisbaneBenni , the beautiful words you are using make me and all my colleagues very proud , we are very happy to see that you appreciated the hotel in the city center , the restaurant , the staff every time helpful and friendly , the deluxe room with their comfort and amenities, and the free car park .Fell free to visit our web site to see our special offer , you always will be welcome at the hotel Athena.
See you soon and thank you once more Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is extremely well run with friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. The hotel is quite large but provides warm and personalised service from parking to check out. The hotel is very easy to access and this makes life easy for the driver. If you have been driving around Italy's amazing Tuscany region you will know what I mean.
The rooms are spacious and have everything needed for your stay.
To explore Siena it is perfectly positioned just inside the walls and only short walk to the main square.
A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: It's always a good idea to check hat your room is not next to he service elevator or main elevat...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Jane,

thank you for your wonderful words, this is a good review!
We are happy to see that you appreciated the comfort and the conveniently location of the hotel, the room and their amenities and everything needed for your stay and all helpful staff.

For your next reservation be sure to get the best deal booking through our website where you can find some special offers.

Best regards

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

we stayed here for four nights. excellent hotel near the historic center, great access by car and private parking, comfortable room, great service, cleanliness, complete breakfast. recommend how good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miguel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Miguel,

thank you for your time to write your comment regarding Hotel Athena.

We appreciated your wonderful words and while you’ll be planning your return to Siena and to Hotel Athena check our website where you can find some big deals and packages.

Best regards

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I hardly ever rate a hotel with 5 points, but indeed our stay at the hotel Athena was very enjoyable. This is not luxury hotel. It is a building from probablythe 60's or 70's, so no modern, high-tech construction here. But it blends well in the magnificent old city of Siena. Our stay was so pleasant largely because of the staff, who went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Starting from the girl bringing the breakfast to our room (because of a group of students who had "occupied" most of the hotel, the hotel offered the breakfast served in the room) to the receptionist who always helped us bring the stroller of our 7-months-old down the stairs. In the room (which although it was on the 8th floor did not have any view), there were facilities for coffee, tea and chocolate, and slippers (no bathrobe though-a pity), something I always welcome in a hotel. We had asked for a cot for our little baby and it was indeed there with fresh bed linen. Breakfast was great (not spectacular, but filling and healthy); the only problem there was the difficulty for the girl to bring what we ordered, as she was carrying everything by herself, so there were some items forgotten some mornings. However, immediately when I mentioned this at the reception, they brought what we asked for upstairs. Quality of bedding would be my only "complaint" as it felt a bit old and used. But overall the hotel offered us a great experience. Parking for free was great, free internet (albeit slow because of the many students logged on) and the location of the hotel is also ideal. Not really in the center, but a very pleasant 10 minutes walk to the Duomo. Excellent and good value wine at the hotel bar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelfanNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Hotelfan It’s a big pleasure to read your words about your stay with us, and we are so glad to see that our work makes your holiday more comfortable and it fulfilled your expectations, considering that you hardly ever rate an hotel with 5 points , all this make us really proud of what we done for your stay .All the hotel Athena crew is so happy for your beautiful words and wants to send you his personal and heartfelt thanks. Regarding your only complaint , I would like to tell you that at the moment we are close for all the maintenance work that the hotel needs , we are changing the mattresses , and we are planning to put the bathrobes in all the deluxe room .Thank you also for give us the opportunity to let know to the people that at our hotel, they can have an efficient service, high qualified and designed for every needs. Don’t hesitate to book your next vacation through our website, as you did this first time and enjoy Siena again.
Warm regards Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $88 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing